The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Possession Arrow (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51073-possession-arrow.html)

MatthewPV Tue Jan 20, 2009 07:31pm

Possession Arrow
 
Team A and B have a held ball. Team B has the arrow and takes the ball out on the baseline. Official hands the ball to Team B, starts the count, BEFORE the ball is thrown in, Team B commits a pushing foul. The question is...Does the arrow stay with Team B while Team A takes the ball out due to the foul?

BktBallRef Tue Jan 20, 2009 07:35pm

The arrow doesn't change until the throw-in ends or Team B violates.

Since a foul occurs, the arrow is not changed.

MatthewPV Tue Jan 20, 2009 07:41pm

So in the above situation, does the arrow change in any of the following situations (all before the ball is inbounded):

5 second count on Team B?
Foul by Team B?
Foul by Team A?
Team B steps on the line as they throw it in?
Ball is inbounded, not touched, and goes out of bounds?
Team A has a kick violation?

Thanks.

tjones1 Tue Jan 20, 2009 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 570586)
So in the above situation, does the arrow change in any of the following situations (all before the ball is inbounded):

5 second count on Team B?
Foul by Team B?
Foul by Team A?
Team B steps on the line as they throw it in?
Ball is inbounded, not touched, and goes out of bounds?

Thanks.

Yes.
No.
No.
This is legal - play continues.
Yes.

deecee Tue Jan 20, 2009 07:48pm

on the kick violation -- No

JugglingReferee Tue Jan 20, 2009 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 570585)
The arrow doesn't change until the throw-in ends or Team B violates.

Since a foul occurs, the arrow is not changed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 570586)
So in the above situation, does the arrow change in any of the following situations (all before the ball is inbounded):

5 second count on Team B? - B violation = switch the arrow.

Foul by Team B? - Foul, therefore do not switch the arrow.

Foul by Team A? - Foul, therefore do not switch the arrow.

Team B steps on the line as they throw it in? - Stepping ON the line is fine, when inbounding, because the line is out of bounds, by definition. So if the thrower-in steps ON the line, it's nothing: the administering officials keep the 5-second count running, and B still must throw-in the ball.

Ball is inbounded, not touched, and goes out of bounds? - Throw-in violation. Switch the arrow, and issue the new throw-in from the same location as the AP throw-in.

Team A has a kick violationing. - Throw-in did NOT end, because neither of BktBallRef's conditions were met. Do not switch the arrow and give Team B a throw-in for the kicking violation. Yes B will get the next AP throw-in.

Thanks.

Using the statements that BktBallRef provided, see the answers in red.

MatthewPV Tue Jan 20, 2009 08:40pm

Thanks for the information...one more thing, sat Team B steps OVER the line as they inbound. Based on the information, the throw in didn't end, so keep the arrow the same and give the ball the Team A?

ajs8207 Tue Jan 20, 2009 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 570596)
Thanks for the information...one more thing, sat Team B steps OVER the line as they inbound. Based on the information, the throw in didn't end, so keep the arrow the same and give the ball the Team A?

Although the throw in did not end, team B violated, which would switch the arrow. Correct?

BktBallRef Tue Jan 20, 2009 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 570586)
So in the above situation, does the arrow change in any of the following situations (all before the ball is inbounded):

5 second count on Team B?
Foul by Team B?
Foul by Team A?
Team B steps on the line as they throw it in?
Ball is inbounded, not touched, and goes out of bounds?
Team A has a kick violation?

Thanks.

Which of those are violations by the throwing team?

Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 570596)
Thanks for the information...one more thing, sat Team B steps OVER the line as they inbound. Based on the information, the throw in didn't end, so keep the arrow the same and give the ball the Team A?

Answer your question by telling me why are ypou giving the ball to Team A?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1