The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Case book? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50356-case-book.html)

fullor30 Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:40pm

Case book?
 
Perused it and can't find ruling. I'm sure it's somewhere

Lead erroneously announces two free throws on a 1 and 1. Both trail and center know it's in the bonus, but don't catch lead saying two. Ball hits rim and B player casually catches miss and proceeds to walk to lead to hand him ball. Center toots travel. After a discussion, they award ball to B at POI.

You should go the arrow, correct?

socalreff Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 558383)
Perused it and can't find ruling. I'm sure it's somewhere

Lead erroneously announces two free throws on a 1 and 1. Both trail and center know it's in the bonus, but don't catch lead saying two. Ball hits rim and B player casually catches miss and proceeds to walk to lead to hand him ball. Center toots travel. After a discussion, they award ball to B at POI.

You should go the arrow, correct?

Correct.

Adam Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:48pm

Agreed.

fullor30 Mon Dec 15, 2008 09:57pm

Happened over the weekend in a game here with a couple of big dogs, they kicked it. Two state final guys and a top official.

"there but the grace of God go I"

Nevadaref Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 558383)
Perused it and can't find ruling. I'm sure it's somewhere

Lead erroneously announces two free throws on a 1 and 1. Both trail and center know it's in the bonus, but don't catch lead saying two. Ball hits rim and B player casually catches miss and proceeds to walk to lead to hand him ball. Center toots travel. After a discussion, they award ball to B at POI.

You should go the arrow, correct?

8.6.1 is the case play.

fullor30 Tue Dec 16, 2008 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 558573)
8.6.1 is the case play.


Thanks Nevada.........

BillyMac Tue Dec 16, 2008 09:54pm

For Coaches, And Fanboys, Without Casebooks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 558573)
8.6.1 is the case play.

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1