The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49866-correctable-error.html)

jcref Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:02am

Correctable Error
 
I need some help with understanding the answer to a Refresher Exam answer.

A-1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that it is the 10th foul on team B. the first free throw is unsuccessful. The second free throw is successful. When B-1 has the ball for the throw in, the scorer informs the official that team B has only commited 9 team fouls. The Official cancels the last free throw and resumes play with the AP procedure. Is the official correct?
The Answer key says ( NO ).

This same play is used in the 2008-2009 case book page 11. 2.10.1 situation D. If I use this situation on the above play, I would say the official is correct, therefore my answer would be (yes).
What am I not understanding about this play, any help would be great.

Raymond Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:10am

Nevada will be responding to this shortly, I'm sure.

bob jenkins Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcref (Post 550588)
This same play is used in the 2008-2009 case book page 11. 2.10.1 situation D. If I use this situation on the above play, I would say the official is correct, therefore my answer would be (yes).
What am I not understanding about this play, any help would be great.

There's been some concern that the new case play is incorrect, as discussed previously on this site.

Since play is resumed at the point where it was interrpted to cerrect the error, and since B had disposal at that point, B should remain with the ball (for the throw-in)

jcref Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:42am

The NCAA case book uses the same ruling as in situation 2.10.1D NFHS case book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1