The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is this travelling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51235-travelling.html)

bas2456 Tue Jan 27, 2009 01:13pm

Is this travelling?
 
I don't have great access to a rulebook, so I'll ask here.

Last night a player was on one knee and picked up the ball while on one knee. He then stood up. I whistled for a walking violation, and there were no complaints.

Was that correct?

HawkeyeCubP Tue Jan 27, 2009 01:15pm

This is a traveling violation.

ma_ref Tue Jan 27, 2009 01:15pm

Walking violation...not sure what that is...

Traveling violation...yes, correct.

grunewar Tue Jan 27, 2009 01:53pm

From the Forum's Misunderstood Rules List.....
 
5) The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or call a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating.

CMHCoachNRef Tue Jan 27, 2009 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 572925)
I don't have great access to a rulebook, so I'll ask here.

Last night a player was on one knee and picked up the ball while on one knee. He then stood up. I whistled for a walking violation, and there were no complaints.

Was that correct?

Case Book situation 4.44.5D. You got it correct.

4.44.5 SITUATION D: A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position.

Indianaref Tue Jan 27, 2009 02:17pm

OHBBREF is going to get mad at you guys for posting rules and case book plays.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1