The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   illegal/legal dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49594-illegal-legal-dribble.html)

OHBBREF Tue Oct 28, 2008 03:08pm

illegal/legal dribble
 
Team A inbounds the ball from mid court into their back court. A1 with the ball being pressured lightly by B1. Team A does the clear out for A1 to bring the ball up against the pressure alone.
B1 tightens the pressure quickly A1 losses the dribble with no one to help him/her in the back court.
A1 throws the ball;
a) against the back board and lets it hit the ground and begins dribbling...
b) throws the ball off the referees leg and begins dribbling...
c) throws the ball off the opponent and begins dribbling.

What do you have?

grunewar Tue Oct 28, 2008 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 546625)
What do you have?

Someone reading the manual/case play book or an old exam?! :D

Ch1town Tue Oct 28, 2008 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 546625)
What do you have?

A guard with no handles?

PAULK1 Tue Oct 28, 2008 05:00pm

A & B Illegal Dribble
C Legal Dribble

NoFear Tue Oct 28, 2008 05:24pm

If A1 ended the dribble after s/he losses it, then a, b, and c, are illegal.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 28, 2008 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 546625)
Team A inbounds the ball from mid court into their back court. A1 with the ball being pressured lightly by B1. Team A does the clear out for A1 to bring the ball up against the pressure alone.
B1 tightens the pressure quickly A1 losses the dribble with no one to help him/her in the back court.
A1 throws the ball;
a) against the back board and lets it hit the ground and begins dribbling...
b) throws the ball off the referees leg and begins dribbling...
c) throws the ball off the opponent and begins dribbling.

What do you have?

A) Depends on which backboard. If B's, illegal dribble as soon as A1 touches the ball after it bounces off the backboard. If it is A's, legal.
B) If the ref is entirely inbounds, illegal dribble as soon as A1 touches the ball. If the ref is not entirely inbounds, OOB violation on A.
C) If the opponent is entirely inbounds, legal...pass touched another player. If the opponent is not entirely inbounds, OOB violation on B.

Adam Tue Oct 28, 2008 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoFear (Post 546680)
If A1 ended the dribble after s/he losses it, then a, b, and c, are illegal.

Or before.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1