The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rules Interp. Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50414-rules-interp-question.html)

PIAA REF Thu Dec 18, 2008 01:26pm

Rules Interp. Question
 
We had a crew that had the following situation. They had an overtime game. The jumpers lined up for the jump ball incorrectly. Team A won the jump and scored on the first possession. As soon as they scored (Before B inbounded) one of the refs realized they jumped incorrectly and sounded his whistle. OK I understand the ruling although they messed it up as they awarded B 2 points and A the ball out of bounds, no clue how they forgot the rule. Anyway. My question and discussion with other officials is where to put the ball into play after you turn the teams around so they are going the right direction. The rule book says to resume play with throw-in at POI. The POI was a made bucket by A. I said that I would have took the ball to the other end of the court (a's correct basket) and allowed B to run the endline. Others said they would have kept it in B's frontcourt and just administered a spot throw-in. Which do you think would be correct.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 18, 2008 01:27pm

Go to the other end -- as if A had scored in the "correct" basket.

PIAA REF Thu Dec 18, 2008 02:13pm

i agree
 
That is what I think should happen, however many people in my chapter disagree with me.

tjones1 Thu Dec 18, 2008 02:19pm

I agree with Bob (and you).

Scratch85 Thu Dec 18, 2008 02:43pm

4-36-2(a) ???

IREFU2 Thu Dec 18, 2008 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 559397)
Go to the other end -- as if A had scored in the "correct" basket.

I concur as well.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 18, 2008 04:45pm

Add one more log to the agreement woodpile.

Juulie Downs Thu Dec 18, 2008 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 559445)
4-36-2(a) ???

How is this citation relevant to this discussion?

Scratch85 Thu Dec 18, 2008 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 559498)
How is this citation relevant to this discussion?

Not sure it is, thats why the ???

In the OP, a POI was referenced. I don't think this is a POI as in 4-36 but a "Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction . . " as in 4-5-4.

Juulie Downs Thu Dec 18, 2008 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 559504)
Not sure it is, thats why the ???

In the OP, a POI was referenced. I don't think this is a POI as in 4-36 but a "Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction . . " as in 4-4-5.

You're right, but you mis-typed it. Should be 5-4-5.

Scratch85 Thu Dec 18, 2008 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 559511)
You're right, but you mis-typed it. Should be 5-4-5.

Better yet 4-5-4:rolleyes:

Juulie Downs Thu Dec 18, 2008 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 559516)
Better yet 4-5-4:rolleyes:

Yea, right.

Um, I was just going along with the mis-typing thing??

Trying not to appear to high and mighty??

See? (right............ :D

Nevadaref Fri Dec 19, 2008 01:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 559520)
Yea, right.

Um, I was just going along with the mis-typing thing??

Trying not to appear to high and mighty??

See? (right............ :D

You certainly succeeded. :D

Texref Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:46am

What if Bob misread the OP?? Still agree...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 559397)
Go to the other end -- as if A had scored in the "correct" basket.

The OP said A scored and they counted the points for B, did it not? If that were the case, then it would be A's throw in under the basket they just scored in.

mbyron Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texref (Post 559648)
The OP said A scored and they counted the points for B, did it not? If that were the case, then it would be A's throw in under the basket they just scored in.

The OP also noted that the refs screwed up by doing so. Your question seems to be about how to screw up correctly. :eek:

Texref Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 559650)
The OP also noted that the refs screwed up by doing so. Your question seems to be about how to screw up correctly. :eek:


---From the OP---My question and discussion with other officials is where to put the ball into play after you turn the teams around so they are going the right direction. The rule book says to resume play with throw-in at POI. The POI was a made bucket by A. I said that I would have took the ball to the other end of the court (a's correct basket) and allowed B to run the endline. Others said they would have kept it in B's frontcourt and just administered a spot throw-in. Which do you think would be correct.---

Based on what the officials actually did (which was give B the points) then the throw-in would be for A (running baseline) under the basket they just scored in.

Now, if the OP was asking if they handled the situation in general correctly, the answer would be no. If both teams and officials went the wrong way, score the points as though they happened in the correct basket, in other words, A gets the points they scored, and then administer the throw in (in this case an end line w/ ability to run) to B under A's correct basket.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texref (Post 559652)
---From the OP---My question and discussion with other officials is where to put the ball into play after you turn the teams around so they are going the right direction. The rule book says to resume play with throw-in at POI. The POI was a made bucket by A. I said that I would have took the ball to the other end of the court (a's correct basket) and allowed B to run the endline. Others said they would have kept it in B's frontcourt and just administered a spot throw-in. Which do you think would be correct.---

Based on what the officials actually did (which was give B the points) then the throw-in would be for A (running baseline) under the basket they just scored in.

Now, if the OP was asking if they handled the situation in general correctly, the answer would be no. If both teams and officials went the wrong way, score the points as though they happened in the correct basket, in other words, A gets the points they scored, and then administer the throw in (in this case an end line w/ ability to run) to B under A's correct basket.

The problem is that what the OP wrote and I have put in red is not true.

Texref Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 559665)
The problem is that what the OP wrote and I have put in red is not true.

But that doesn't affect anything in this play. The official recognized the wrong direction after A scored and before B threw the ball in. The crew scored the bucket for B (which is incorrect if both teams and officials went the wrong way). The question asked was is this a spot throw in or a running throw in? Also, which endline. I said (correctly) that if the officials scored the points for B, then it is A's ball for a running baseline throw-in under the basket that A just scored in. What is wrong with that?

Nevadaref Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:46am

Well, Tx, I agree with you. It is a running throw-in either way because someone just scored.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1