![]() |
Very Delayed FT Violation
Prior to A—1 attempting his/her free throw, B—1, in a marked lane space, steps into the lane and back. Team A now requests and is granted a timeout. Following the timeout, A—1 misses the free throw.
Official sounds the whistle and awards A-1 a substitute free throw. Is the official correct? Answer is Yes. Please explain??? And when talking to your P, "We still have A-1 shooting and I have a delayed violation for B-1 stepping in early."??? |
Because A calling timeout does not take away the violation by B.
Just as if A had an endline throwin and calls a timeout. They don't lose the ability to run the endline. |
Could be fun, I would think. You could call a violation on a player who was no longer on the floor.
|
violation
Prior to A—1 attempting his/her free throw, B—1, in a marked lane space, steps into the lane and back. Team A now requests and is granted a timeout. Following the timeout, A—1 misses the free throw.
It is said that the answer is Yes. Where can I find this in the rule book please ? |
Quote:
6.7.5 deals with the same play, except it's an inadvertant whistle instead of a TO. The same ruling applies -- a violation "carries over" until the FT ends. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am. |