The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Intentional foul on made basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50786-intentional-foul-made-basket.html)

oldschool Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:15pm

Intentional foul on made basket
 
How would you administer? Person going to basket is pushed from behind intentionally and basket counts. Intentional foul called. How many freethrows and where is ball administered and who retains possession? Thanks

tjones1 Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:16pm

2 shots and the ball OOB at a spot closest to the foul for the team who was fouled.

BBall_Junkie Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:17pm

easy.

two shots for the offended player and ball out of bounds nearest the spot of the foul.

Mark Padgett Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:17pm

The player who was fouled gets two shots with the lane cleared and then his team gets the ball OOB at the spot nearest where the foul was committed - just like any other intentional foul.

oldschool Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:25pm

The one part in question would be if you got 3 free throws for fouled in the act of shooting plus the intentional.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldschool (Post 566206)
The one part in question would be if you got 3 free throws for fouled in the act of shooting plus the intentional.

That's not in question by anyone with even a remote acquaintance with a rule book.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldschool (Post 566206)
The one part in question would be if you got 3 free throws for fouled in the act of shooting plus the intentional.

What would the logic be to this?

oldschool Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:35pm

No logic whatsoever. Just wanted to reassure a newbie. Hopefully end of discussion.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:36pm

Fair enough.

ma_ref Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldschool (Post 566206)
The one part in question would be if you got 3 free throws for fouled in the act of shooting plus the intentional.

If you missed the 3, you get 3 shots. If you hit the 3, then you still get 2 shots by rule. The 3 pointer item was either a sub-note to the rule, or part of the case book a few years back. I remember this clearly, because I won a sixpack from a friend after a spirited debate amongst colleagues, and then found the answer in the rule book.

Raymond Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldschool (Post 566215)
No logic whatsoever. Just wanted to reassure a newbie. Hopefully end of discussion.


The newbie didn't have his rule book handy? :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1