![]() |
|
|
|||
Another striking the backboard question
![]() At halftime we pull out the casebook and go to 10.3.5 which gives an example of what happens if the ball goes in, and another example of a player pulling on the net and the ball not going in, but nothing that directly described our play. The comment given in the section states that the purpose of the rule is penalize intentional contact while a shot or try is involved. In our play, this was not the case, nor was an attempt to draw attention to the player or a venting of frustration. It also does not meet any of the criteria for basket interference. I feel it was handled correctly and did not warrant a T, but cannot find rules justification to back it up. Your comments please -
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds. |
|
|||
You guys obviously missed the POE this year. This is clearly stated in the POE this year and gives a rules reference on page 69. And it says why this would not be BI with another rules reference.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
You guys are right on! I pulled out the POE and read for myself. Thanks Rut and others - CASE CLOSED!
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds. |
|
|||
Nope!!
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Only good if they revised the wording to say "Intentionally".
Good attempts at Defense should not be punished.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
... The ball bounces on the rim while the backboard is still moving and then falls off. Partner in trail (2 person) blows whistle and awards basket...
No technical foul when contact with backboard is incidental to playing defense which sounds like the case here. It is NOT goaltending or basket interference. You should not have counted the basket-- it should have been a play on. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
College question - RE: Slapping backboard | BearBoy | Basketball | 7 | Thu Dec 04, 2008 05:30pm |
Batted Ball striking runner | reccer | Softball | 12 | Fri Apr 28, 2006 09:26am |
Free Standing Backboard question | RookieDude | Basketball | 7 | Wed Dec 15, 2004 11:03pm |
backboard question | readingofficial | Basketball | 2 | Sun Mar 21, 2004 01:38pm |
Another slapping the backboard question | rainmaker | Basketball | 4 | Mon Dec 18, 2000 05:22pm |