![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Okay. I am going to take a different position on this play.
Yes, smack the T for not having a free throw violation by the FT shooter, A1, on the second FT. Now, for the play near the division line. First, this looked like an intramural game at the 8th or 9th grade level, meaning that the skill level is not that great. Second, I agree that A1's attitude about the second FT did not look good. BUT, I watched the play five times in real time and another five times in slow motion. AND here is what I saw: A1 started to move to get in front of the dribbler B1; he did not obtain a legal guarding position with respect to B1. A1 did not turn and duck until B1 went airborne. Furthermore, I did not see any contact between A1 and B1. MEANING, I have nothing on this play. If there was contact it is a common foul for blocking foul by A1 on B1. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Wed Nov 05, 2008 at 08:59pm. Reason: Correct grammar. |
|
|||
|
Interesting. Isn't it nice to have the luxury of the video and to watch it over and over in our homes? Of course, when it happens live I wonder if anyone else notices the "little to no contact" that actually occurred. Regardless, it's gonna get a whistle! Wonder what the call actually was?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
![]() Okay, maybe it's because I'm still learning the rules and haven't officiated a basketball game yet but I need help "seeing" what you all were talking about when you said a violation on the shooter for the 2nd FT attempt. I read 9-1 multiple times as well as rule 8. I'm quite sure I'm just missing it but would like to know what "it" is so I can learn and improve quicker.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, if the act being penalized is a deemed a "fight", it is a T. Fighting is always a T without regard to the status of the ball. (4-18, 10-3-9). The infraction is not for the contact itself but the attempt to contact, whether successful or not (4-18-1). Just because the infraction results in contact doesn't change it from a T to a personal, the infraction is already commited when the swing is made. The result is irrelevant.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Dribbler/passer was airborne before defender "went low" Defender knew he couldn't get LGP, so it looks like he tried to avoid contact by awkwardly falling. There was no contact. Nothing. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'd look at that again. Why would A1 go airborne to begin with? This is no awkward attempt of avoidance. Notice the concern for player he undercut, and I detect a slight smirk on his face. If I 'have nothing' on that play in a Varsity game in my state, they'd revoke my license. If you didn't think he touched him, I'd use 4-19-14 an unsporting foul is a noncontact technical foul which consists of unfair, unethical, dishonorable, conduct or any behavior not in accordance with the spirit of fair play Last edited by fullor30; Thu Nov 06, 2008 at 10:54am. |
|
|||
|
So, did you talk to your son after the game about goofing around during his free throws?
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
I see no "intent" for a "chop block". but....Seeing your point, in real time, live in the gym, I would have no problem a blocking call went on the defender. I just got nuthin in 16 slow motion reviews..... ![]() As a side note: When my players complain on any officials call: "Coach, I didn't ________________ (fill in the blanks)" I 'usually' respond with, But it LOOKED like you _________________" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"If anything, it looks like defender starts to take a charge," Please tell me your joking, this clown has no idea what he's doing. Charge to him is something Mommy does at Nordstrom's. |
|
|||
|
my call
call
a. free throw violation for leaving semi circle. b. if I kicked the violation and then the play happened - I have a flagrant personal. If I don't call this - then I have to worry about the fight that will be happening... And then I go home and worry about writing my report to the state because once my assignor finds out I kicked the violation and then this happened I would get a tongue lashing. As much as we look at this situation - nothing is as it seems- we have no idea how the game ended. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|