The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Weird situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50183-weird-situation.html)

summdawg76 Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:48pm

Weird situation
 
After Team B causes an out of bounds violation in Team A's front court on the end-line with 2 minutes remaining in the 4th quarter, the coach from Team B calls a 30 second time-out. The officials move to the teams when the 15 second warning horn sounds and communicate, first horn. Team A is ready before the 30 second horn sounds as it is their ball in their front court on the end-line. Team B breaks the huddle just as the second horn sounds and the Lead official waits until Team B is ready before administering the throw-in. The Lead official makes eye contact with the Trail and Center official and them blows the whistle and gives the ball to A1 for the throw-in. Just after the ball was inbounded to A2, the coach from Team B realizes that B5 is sitting beside him and stands up and grabs B5 and tells B5 to get out there. B5 runs from in front of his team bench onto the floor and A2 who was dribbling near the Mid-Court line has the ball stolen by B5.

What is the ruling here?

Adam Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:55pm

Technically? A technical foul on B for not coming in from a timeout all at once.

fiasco Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:57pm

Technical foul to the offending player.

AKOFL Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by summdawg76 (Post 555739)
After Team B causes an out of bounds violation in Team A's front court on the end-line with 2 minutes remaining in the 4th quarter, the coach from Team B calls a 30 second time-out. The officials move to the teams when the 15 second warning horn sounds and communicate, first horn. Team A is ready before the 30 second horn sounds as it is their ball in their front court on the end-line. Team B breaks the huddle just as the second horn sounds and the Lead official waits until Team B is ready before administering the throw-in. The Lead official makes eye contact with the Trail and Center official and them blows the whistle and gives the ball to A1 for the throw-in. Just after the ball was inbounded to A2, the coach from Team B realizes that B5 is sitting beside him and stands up and grabs B5 and tells B5 to get out there. B5 runs from in front of his team bench onto the floor and A2 who was dribbling near the Mid-Court line has the ball stolen by B5.

What is the ruling here?

They make allowance for the late return now, but only if their is no advantage gained, I think. It could be a T for all player not returning at about the same time. Just brain storming. Did the steal come from behind ar was their some d played first.

Adam Fri Dec 05, 2008 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 555742)
Technical foul to the offending player.

Disagree. Team foul (10-1-9)

fiasco Fri Dec 05, 2008 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555741)
Technically? A technical foul on B for not coming in from a timeout all at once.

Never mind. Case book clarifies.

Good call.

Adam Fri Dec 05, 2008 04:01pm

Sorry, I didn't see that B5 stole the ball as he came in. Definitely going with the T for not all returning at once. Still a team T, though. Counts towards team totals but not for player totals.

AKOFL Fri Dec 05, 2008 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 555744)
Disagree. Team foul (10-1-9)

sounds like a T to me. two free throw and the ball. Team t not personal. Got It


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1