![]() |
Tonight, while watching a bit of the Celtics' game, I heard something more shocking than a whistle to call a travel in the NBA.
That's right, one of the announcers said, and I quote: "You don't have to have your feet set to draw an offensive foul." I'm still a bit stunned by this revelation. All this time, I've apparently been doing things wrong by just looking at the defender's feet!! |
High school - defensive player B1 has obtained a legal guarding position and jumps straight up when he is charged into by A1. Would this not be a charge without the feet being set? Rule 4-19-6 (p. 30 in Simplified and Illustrated)
[Edited by paulis on May 25th, 2002 at 10:31 PM] |
paulis, I believe young Mr. Dexter was engaging in sarcasm.
|
If you wait long enough, anything can happen.
|
wow!!!!!!! I bet everyone listining thought he was an idiot who didn't know what he was talking about too!
|
Conversation (well, maybe a loud conversation)
between me & a coach at a recent AAU game right after I made a PC call against his player: Coach: "Dan! He wasn't set! His feet were still moving!" Me: "Coach, you know he's allowed to move his feet." Coach: "Yeah, sure he can, but not side to side!" Me: :rolleyes: So I guess the word *is* getting out, but the message recieved is not quite the message sent. ;) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm. |