The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Q14 - unclear situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49816-q14-unclear-situation.html)

rfp Wed Nov 12, 2008 08:53am

Q14 - unclear situation
 
After A-1 releases the ball on a throw-in and before either team gains control, the official calls a double personal foul on A-2 and B-2. The official resumes play using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?

I think this depends on exactly what happens during the throw-in, doesn't it? We know there's no team control on a throw-in. But wouldn't the POIs be different if 1) there was a scrum for the inbound pass - clearly go to the A/P or 2) the inbound pass was uncontested between A-1 and A-3 that just happened to be enroute to A-3 when the double foul occurred? In this latter case, the POI would be team A inbounding the ball.

There's no place to select "it depends" on the test.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 12, 2008 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 549966)
I think this depends on exactly what happens during the throw-in, doesn't it?


Yes. There's a longer version of this discussion somewhere on this site recently.

Adam Wed Nov 12, 2008 09:37am

What matters is whether the throwin had ended. Whether there's a "scrum" isn't necessarily the case, if no one touched the ball.

The throwin ends when the ball is legally touched in bounds. The question only says A1 released it, so don't read more into it. The answer is false, because the question doesn't say it was touched inbounds prior to the double foul.

Go to a new throwin for A at the spot (or endline) of the last throwin.

chartrusepengui Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:33am

Is false your answer - or NFHS answer?
I think the answer is True - but books are in car and it's raining hard right now.

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 549990)
Is false your answer - or NFHS answer?
I think the answer is True - but books are in car and it's raining hard right now.

Why true?

jritchie Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:48am

false, 4.36.2.b long discussion on this already!!!

Spence Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:45pm

To summarize:

If the ball has not been touched/the throw in has not ended, its POI.
If the ball has been touched but no control established, its AP.

Correct?

jdw3018 Wed Nov 12, 2008 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 550069)
To summarize:

If the ball has not been touched/the throw in has not ended, its POI.
If the ball has been touched but no control established, its AP.

Correct?

Argh. Sorry for the frustration, but this is a fundamental piece that's being missed over and over:

Play after a double foul is always resumed by employing POI. It's just that in this case, where the point of interruption is is determined by whether the throw-in has ended or not.

If the ball hasn't been touched, then the POI is the throw-in. Therefore, play was interrupted during a throw-in, and the team entitled to that throw-in is given another throw-in to resume play.

If teh ball has been touched, then the POI is a live ball in play with no team control. Therefore, play was interrupted during a live ball with no team control, and an A/P throw-in is awarded to the team that has the arrow.

Again, fundamentally, POI is always used in this scenario. What an official must do in this case is determine what the point of interruption is...

just another ref Wed Nov 12, 2008 03:17pm

Another example of a poorly worded question. Since they don't say the ball was touched inbounds we must assume that it wasn't.............or since they state that neither team has gained control, does that infer that it was touched?
Not enough information to answer.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 12, 2008 03:31pm

Whos "Q14" is this?

And, one can often learn more from a "poorly worded" question than from a properly written question.

tjones1 Wed Nov 12, 2008 03:32pm

While I agree there isn't enough information to answer the question, I believe what they are trying to get at is the throw-in hasn't ended. Therefore, false.

just another ref Wed Nov 12, 2008 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 550106)
Whos "Q14" is this?

And, one can often learn more from a "poorly worded" question than from a properly written question.

I agree with this......BUT when it is a test question and one must try to guess what the writer was thinking, it is frustrating.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 12, 2008 07:47pm

Possible explanation
 
The question could be from an old test that was written prior to the introduction of the POI rule to the NFHS game. Remember this is the time of year when many groups pass out old exams for study purposes.

Back then using the AP arrow was correct.

Kelvin green Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie (Post 549999)
false, 4.36.2.b long discussion on this already!!!

FYI...

when quoting the rules you use dashes 4-36-2b... when you use dots it is for casebook plays...

POI is correct here since the rule specifically tells you to redo the throw-in...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1