The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2008, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Intentional Foul Situation

This is something I saw missed in a game the other night and I wanted to doublecheck!

A2 is on break and has uncontested layup. B3 comes in and undercuts him violently, U1 calls intentional foul. A2 makes the layup in spite of contact.

I believe the correct call is one free throw for the foul, then A has the ball on the baseline for a spot throw in nearsest the foul? Am I correct?

Also,

B3 fouls A1. A1 swears at B3 during dead ball situation. R gives A1 a technical foul and it is A1's fifth personal. Now you have a false double foul situation. But the shooter on the original foul has just been disqualified.

Does the incoming sub shoot A1's free throws?

Then B team gets 2 Tech ft's and ball at division line?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2008, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by joetip30 View Post
This is something I saw missed in a game the other night and I wanted to doublecheck!

A2 is on break and has uncontested layup. B3 comes in and undercuts him violently, U1 calls intentional foul. A2 makes the layup in spite of contact.

I believe the correct call is one free throw for the foul, then A has the ball on the baseline for a spot throw in nearsest the foul? Am I correct?
No, you are incorrect. The goal counts and the penalty for the intentional foul is TWO free throws plus the ball OOB at the nearest spot to the foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joetip30 View Post
Also,

B3 fouls A1. A1 swears at B3 during dead ball situation. R gives A1 a technical foul and it is A1's fifth personal. Now you have a false double foul situation. But the shooter on the original foul has just been disqualified.

Does the incoming sub shoot A1's free throws?

Then B team gets 2 Tech ft's and ball at division line?

Thanks!
Correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2008, 11:06pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,842
If B3 "undercut" A2, I think that the L/U1 could have easily charged B3 with a flagrant personal foul in this play. Same penalty as an intentional foul per the number of free throws awarded, who shoots the free throws, and where Team A receives the ball for the throw-in after the free throws, except that B3 is disqualified for the remainder of the game for committing a flagrant foul.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 07:38am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by joetip30 View Post
This is something I saw missed in a game the other night and I wanted to doublecheck!

A2 is on break and has uncontested layup. B3 comes in and undercuts him violently, U1 calls intentional foul. A2 makes the layup in spite of contact.

I believe the correct call is one free throw for the foul, then A has the ball on the baseline for a spot throw in nearsest the foul? Am I correct?

Also,

B3 fouls A1. A1 swears at B3 during dead ball situation. R gives A1 a technical foul and it is A1's fifth personal. Now you have a false double foul situation. But the shooter on the original foul has just been disqualified.

Does the incoming sub shoot A1's free throws?

Then B team gets 2 Tech ft's and ball at division line?

Thanks!
The penalty for an intentional foul is 2 shots + throw-in nearest the foul, no matter what happened to the try if a legal try had been attempted.

As to the foul, if it is a "violent undercut", why was he allowed to remain in the game?

Also,

Yes.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Thu Dec 11, 2008 at 07:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
If B3 "undercut" A2, I think that the L/U1 could have easily charged B3 with a flagrant personal foul in this play.
I agree. Extremely dangerous play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Good question. I was just observing so I don't know the reasoning.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 12:12am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Here's one for you newbies. A1 is shooting a three pointer. B1 fouls A1 intentionally and the intentional foul is called on the shot. The shot does not go in. How many free throws does A1 get, 2 or 3?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 12:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Here's one for you newbies. A1 is shooting a three pointer. B1 fouls A1 intentionally and the intentional foul is called on the shot. The shot does not go in. How many free throws does A1 get, 2 or 3?
A1 gets three free throws with no players on the lane and play is resumed with a throw-in by Team A at the spot closest to the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 01:04am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by newera21 View Post
A1 gets three free throws with no players on the lane and play is resumed with a throw-in by Team A at the spot closest to the foul.
That is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I agree. Extremely dangerous play.
I concur on this....he would have been tossed!!!!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
No, you are incorrect. The goal counts and the penalty for the intentional foul is TWO free throws plus the ball OOB at the nearest spot to the foul.
FIBA rules... count the basket, ONE F.T. and the ball at the division line.

I agree though that a "violent undercut" should be an flagrent foul (Disqualifying Foul in FIBA terms)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
That is correct.
Would the rule reference be in the penalites for Rule 10, specifically penalty 5, which states:

Fouled in the act of shooting and try or tap is unsuccessful: two free throws on two-point try or tap, three free throws on three-point try or tap. Plus ball for throw-in if intentional or flagrant.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 02:23pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Yes, also 4.19.3 Situation A.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional Foul? dkmz17 Basketball 41 Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:28am
INTENTIONAL FOUL RUBIERA Basketball 8 Thu Jul 21, 2005 02:32pm
Intentional Foul ETSUOfficial Basketball 5 Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:20am
intentional foul? lrpalmer3 Basketball 15 Wed Dec 22, 2004 04:09pm
Intentional foul gipper Basketball 6 Thu Dec 09, 2004 04:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1