The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Division line (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51007-division-line.html)

phansen Fri Jan 16, 2009 04:32pm

Division line
 
A1 has the ball and is established in the frontcourt. He passes across the court to teammate A2 who has 1 foot established in the front court, catches the pass with the other foot still in the air coming from backcourt to front court. No problem, or over and back violation? Rulesbook or Casebook citation please.

Kelvin green Fri Jan 16, 2009 04:42pm

No need for casebook or rules book.

Where was the player that caught the pass? He was in front court because no part of him was in the back court. You are either front court or back court (same as inbounds and OOB)

We are not officiating NFL football that you have to have both feet in play to make a catch.

If you have a foot in back court and one in front court you are in back court.

Once the foot is in FC and lifted from BC you are in FC. If he caught the ball and then place the foot down again in BC it would be a violation.

The only time you maintain the last spot you had is when you jump... no jump here... FC

slow whistle Fri Jan 16, 2009 04:43pm

4-35 might help.

phansen Sat Jan 17, 2009 12:14pm

Thanks slow whistle. That is what I was looking for.

AKOFL Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm

Same applies for returning inbounds. Only one foot needs to be established to gain inbounds status.:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1