The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49959-over-back.html)

Adam Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 551973)
Mark I understand that fact, but with the twist Nevada put on the OP. Didn't A1s recovery become a last to touch in the fc while simultaneously gaining control in the bc situation?

I always thought if B (in the fc) tipped the ball towards the bc, A had to let the ball gain bc status (by actually striking the wood) then regain possession :confused:

Not trying to be confrontational, just want to get it right. And not right by personal philosophies, but how the Feds want it called.
Any casebook plays on this particular situation would be greatly appreciated?

The interp (I believe) rather than a case play says it's a violation. The argument, however, is that it impossible to simultaneously be the last to touch "before" it goes into the back court and the first to touch it in the back court. "Before" is key here.

CoachP Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:54am

My head hurts.

Fast break A1 dribbling with ball in the FC passes to A2 who is also already in the FC.

B1 trys to steal the ball, but only manages to bat the ball towards her own basket.

A3 is still coming up the floor, but is still in the BC. She catches the ball that was still in flight from the bat.

Interp #10 says this is a BC violation??
  • There must be team control.
  • The ball must have front court status.
  • The ball must have been last touched by the team in control before going to backcourt.
  • The ball must be first touched by the team in control after having gone to backcourt.

So it's (the interp) trying to say that the exact moment A3 catches the ball in the BC, she is doing the last 2 bullet thingys at once? (Last to touch the ball in the FC...since the ball never has yet been in the BC, AND she is now the first to touch in the BC)

M&M Guy Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 552214)
My head hurts.

Hey, I already said that in a post yesterday! (Did I do it right, Nevada? ;) )

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 552214)
  • There must be team control.
  • The ball must have front court status.
  • The ball must have been last touched by the team in control before going to backcourt.
  • The ball must be first touched by the team in control after having gone to backcourt.

So it's (the interp) trying to say that the exact moment A3 catches the ball in the BC, she is doing the last 2 bullet thingys at once? (Last to touch the ball in the FC...since the ball never has yet been in the BC, AND she is now the first to touch in the BC)

Yep, you've got it. That's why most of us do not like that interp. Also, to add a slight change to your play, if the ball bounced once in the BC before A3 caught it, it would not be a violation.

CoachP Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:26pm

Well, I guess we could say then, it was a "controlled bat" meaning B1 had possession ending team A's control?

;):D

M&M Guy Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 552225)
Well, I guess we could say then, it was a "controlled bat" meaning B1 had possession ending team A's control?

;):D

Who is this "we" you talkin' about? :D

CoachP Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 552230)
Who is this "we" you talkin' about? :D

Those 10 kinds of people..... the ones that understand the backcourt violation and those that don't.

Camron Rust Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 552214)
My head hurts.

Fast break A1 dribbling with ball in the FC passes to A2 who is also already in the FC.

B1 trys to steal the ball, but only manages to bat the ball towards her own basket.

A3 is still coming up the floor, but is still in the BC. She catches the ball that was still in flight from the bat.

Interp #10 says this is a BC violation??
  • There must be team control.
  • The ball must have front court status.
  • The ball must have been last touched by the team in control before going to backcourt.
  • The ball must be first touched by the team in control after having gone to backcourt.
So it's (the interp) trying to say that the exact moment A3 catches the ball in the BC, she is doing the last 2 bullet thingys at once? (Last to touch the ball in the FC...since the ball never has yet been in the BC, AND she is now the first to touch in the BC)

Almost. Your statement modified....
So it's (the interp) trying to say that the exact moment A3 catches the ball in the BC, she is doing the last 2 bullet thingys at once? (Last to touch the ball before it returned to the BC...since the ball never has yet been in the BC, AND she is now the first to touch after it returned to the BC)
It does't matter WHERE the player touches the ball, just the timing relative to when it gains BC status. The ball doesn't even need to stay in the backcourt for the rule to apply (it could, without it being touched by a player, bounce off an official or have a funny spin and return to the FC). The rule requires touches in a specific order with reference to when the ball gains BC status. The interpretation doesn't fit that order.

Adam Fri Nov 21, 2008 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 552235)
Those 10 kinds of people..... the ones that understand the backcourt violation and those that don't.

There you go again, Coach. Making jokes on a serious issue. I'm shocked, shocked I tell ya!

Nevadaref Sat Nov 22, 2008 04:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 551940)
I'm thinking you're just kidding... but by rule it's still a violation, correct?

Nope. By rule the play is legal. By recent NFHS interpretation the play is a backcourt violation, and I have just decreed that interpretation to be null and void. ;)

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...al-decree.html

Spence Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:55am

Speaking of over and back - Rookie official working my 2nd scrimmage. A has the ball in the front court and is being pressured by B. B slaps the ball off of the leg of A and the ball rolls into the backcourt. B for some reason doesn't go after the ball letting A have it easily. I know that if A touches it I've got a whistle. While I'm thinking this I'm also thinking that as soon as I blow the whistle I'll have the fans and the coach riding me for the call. Sure enough A touches the ball, I blow the whistle, and I got the expected reaction. "It was TIPPED!!" "How can you miss that when its right in front of you?"

My wife didn't understand why I didn't turn around and explain the rule to the fans to prove that I was right. Obviously she will not be a ref.

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 552764)
Speaking of over and back - Rookie official working my 2nd scrimmage. A has the ball in the front court and is being pressured by B. B slaps the ball off of the leg of A and the ball rolls into the backcourt. B for some reason doesn't go after the ball letting A have it easily. I know that if A touches it I've got a whistle. While I'm thinking this I'm also thinking that as soon as I blow the whistle I'll have the fans and the coach riding me for the call. Sure enough A touches the ball, I blow the whistle, and I got the expected reaction. "It was TIPPED!!" "How can you miss that when its right in front of you?"

My wife didn't understand why I didn't turn around and explain the rule to the fans to prove that I was right. Obviously she will not be a ref.

Good call.

Assuming coach A asks.... "tipped twice. First by them, then by you."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1