![]() |
2.10.3
This is my first post... but I have been a lurker for a while.
While studying for my test (which I just submitted and luckily passed), I came across 2.10.3: Art. 3... If in Article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live ball. When and why would the clock be running during a dead ball? Thanks in advance! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The status of the ball (live / dead) and the staus of the clock (running / stopped) have nothing to do with each other. You can have: - live ball / running clock ("normal play") - live ball / stopped clock (throw-in or FT) - dead ball / running clock (after a basket) - dead ball / stopped clock ("normal" stoppages) |
rsl - AND, welcome to the Forum. Glad you jumped in......tread lightly. ;) Also, congrats on passing your test - good luck on your season!
|
Quote:
|
So when the offense takes it in at the top of the key, does the clock start on the check or on the pass?
|
Has anyone ever heard of a Welcome Wagon ???
Welcome to the jungle, I mean, Forum.
|
Quote:
You're not too good at all this rules stuff, are ya? ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
My list was intended to be examples, not all-inclusive |
Quote:
|
Live Ball/Clock Stopped already made sense, but now
I get Dead Ball/Clock Running as well. And I have that warm fuzzy welcome wagon feeling. Thanks to all! |
Quote:
2.10.1 SITUATION J: A1 attempts a goal from behind the three-point line: (a) but the covering official fails to give the successful signal after the ball goes through the basket, and the scorer records only two points; or (b) and the covering official gives the successful signal, but the scorer records only two points. Team B inbounds the ball and proceeds to score. The coach of Team A goes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss the error. RULING: In (a), the error of not awarding three points is correctable as it was detected prior to the second live ball after the error. The extra point is scored, the 60-second time-out is not charged and the game continues from the point of interruption. In (b), it is a mistake by the scorer which can be corrected any time until the final score has been approved. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20pm. |