The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   question 44 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49813-question-44-a.html)

just another ref Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:51am

question 44
 
A-1 rebounds the ball off of team B's backboard and passes the ball toward A-2, who moves away from the ball and does not touch it. A-1 pick-up the ball before it is touched by anyone and dribbles. Official rules this is a legal play. The ruling is correct. T or F

zm1283 Wed Nov 12, 2008 02:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 549930)
A-1 rebounds the ball off of team B's backboard and passes the ball toward A-2, who moves away from the ball and does not touch it. A-1 pick-up the ball before it is touched by anyone and dribbles. Official rules this is a legal play. The ruling is correct. T or F

True, that is legal.

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 12, 2008 02:37am

In this case he has merely begun a dribble. It's certainly an unusual way to begin one, but that's what it is.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 12, 2008 05:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 549930)
A-1 rebounds the ball off of team B's backboard and passes the ball toward A-2, who moves away from the ball and does not touch it. A-1 pick-up the ball before it is touched by anyone and dribbles. Official rules this is a legal play. The ruling is correct. T or F

Double-dribble violation.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 12, 2008 05:45am

Why?
 
2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)

CoachP Wed Nov 12, 2008 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 549930)
A-1 rebounds the ball off of team B's backboard and passes the ball toward A-2, who moves away from the ball and does not touch it. A-1 pick-up the ball before it is touched by anyone and dribbles. Official rules this is a legal play. The ruling is correct. T or F


False
What Nevada said.....above blue is the key. That ends the "dribble"

chartrusepengui Wed Nov 12, 2008 08:56am

from Nevadaref - different thread



Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 549720)
It appears that someone with the NFHS got tired of being told that this play wasn't traveling. :eek:

*4.44.3 SITUATION D:
(a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)

Notice the difference from the 2007-08 Case Book version.

4.15.4 SITUATION E: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but an illegal dribble violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is an illegal dribble. (9-5)

I don't care for this alteration because it contradicts the principle* that a player cannot travel when he/she isn't holding the ball as the rule says--"while holding the ball..." :(

*with the one exception being the case book play concerning circumventing the rule about getting up from the floor with the ball, 4.44.5 Situation B





zm1283 Wed Nov 12, 2008 09:07am

So he could continue to dribble the ball after he throws the pass, but NOT pick it up then start dribbling again?

bob jenkins Wed Nov 12, 2008 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 549972)
So he could continue to dribble the ball after he throws the pass, but NOT pick it up then start dribbling again?

Correct -- assuming the "pass attempt" hit the floor first, and that A1 released the pass while his / her pivot foot was still on the floor.

IF the pivot foot was off the floor, then it became an illegal dribble.

If the pass was still in the air when A1 retrieved it (not likely), then it's a travelling violation on A1 (assuming A1 moved his pivot foot to re-catch the ball)

OHBBREF Wed Nov 12, 2008 09:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 549972)
So he could continue to dribble the ball after he throws the pass, but NOT pick it up then start dribbling again?

that would be correct -
the pass (throwing the ball toward the floor) begins the dribble - so as long as s/he continues that process of dribbling everything is fine. If s/he picks up the ball the the dribble is over and all rights associated with it end also.

just another ref Wed Nov 12, 2008 06:47pm

All I can think of on this one is that they when they said "A pick-up the ball......and dribbles," (yes, pick-up is exactly what was written) this was supposed to mean A-resumed his dribble, "picks up" where he left off, if you will. Not sure which is worse, to word it this badly, or to not know this rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1