Nevadaref |
Thu Jan 29, 2009 01:13am |
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco
(Post 573480)
We know the rule. A player lying on the floor does not have LGP. We also know that if an offensive player is put at an obvious disadvantage by a player not in LGP, it is normally called a foul.
By the book, it should have been a foul.
|
That is not at all clear to me. Consider this situation: A1 dives onto the floor to recover a loose ball. While he has possession of the ball and is still flat on his back looking for an open teammate, A2 runs by him. A1 sees his teammate streaking towards to other end of the court and realizes that he will very likely score if A1 is able to get the ball to him. So A1 throws a pass in A2's direction. However, B2, who is running back on defense, and is clearly the only player who has a chance to catch A2, trips over A1 and falls down. He was only looking at A2 and the ball and never saw A1 lying on the court in his path. Is that a foul on A1 because he doesn't have LGP? I seriously doubt it.
Or try this: The ball is going OOB and A1 dives in an attempt to save it. He is not able to control the ball, but is able to knock the ball into open space in an inbounds area of the court. A1 ends up lying face down on the floor with his body half inbounds and half OOB. B2 was standing nearby and now takes off running after the ball at full speed. He trips over the leg of the prone A1 and falls down. Is that a foul on A1?
Or even simpler: A1 is able to gain control of the ball in the above situation and manages to remain inbounds. However, he is prone on the floor. B2 who was also pursuing the ball, but got there a clear second later than A1 now reaches the scene and trips over A1 and falls down. Is that a PC foul?
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco
(Post 573489)
Nevada already gave us a rule reference stating that a player on the floor does not have LGP.
Do you really need a rule reference stating that if a defender displaces an offensive player while not having LGP a foul should be called?
|
Yes, I think that we need further clarification because it is doubtful that the play ruling which I cited in post #15 is to cover all situations in which a player is lying on the floor. Particularly, I find the situations that I just posted above to be outside the scope of the approved ruling.
|