![]() |
Foul on jump ball to start game
Before the ball leaves the referees hand......Team B jumper is grabbing team A's wrist as if to hold him down. Umpire blows whistle and calls a foul on B1. This is a dead ball foul, would it have to be a technical?? Intentional??? Thanks
|
Quote:
Sorry, I know that's not the answer you're looking for :D |
If the ball's still dead, I'd call a T.
Not intentional, since neither player has an advantageous position to be neutralized. |
Either a T or nothing. In this case, I'd do as Rich suggests. Tell him to knock it off, hand the ball to the thrower, and then call it a personal foul if he continues.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Anyway, I like doing what Rich suggests, especially if there will be a few seconds before the ball is tossed; that could save the inevitable "patty-cake" that usually goes on. Or you could hold the whistle until after the ball is tossed and immediately call the foul, which sends the message that your crew isn't going to put up with that kind of crap that night. |
Quote:
2. Shut up. |
Quote:
|
Needs to be delt with:
What would you do if it was a throw in and before the ball is at the disposal there is jostling for position or some tugging going on?
I make sure that it is addressed openly so everyone in the gym knows we see it, before we have to call a foul of some sort here with a dead ball. We specifically cover these types of things in pre-game so we are all on the same page, IMO if you step in and stop this action before hand, especially on the jump, it will go along way toward a better evening, than having to give a non-administrative T before we even have the toss. The impression given right away about being in control of things should make for a much better game. |
Quote:
|
perfect place for preventive officiating. A few words at the right time go a long way. The players will apreciate it even if they don't say so. I remember I did when I played
|
Quote:
|
Dead Ball Intentional Technical Before Game
Before the jump ball is administered, a foul is called on A1 who illegally contacts B1 to the extent that it is not merely incidental and could not be ignored. This is an intentional technical foul because it's during dead ball. By rule, does the A team coach lose his coaching box?
|
Quote:
|
I customarily do a search before I post a question. My search came up with that thread which is admittedly old. However it did not include consideration of the actual question I have. So please entertain my actual question and if you have any feedback that can help me I would appreciate it.
|
They'd be players at that point. For a indirect T to a Coach the player would have to be bench personnel.
|
Quote:
|
It's not during intermission for the purposes of penalizing behavior. So the people on the court have to be players, excepting illegal substitutes.
|
Quote:
Clearly, all team members are bench personnel during pregame warm-ups, but we have some indicators that warmups have ended: the clock winds down, a horn sounds, the team members remove warmup garb such as shooting shirts, pants, etc., the teams usually go to their respective benches and huddle, the individuals marked as starters take the court. At this point we have ten players on the court, even though the ball has yet to become live to start the game. PS This must be on some review exam because I’ve had two other people contact me about this same situation this Fall. I’m curious where Freddy saw the question. |
Another thing is we can have violations occur prior to the actual toss as well.
|
Jump For My Love (The Pointer Sisters, 1984) ...
Quote:
a. Move onto the center restraining circle. b. Change position around the center restraining circle. 6.3.2 SITUATION: The referee is ready to toss the ball to start the game. (a) A1 who was on the center restraining circle backs off; (b) B1 moves onto the restraining circle into an unoccupied spot; (c) B2 moves off the circle and goes behind A2 and is within 3 feet of the circle; or (d) B3 moves off the circle about 5 feet and moves around behind A3 and A4 who are occupying spaces on the circle. RULING: Legal in (a) and (d), but a violation in both (b) and (c). Moving off the restraining circle in (a), and around the circle when more than 3 feet away as in (d), is permissible. It is a violation to move onto the circle as in (b), until the ball leaves the official’s hand, or into an occupied space as in (c), until the ball is touched. The violation by B results in a throw-in for Team A. (4-3) How does one know that the tossing official is ready? When he sounds his or her whistle? |
Might As Well Jump (Van Halen, 1983) ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's just a situation I had never confronted before and never investigated. I thought maybe it would be included in the past NFHS interpretations somewhere but it was not. |
Timeout Or Intermission ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44pm. |