The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   LGP issue (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50810-lgp-issue.html)

jevaque Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:49am

LGP issue
 
so if B1 is laying under the basket and A1 goes up for a shot and lands on B1 what do you guys have?????

slow whistle Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566581)
so if B1 is laying under the basket and A1 goes up for a shot and lands on B1 what do you guys have?????

If B1 was lying there before A1 leaves the floor I probably have nothing....

slow whistle Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:06pm

What if B1 was standing directly under the basket (established position before A1 leaves floor) and A1 crashes into B1 - what do you have (assuming you are not in the NBA)? What is the difference if B1 is lying or standing?

grunewar Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 566599)
What if B1 was standing directly under the basket (established position before A1 leaves floor) and A1 crashes into B1 - what do you have (assuming you are not in the NBA)? What is the difference if B1 is lying or standing?

This isn't "directly" under the basket, but a close situation.

10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1’s foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 6; 6-
7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)

Adam Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:15pm

Deja Vu?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566581)
so if B1 is laying under the basket and A1 goes up for a shot and lands on B1 what do you guys have?????

I haven't changed my answer. Most likely a PC foul; possibly a no-call. No way it's a block.

slow whistle Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566616)
I haven't changed my answer. Most likely a PC foul; possibly a no-call. No way it's a block.

I'm probably going no call just b/c the ball going through and the contact are likely going to be close enough to simultaneous that I can say the contact was dead ball - unless the ball decides to roll around on the rim for three seconds...you have to admit that this is an ugly call to have to make if you go PC, IMO it is better to just play on....but in any event I don't see how you can have a block...

slow whistle Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:23pm

What if B1, seeing that A1 is about to land on him rolls over to avoid the contact and then A1 still lands on him?

Adam Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 566625)
What if B1, seeing that A1 is about to land on him rolls over to avoid the contact and then A1 still lands on him?

In my head, I'm seeing a block. ;)

slow whistle Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566629)
In my head, I'm seeing a block. ;)

In my head I'm seeing a headache:D

LDUB Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 566620)
I'm probably going no call just b/c the ball going through and the contact are likely going to be close enough to simultaneous that I can say the contact was dead ball

That doesn't matter. A1 is an airborne shooter.

jevaque Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:42pm

In my defense B1 never obtain LGP, so how could if be a PC foul. I see maybe nothing here but since B1 didnt establish LGP then a block could be called but not a pc foul

OHBBREF Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566629)
In my head, I'm seeing a block. ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by slow whistle (Post 566630)
In my head I'm seeing a headache:D

the question pertty much comes down to
how did the Player from B get on the floor, if that is not a foul and
if it doesn't have any effect on the play at hand - like shot goes in - player a doesn't end up on the floor after landing on player B,
Play on, it doesn't effect anything.

if the player goes down as a result of the contact.
then you either have a block or PC foul,
Deal with it,

my bet is that 92.8357% of us will call the block, (maybe more of a reflex action than anything else), but hey at least we are consistent!

OHBBREF Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566646)
In my defense B1 never obtain LGP, so how could if be a PC foul. I see maybe nothing here but since B1 didnt establish LGP then a block could be called but not a pc foul

LGP does not apply here.

Example

A4 gets an inbound pass fron the backcourt end line and proceeds to weave and out manuver four of the defensive players on the floor as s/he drives to the basket.
player B5 who has been in the lane standing just at the edge of the rim since the ball was inbounded and has not moved a muscle - having their arms straight up in the air is still standing there when A4 makes sufficient contact on B5 to displace Him/Her during a try.
B5 never moves a muscle and the contact is
A: A1 Knee in B5 chest
B: Chest to chest
C: A1 chest to B5 side in the torso.

slow whistle Fri Jan 09, 2009 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 566639)
That doesn't matter. A1 is an airborne shooter.


You are correct, thought about this after I left and was going to edit my post...beat me to it...

Adam Fri Jan 09, 2009 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566646)
In my defense B1 never obtain LGP, so how could if be a PC foul. I see maybe nothing here but since B1 didnt establish LGP then a block could be called but not a pc foul

If B1 is not moving, LGP is not relevant. Picture B1 standing still at the division line with her back to the dribbler. The dribbler comes up and accidentally runs into her hard enough to knock her down. B1 never had LGP because she never faced her opponent, yet you cannot call her for a block because the rule is clear that she is entitled to her spot on the floor.

In high school rules, a prone player is also entitled to that spot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1