![]() |
NCAA ruling (shot clock expires)
Test question from the NCAA test:
While A-1’s try is in flight, A-2 and B-2 commit a double personal foul, followed by the shot clock expiring. The ball fails to hit the ring or flange. The possession arrow favors team A. The official: A. used the alternating possession procedure to resume play B. ruled this is not a shot clock violation C. ruled shot clock violation and awarded the ball to team B I would have said A because there is no team control during a shot attempt. However, the correct answer is listed as C. Can someone give me the rational for that? Thanks! Mendy |
It is easier to deal with??? :o
|
The idea of POI is to go back to what would have happened without the double foul (or IW). In this case, the shot clock violation is what would have happened.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now near the expiration of time at the end of a half the monitor can be consulted, if there is one, and the time at the point of the contact for the double foul would be restored. That may well eliminate a shot clock violation. I'm not thrilled with the rules generating two different answers for the same play depending upon the point in the contest when it occurs. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20pm. |