The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Under the basket throw in position..... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50237-under-basket-throw-position.html)

derwil Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:28pm

Under the basket throw in position.....
 
During a spot throw in, wheredo you all like to put the ball into play? I used to put it in about a step away from the lane area but now prefer to move about 1/2 way to the three point area to minimize the possibility of contact with the backboard. I sometimes have a little problem getting the players to come out to where I'm standing so I'll wave them over or I'll tell them to stand on a letter on the baseline (from the mascot or school name painted on the baseline).

Does bringing the player further out towards the three point line help the game or should I go back to putting it in play closer to the lane?

Adam Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 556546)
During a spot throw in, wheredo you all like to put the ball into play? I used to put it in about a step away from the lane area but now prefer to move about 1/2 way to the three point area to minimize the possibility of contact with the backboard. I sometimes have a little problem getting the players to come out to where I'm standing so I'll wave them over or I'll tell them to stand on a letter on the baseline (from the mascot or school name painted on the baseline).

Does bringing the player further out towards the three point line help the game or should I go back to putting it in play closer to the lane?

If the ball goes out under the basket, or if there's a foul in the paint, the throwin spot should be right next to the lane. Give them the correct spot that they deserve.

jdmara Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:42pm

The throw-in spot is the closest spot of the violation or foul. Why would you take it out wherever is easiest for you? I'm with Snaqwells

-Josh

jdw3018 Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:54pm

Moving the player out away from the lane puts them at an advantage or disadvantage that is not intended.

Many teams have very precise plays they run depending on where the throw-in spot is. This different spot could give an advantage, or be a disadvantage, to a team that has a specific play to be run from the end line under their own basket.

Getting throw-in spots correct is a pet peeve of mine. Even in the backcourt I want to give the ball at as close a spot as possible to where it should be. Nothing irks me about a partner more (well, maybe other than one who has no interest in giving decent effort) than refusing to put the ball in play where it should be...

Scratch85 Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 556560)
Getting throw-in spots correct is a pet peeve of mine.

And that brings up the question of where they should be. Officials Manual Diagram 3-6 has 4 throw in spots along the baseline between the lane and 3-point arc. 2 throw in spots along the sidelines approximately even with the third block and the top of the key.

IMO these are the throw in spots and an official should choose the one closest to the violation or foul. If it is a division line throw in, you go to the division line. Otherwise you use one of the 24 spots identified (or at least close)

Adam Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 556567)
And that brings up the question of where they should be. Officials Manual Diagram 3-6 has 4 throw in spots along the baseline between the lane and 3-point arc. 2 throw in spots along the sidelines approximately even with the third block and the top of the key.

IMO these are the throw in spots and an official should choose the one closest to the violation or foul. If it is a division line throw in, you go to the division line. Otherwise you use one of the 24 spots identified (or at least close)

Look in the penalty sections throughout rule 9, for a rule reference. The spot is the "out of bounds spot nearest the violation." The diagram you're referencing is just an illustration showing how to determine it.

derwil Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 556557)
Why would you take it out wherever is easiest for you?

Glad you're with Snaqwells Josh. It's not easier for me to take it out there, it's in fact a pain in the arse. However, a state final four official told me some time ago that bringing the players out further decreases the amount of physical post play on the throw in, in his opinion, in addition to the reasons aforementioned. I'm not defending this position, I'm ask what do others think. No need to be condescending, I'm trying to learn from the group.

jdmara Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 556570)
Glad you're with Snaqwells Josh. It's not easier for me to take it out there, it's in fact a pain in the arse. However, a state final four official told me some time ago that bringing the players out further decreases the amount of physical post play on the throw in, in his opinion, in addition to the reasons aforementioned. I'm not defending this position, I'm ask what do others think. No need to be condescending, I'm trying to learn from the group.

I apologize if I seemed abrasive. It wasn't meant to be that way. The rule book says nearest spot so I was just curious why you wouldn't take it at the nearest spot. I used a bad choice of words.

-Josh

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 09, 2008 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 556570)
a state final four official told me some time ago that bringing the players out further decreases the amount of physical post play on the throw in, in his opinion

No disrespect intended, but his opinion is irrelevant in this case. This is not a judgment question. This is a black and white directive in the rulebook. The ball is put in play at the spot that is closest to where it went out of bounds, with the sole exception that we don't put it in play directly behind the backboard.

Put the ball in play where it's supposed to be put in play.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 556567)
And that brings up the question of where they should be. Officials Manual Diagram 3-6 has 4 throw in spots along the baseline between the lane and 3-point arc. 2 throw in spots along the sidelines approximately even with the third block and the top of the key.

IMO these are the throw in spots and an official should choose the one closest to the violation or foul. If it is a division line throw in, you go to the division line. Otherwise you use one of the 24 spots identified (or at least close)

Just because there are 4 arrows (and 2 arrows) doesn't mean those are the only spots.

OHBBREF Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 556570)
However, a state final four official told me some time ago that bringing the players out further decreases the amount of physical post play on the throw in, in his opinion, in addition to the reasons aforementioned.

Actually calling the fouls for physical play in the post encourages players not to be so physical in the post ... location of the ball has little or no bearing on the situation. All you can do is react to what the players do and they react to what you call.


Question: if the ball goes out of bounds between the three point arc and the side line do you bring it back in to the middle between the lane and the three point arc?

you give a definative advantage given to the inbounding team if you do.

this is a big point of emphasis for me this year, directing where I want the ball inbounded after I make the call and inbounding the ball in the correct position, I got banged on hard last year about this at the NCAA level and I make sure I do it right now.

newera21 Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by derwil (Post 556570)
Glad you're with Snaqwells Josh. It's not easier for me to take it out there, it's in fact a pain in the arse. However, a state final four official told me some time ago that bringing the players out further decreases the amount of physical post play on the throw in, in his opinion, in addition to the reasons aforementioned. I'm not defending this position, I'm ask what do others think. No need to be condescending, I'm trying to learn from the group.

I'm not being condescending, but this is an example of the exact thing that the NFHS does not want-- that is officials "enforcing" the rules according to their own opinion. As everyone has mentioned before, the rules are black and white and I don't understand why certain officials have trouble enforcing them that way. And, by the way, you deserve credit for seeking other opinions regarding this matter rather than taking the "final four official's opinion" and stopping there like most others would have.

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556553)
If the ball goes out under the basket, or if there's a foul in the paint, the throwin spot should be right next to the lane. Give them the correct spot that they deserve.

I agree, Snaqs.
The *spots* are infinite.

Ch1town Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556569)
Look in the penalty sections throughout rule 9, for a rule reference. The spot is the "out of bounds spot nearest the violation." The diagram you're referencing is just an illustration showing how to determine it.

That is true for b/c violations as well, correct? I'm seeing the violation occur at the 3 pt line & the ball is being put in play at the division line...

How should we handle it if you make the b/c call, indicate the throw-in spot & become the new lead but your partner makes their own throw-in spot??

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 556652)
How should we handle it if you make the b/c call, indicate the throw-in spot & become the new lead but your partner makes their own throw-in spot??

Depends how far off your partner's spot is. That's a "HTBT", IMO.

Ch1town Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:32am

Say it's inside the 3 pt line & they go back to the division line or at the FT line extended & they go to the division line... how would you handle that?

Scrapper1 Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 556659)
Say it's inside the 3 pt line & they go back to the division line or at the FT line extended & they go to the division line... how would you handle that?

That's a big enough difference that I might have a quick conference and say, "I wanted the throw-in over there."

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 556652)
That is true for b/c violations as well, correct? I'm seeing the violation occur at the 3 pt line & the ball is being put in play at the division line...

How should we handle it if you make the b/c call, indicate the throw-in spot & become the new lead but your partner makes their own throw-in spot??

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 556656)
Depends how far off your partner's spot is. That's a "HTBT", IMO.

Agree, no need for a pissing contest unless the difference is more than a few feet (most BC violations occur within a few feet of the division line).

Scratch85 Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 556615)
Just because there are 4 arrows (and 2 arrows) doesn't mean those are the only spots.

I agree with this. But I also don't believe in picking my spot on the corners. It is too much of a disadvantage for the team that did not violate. If it is on the baseline, I typically pick my spot at about the 3-point arc. If it is on the sideline, I move up 6-8 feet (maybe more)

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 556698)
I agree with this. But I also don't believe in picking my spot on the corners. It is too much of a disadvantage for the team that did not violate. If it is on the baseline, I typically pick my spot at about the 3-point arc. If it is on the sideline, I move up 6-8 feet (maybe more)

My advice? Take it out where it goes out. If that's in a corner, so be it. There's no need to set aside the rules here.

Unless, of course, your assigner wants you to "help" out the offensive team by giving them a more advantageous throwin spot than the rules provide for.

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556700)
My advice? Take it out where it goes out. If that's in a corner, so be it. There's no need to set aside the rules here.

Unless, of course, your assigner wants you to "help" out the offensive team by giving them a more advantageous throwin spot than the rules provide for.

I spotted the baseline corner twice last night. Eventhough the team had lined up for a "Stack" between the lane and the sideline. I told the in-thrower to stand in my spot and they ran the same play, anyway. ;)

Scratch85 Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556700)
My advice? Take it out where it goes out. If that's in a corner, so be it.

I will take your advice. In the manual Diagram 3-8 shows a ball being put in play outside the arc. Thanks for the advice, I will get it right from now on.

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 556705)
I spotted the baseline corner twice last night. Eventhough the team had lined up for a "Stack" between the lane and the sideline. I told the in-thrower to stand in my spot and they ran the same play, anyway. ;)

One of my favorite events: When I set up a spot throwin anywhere on the baseline except right on the lane line. A1 almost always heads for that nearest spot to the basket, and I have to (verbally) pull them out to me.

I found it's best to simply tell them how many steps to move.

"35, take 3 steps towards me." One of these days I may start that with "Simon says."

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 556707)
I will take your advice. In the manual Diagram 3-8 shows a ball being put in play outside the arc. Thanks for the advice, I will get it right from now on.


Scratch85,
In a 2-whistle game, there remains a judgment we may have to make.
Do we administer inside or outside ? There are positives and negatives with either choice

mbyron Tue Dec 09, 2008 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 556712)
Scratch85,
In a 2-whistle game, there remains a judgment we may have to make.
Do we administer inside or outside ? There are positives and negatives with either choice

Oooh, good one, mick. Manual says outside for 2-person. Can't keep 'em boxed in otherwise. But you're sometimes inside?

mick Tue Dec 09, 2008 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 556731)
Oooh, good one, mick. Manual says outside for 2-person. Can't keep 'em boxed in otherwise. But you're sometimes inside?

I am. I figger that's not all that different from the Lead administering the ball on the front court sideline below the free throw line extended, where Lead is also inside the in-thrower.

I have a slight aversion too literally abandoning the endline to 8 or 9 players, by putting the in-thrower between me and them just for me to be watching an empty sideline.

Ya makes yer picks and takes yer chances. :)

zm1283 Tue Dec 09, 2008 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 556710)
One of my favorite events: When I set up a spot throwin anywhere on the baseline except right on the lane line. A1 almost always heads for that nearest spot to the basket, and I have to (verbally) pull them out to me.

I found it's best to simply tell them how many steps to move.

"35, take 3 steps towards me." One of these days I may start that with "Simon says."

Yes, it seems like this happens a couple times every game. Sometimes they look at you like you're crazy. I just stand at the spot and say "Come this way" until I get them to the spot where we're throwing it in.

BillyMac Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:17pm

Can't Teach An Old Dog New Tricks ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 556731)
Manual says outside for 2-person. Can't keep 'em boxed in otherwise. But you're sometimes inside?

The IAABO Mechanics Manual gives you a choice. You don't always have to "box in", as I've been told for over a quarter of a century. IAABO members: see page 49, in the Two-Person Mechanics Manual. Is anybody being taught this? Does anybody use this? The old mechanic was so easy to remember: me/ball/partner, all the time, everywhere on the court, anytime there was a throwin situation.

What are the NFHS guidelines in terms of "boxing in"? Is there an option to official/ball/partner?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1