The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2000, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 11
Post

quote:
Originally posted by mick on 02-16-2000 10:01 AM

Art,
Maybe these scenarios:

1.>A1 receives a pass with both feet planted and established a pivot foot (ie. she moves ONE FOOT) then she hops and lands on both feet and shoots a three. In this case she raised and put her pivot foot back on the floor BEFORE RELEASING THE BALL and it IS a travel.

2.>A1 receives a pass with both feet planted,
and without moving either foot, she then hops on both feet and shoots a three. In this case, she did not establish her pivot foot until she landed back on the floor after her hop, and it IS NOT a travel.
mick


On item 2, I would disagree and think that this would be a travel. Yes, she had not established a pivot foot since either could be, but you have to assume that one or the other IS a pivot. When she hopped and left the floor with both feet she cannot return to the floor without passing or shooting the ball. This is the same as lifting the pivot foot to shoot, or making a pass. I would make the travel call in this case.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1