The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FIBA - citation needed for counting the basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51312-fiba-citation-needed-counting-basket.html)

eg-italy Sat Jan 31, 2009 05:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 574147)
You have the PM feature disabled.

Really? :o Not any more.

Ciao

JugglingReferee Sat Jan 31, 2009 07:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy (Post 574096)
10.4 The ball does not become dead and the goal counts if made when:
• The ball is in flight on a shot for a field goal and:
– An official blows his whistle.
– The game clock signal sounds for the end of the period.
– The twenty-four second device signal sounds.

See also 41.2 (team foul penalty), 14.3 (control of the ball) and finally 16.1.1: A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains within or passes through the basket.

It's impossible to have a player control foul (and team control foul as well) when the ball has been released for a try.

Ciao

I guess I am not accustomed to correlating 4 different rules to conclude something. I will read those 4 rules and see how they all relate.

eg-italy Sat Jan 31, 2009 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 574182)
I guess I am not accustomed to correlating 4 different rules to conclude something. I will read those 4 rules and see how they all relate.

The important ones are the first and last I cited. In 16.1.1 there's the principle that says when a basket counts; article 10 tells us when the ball is dead or live, 10.3 is the part needed for your case. I cited also 41.2 and 14.3 just to show other applications of the principles that can help to sort out dubious situations.

Ciao

SmokeEater Mon Feb 02, 2009 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy (Post 574190)
The important ones are the first and last I cited. In 16.1.1 there's the principle that says when a basket counts; article 10 tells us when the ball is dead or live, 10.3 is the part needed for your case. I cited also 41.2 and 14.3 just to show other applications of the principles that can help to sort out dubious situations.

Ciao

How does 15.2 play into this situation Juggler is talking about.

"Play: A1 releases and then hits B1 with position, then lands. Ball goes in."


The act of shooting:
Ends when the ball has left the player's hand(s) and, in the case of an airborne shooter, both feet have returned to the floor.

eg-italy Mon Feb 02, 2009 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater (Post 574762)
How does 15.2 play into this situation Juggler is talking about.

"Play: A1 releases and then hits B1 with position, then lands. Ball goes in."


The act of shooting:
Ends when the ball has left the player's hand(s) and, in the case of an airborne shooter, both feet have returned to the floor.

The act of shooting has nothing to do with ball control. A player cannot commit a team control foul when the ball is in its flight for a try; but an airborne shooter is still in the act of shooting after having released the ball.

Where's the problem? Being in the act of shooting determines the penalty if that player is fouled.

Ciao

SmokeEater Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eg-italy (Post 574774)
The act of shooting has nothing to do with ball control. A player cannot commit a team control foul when the ball is in its flight for a try; but an airborne shooter is still in the act of shooting after having released the ball.

Where's the problem? Being in the act of shooting determines the penalty it that player is fouled.

Ciao

Ok just making sure I understood the ruling completely, I am for the record in total agreement.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1