![]() |
|
|||
in those rare cases when it does happen yeah I just might ignore it. At least the call doesn't seem too controversial. From everything I've seen about the game WF outplayed Duke and they broke down defensively on that last play which Dicky V called. he got that one right
Last edited by mutantducky; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 03:18am. |
|
|||
Same game; worse play
Worse was the commentary from a certain color announcer annoucing that a charge was the right call when the overhead clearly showed the defender turning forward into the offensive player after getting LGP.
|
|
|||
Quote:
A.R.98 B1 takes a spot on the playing court before A1 jumps to catch a pass. (1) A1 returns to the playing court and lands on B1, or (2) B1 moves to a new spot and while A1 is airborne. A1 returns to the floor on one foot and charges into B1. RULING: in both (1) and (2), the foul shall be on A1 because B1 is entitled to that spot on the floor provided that he/she gets there legally before the offensive player becomes airborne. Note that in AR98 #1, it doesn't specify whether the "spot on the playing court" taken by B1 is laying down or standing up. Note that "jumps to catch a pass" is no different than "jumps to catch a rebound". Note that A.R. 97 refers to an offensive player on the floor moving into a defensive player, not an airborne player landing on a defender. I didn't see the play...but if the WF player was on the floor before the Dook player jumped and the Dook player didn't jump straight up and down, AR98 sureasheck might be applicable. Also, FYI, there was an NCAA Directive issued back in 1990 that is still in force: NCAA Directive 113: If there is any doubt when contact occurs, the foul should automatically be charged to the precious little Dookie player, not the opponent. In addition, a technical foul should automatically also be charged to the whiny little hemmorhoid that coaches Duke. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 07:06am. |
|
|||
Yup, AR 98 might be applicable for an airborne player who didn't jump vertically.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Although, Coach K was very reserved after the loss and I didn't see him whine or complain at all. I think he was more disappointed at the easy score at the end and figured - to lose on a basic, simple play like that (regardless of the "slight push"), they didn't deserve to win.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Since when does LGP apply to rebounders? WF player was the floor and rebounder landed on him and fell. A.R. 97 does not address rebounding action.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Hey! There's nothing wrong with being a Duke fanboy! ![]() Are we going to discuss whether or not the Wake player pushed off to get that open on the final shot? I didn't think so. |
|
|||
I brought up my opinion in post #35. What say you?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
of course not
hey the kid that made the final shot is a kid from Wyoming....not often we get kids in the ACC let alone that get to hit a winning shot against Duke, so being from Wyoming nope, looked clean to me
![]() ![]()
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
Well here's the play in question. It happens at the 3:08 mark of this clip.
You make the call. ![]() http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOi2kelADoY |
|
|||
Quote:
There's nothing even close to a foul on that play. You won't find an official anywhere in the world that'll give you that call, fanboy. If they did, it would be their last game at that level. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Defender intentionally falls onto hands and knees... | PSidbury | Basketball | 47 | Thu Jun 12, 2008 01:57pm |
runner falls down! | cards2323 | Baseball | 7 | Fri May 25, 2007 02:15pm |
Defensive rebounder player control foul? | rfp | Basketball | 1 | Mon Mar 20, 2006 08:27am |
Runner stumbles and falls across 1B | jprideaux | Baseball | 6 | Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:22pm |
Wichita Falls, Texas | a.f.sports | Basketball | 2 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 12:58pm |