The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Help with this one (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51345-help-one.html)

Jurassic Referee Sun Feb 01, 2009 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 574464)
The question is: How do we, as officials, handle a situation such as this one?

I will admit that I do not know how I would handle this situation.

A good start might be to check out old rule and case books. Then check out the "sticky" for old Rules Interpretations posted at the top of the thread section.

In the 2002-03 Basketball Rules Interpretations, you will find that #20 is the exact same play.

<b><u>SITUATION 20:</u></b>B1 commits goaltending on A1's final free throw attempt.
<b>RULING:</b> Score the free throw by A1 and charge B1 with a technical foul. Team A gets two free throws for the technical foul; play is resumed with a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorers table.

Rules rulz.

BillyMac Sun Feb 01, 2009 02:30pm

Am I Correct ??? I'm Sure That Someone Will Corrrect Me If I'm Wrong ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 574459)
Got a rules citation that says "taunting" is a flagrant technical foul? You may want to check out rule 10-3-7(c) and the PENALTY for it. If you issue a flagrant "T" every time you call "taunting", you're mis-interpreting the rule. To call a technical foul for "taunting" is a judgment call always. To say that the act is severe enough to justify a flagrant technical foul is a whole 'nother matter and is another judgment call.

I believe that beachbum may be confusing the application of the taunting rule with fighting. I believe that if the taunt leads to a fight, that the taunt is treated as part of the fight, and is thus penalized as a flagrant technical foul?

BillyMac Sun Feb 01, 2009 02:34pm

The Word Flagrant (Boldfaced) Above This Rule Confused Me Too ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 574413)
How is the T left "to your judgement?" It is required by rule 10-3-9, no discretion at all.

10-3-9: Goaltend during a free throw.
PENALTY: (Section 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.

Bishopcolle Sun Feb 01, 2009 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 574496)
10-3-9: Goaltend during a free throw.
PENALTY: (Section 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.

Exactly...no discretion needed...by rule, it is a T and we shoot two, and give 'em the ball at D-Line...Thanks, BillyMac

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 01, 2009 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 574481)
A good start might be to check out old rule and case books. Then check out the "sticky" for old Rules Interpretations posted at the top of the thread section.

In the 2002-03 Basketball Rules Interpretations, you will find that #20 is the exact same play.

<b><u>SITUATION 20:</u></b>B1 commits goaltending on A1's final free throw attempt.
<b>RULING:</b> Score the free throw by A1 and charge B1 with a technical foul. Team A gets two free throws for the technical foul; play is resumed with a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorers table.

Rules rulz.


JR:

I think you misunderstood me. I don't have a problem with the TF, that is a given, I am going to call it. Whether I am going to rule it a flagrant TF is my delemma.

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 574495)
I believe that beachbum may be confusing the application of the taunting rule with fighting. I believe that if the taunt leads to a fight, that the taunt is treated as part of the fight, and is thus penalized as a flagrant technical foul?

That's the proper understanding, Billy.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 574459)
Got a rules citation that says "taunting" is a flagrant technical foul?

You may want to check out rule 10-3-7(c) and the PENALTY for it. If you issue a flagrant "T" every time you call "taunting", you're mis-interpreting the rule.

That depends on where you live. :)

By NFHS rules, you're correct. No argument there.

But if I hit you for a T for taunting, you are ejected under NCHSAA rules. Other states may have similiar rules.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 574481)
A good start might be to check out old rule and case books. Then check out the "sticky" for old Rules Interpretations posted at the top of the thread section.

In the 2002-03 Basketball Rules Interpretations, you will find that #20 is the exact same play.

SITUATION 20:B1 commits goaltending on A1's final free throw attempt.
RULING: Score the free throw by A1 and charge B1 with a technical foul. Team A gets two free throws for the technical foul; play is resumed with a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorers table.

Rules rulz.

Yep, and all of that was clarified that season because a rule change was made removing the technical foul penalty for committing BI during a FT. Until that season it was a T to either GT a FT or to commit BI during a FT. Of course, that is not the case today.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1