![]() |
8-1-4 Free Throw Lane Spaces
The rule and case book seem to contradict itself. It specifically says that "No teammate of the free thrower shall occupy" the first marked lane spaces but it doesn't specifically state this for the 2nd and 3rd marked spaces. The case book specifically states "four defensive players are permitted in any of the first three vacant marked lane spaces." Obviously the Case Book clearly states what is legal and what is not legal but is this what they were intending? Why would it not be written directly in the Rule Book what is legal? :confused:
2008-09 Rule Book: Shouldn't the Rule book say: d. The second marked lane spaces on each side may be occupied by teammates of the free thrower or if they choose not to occupy these lane spaces then the opponents of the free thrower may occupy these lane spaces. |
There is no contradiction.
What you are inquiring about is clearly stated in part f. |
Quote:
For instance, if B is shooting and chooses not to occupy any spot on the lane, you could have 4 As on the lane line. You must have two As in the first spot. The other two As can occupy any available space. They could both be in the second spots, both in the third spots, one could be in the second spot while the other is in the third spot, both on the left side, both on the right side... -Josh |
Josh quoted: I don't think it contradicts itself at all, personally. The first lane spaces can only be occupied by the opponent of the FTer. Never, under any circumstance may a teammate of the FTer occupy the first lane space. The other four lane spaces can be occupied by either team (but the specified team has preference) as long as 8-1-4a is not violated.
Disagree with the red underlined part....8-1-4.e says the Thrower's teammates may NOT occupy the spots closest to the thrower (spot 3), even if left empty..... Bishopcolle |
Quote:
You are correct for an NCAA Womens' game. You might be working from last year's NFHS rules book. There was a change in the FT alignment this season. It now matches the NCAA Mens. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Forgive my ignorance, in Georgia I've been under the impression that players may not take the lane space of another team even if that team chooses not to use it. I'm now wondering if this is a Georgia deviation OR if I was taught wrong back in the day (and I have been perpetuating the myth.) :confused: If anyone from Georgia knows the answer please let me know. (Georgia does deviate from NFHS and uses Womens NCAA Mechanics for some things.) |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The NCAA Womens' game has locked all of the spaces as designated for one team only, and even if that team elects not to occupy such a space the opponent may NOT fill it. That rule is simply different from NFHS and NCAA Mens'. |
Whew! Thanks for the clarifications!!!!!!! I DO appreciate your insight....
PSssst,,,you too, Snaqwells!!!! |
This is the slide verbatum from the GA officials clinic this was a NFHS slide.
Free Throws 8-1-4b - e 1. During the administration of free throws that require teams along the lane lines, all players will be moved up one space from the end line with the two spaces below the “block” being vacant. 2. The two lane spaces above the “blocks” must be occupied by the opponent of the free-thrower. 3. The next two lane spaces are *designated for teammates of the free- thrower. 4. The two lane spaces nearest the free-thrower are *designated for the opponent. 5. The *designated lane spaces may, or may not, be occupied, but can only be occupied by members of the *designated team. 6. Do NOT allow an opponent of the free-thrower to cross the free throw line and make contact with the free-thrower prior to the ball contacting the rim. Ga was one of the states that experimented with this rule for the Fed last year. |
Quote:
Thanks for the clarifications.... |
Quote:
The bottom spaces must be occupied by the opponents. A maximum of two offensive players may occupy the lane spaces. |
Quote:
Bishopcolle |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Yes, if they wanted to they could. I'm not sure why they would. But they are permitted to under 8-1-4f under NFHS.
|
Maybe The "B" Does Stand For Blind ???
NFHS rules now refer to the bottom space, occupied by defenders, as the first lane space, and the rules now refer to the area below that first marked lane space as the vacant area. Yet, the IAABO manual, refers to the bottom space, occupied by defenders, as the second lane space, with the same wording on the IAABO Refresher Exam. Good grief.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm. |