![]() |
Delay on end line
Last night in Boy's JV game A1 is trying to throw the ball in along the endline after a made bucket, when B1 steps over the line in defending and the referee gives B1 a delay of game warning. He then hands the ball back to A1 to inbound and makes no visible indication whether it is a spot throw in or whether A1 can run the endline. When A1 starts to run the endline, the referee whistles him for a violation and gives the ball to team B.
First, the delay warning doesn't take away A1's right to run the endline, correct? Second, it is proper mechanics to visibly note a spot throw in or indicate that A1 can run the endline, correct? |
Ouch.
|
Correct and correct.
Sounds like your partner kicked it into the third row. |
You are correct it should not have been a spot throw-in.
7-5-7b A team retains the privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. It is a violation when 9-2-10 The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in plane...The first violation shall result in a team warning for delay (unless a delay warning has been already issued to the team), the second will result in a technical foul (for any delay). |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23am. |