The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
64. After Goaltending, throw in?

After B1 goaltends, A1 gets a throw in on baseline, They would be allowed to run the baseline or would it be a spot throw in?

We counted the basket, so they should get to run the baseline, correct?
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 125
B1 Goaltends at A's basket. Count the basket. Team B's throw-in from anywhere behind the endline.

B1 goaltends at B's Basket (why..maybe he thought it was a pass). No points scored. Team A's thrown in closest to the violation. Spot throw in.

Last edited by iref4him; Fri Oct 31, 2008 at 01:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
So you are going to call goaltending on B1 at B's basket, when he grabs a shot that everyone may know is going in and jams it through?
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
So you are going to call goaltending on B1 at B's basket, when he grabs a shot that everyone may know is going in and jams it through?
Yes.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 125
I was being trying to be sarcastic...WHy would someone goaltend there own teammates shot. But, I have seen officials call it goaltending and then others a pass. This is a good pre-game item.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by iref4him View Post
I was being trying to be sarcastic...WHy would someone goaltend there own teammates shot. But, I have seen officials call it goaltending and then others a pass. This is a good pre-game item.

That's because goaltending can only be on a try. If you judge the "throw" from A1 to be a try, then the possibility of goaltending exists. If you judge the throw from A1 to be a pass, then there cannot be goaltending (but there still could be BI).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 125
I don't disagree with you..I have just seen called both ways. Like you said, it depends on whether you judge it to be a pass or a try.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:50pm
rfp rfp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
Offensive goaltending?

Goaltending on an offensive player? Not only have I never ever seen that called, I'm having a hard time imagining the situation where I would call it. I think you're going to have an impossible job of making the case that you could read a player's mind to conclude this was a shot and not a pass.

Has anyone ever seen this called?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Yes, I have.

Wait, that ball was in the cylinder so it was BI.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:00pm
rfp rfp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
Sure, offensive BI is not terribly uncommon. It's offensive goaltending I'm having a hard time envisioning...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
We counted the basket, so they should get to run the baseline, correct?
Technically, we DON'T count the basket, do we? Isn't the ball dead when the violation is committed, and then we "award" points for the basket? And then the rule book says the in-bounding player can run the end line after a "made or awarded basket". Isn't that right?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker View Post
Technically, we DON'T count the basket, do we? Isn't the ball dead when the violation is committed, and then we "award" points for the basket? And then the rule book says the in-bounding player can run the end line after a "made or awarded basket". Isn't that right?
We have a winner!

NFHS 7-5-7: A throw-in anywhere along the end line after a goal or an awarded goal for basket interference or goaltending by a defensive player, as in 9-12 Penalty 1, the team not credited with the score shall make a throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 01, 2008, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker View Post
Technically, we DON'T count the basket, do we? Isn't the ball dead when the violation is committed, and then we "award" points for the basket? And then the rule book says the in-bounding player can run the end line after a "made or awarded basket". Isn't that right?
ALERT! ALERT!

JUULIE'S BACK!!!!!!!!!



Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 01, 2008, 01:56am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfp View Post
Sure, offensive BI is not terribly uncommon. It's offensive goaltending I'm having a hard time envisioning...
Wasn't offensive goaltending originally one of the "Wilt Chamberlain Rules?" If I recall the story, when Chamberlain was in Kansas, his teammates felt free to throw up shots knowing that Wilt was around to guide then into the basket when needed. The rule was passed which made it illegal to touch the ball on its downward flight. Also, this was when the lane was widened, if I am not mistaken. If I am mistaken, JR will likely be resurrected and point out my mistake(s).
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 01, 2008, 03:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If I am mistaken, JR will likely be resurrected and point out my mistake(s).
I don't expect that to happen anytime soon!
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending or not? ofishe8r Basketball 14 Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:15pm
Goaltending durnig throw-in? howie719 Basketball 3 Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:20pm
goaltending or not? xxssmen Basketball 6 Fri Apr 16, 2004 09:03am
BI/Goaltending Junker Basketball 21 Wed Apr 07, 2004 06:51pm
Goaltending and Basket Interference on a Throw in RdBallRef Basketball 8 Fri Oct 12, 2001 01:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1