The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 13, 2016, 04:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2016-17
By NFHS on October 10, 2016

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2016

Rules Book Corrections: Page 59, Rule 9-12, Penalties (Section 11 – 12) 10-3-9 should be 10-4-9; Page 68, State Association Adoptions #2 NOTE 10-5-1a should be 10-6-1a; Page 71, Technical Foul Penalty Chart, Head Coach 20 seconds should read 15 seconds.

Case Book Corrections: Page 19, 3.3.5 Situation B change 20 seconds to 15 seconds; Page 20, 3.3.6 Situation C change 0 seconds to 15 seconds; Page 41, 5.4.19 change 20 seconds to 15 seconds; Page 76, 9.12 Situation B Ruling Correction; A2 has committed a goaltending violation. No points can be scored. Since this goaltending violation occurred during a free throw, the penalty is a technical foul. Team B will
be awarded two free throws and a throw-in from the division line opposite the scorer and timer table. (4-22; 10-4-9 PENALTY)

Arm Bar: An arm bent across one’s chest is an arm bar. When a defender has the bent arm across his/her chest and on the offensive player with no exertion, there is no foul. When a defender uses this bent arm and extends it out away from the chest to push an offensive player away or to control his/her movement, it is illegal and a foul should be ruled.

SITUATION 1: A6 has reported to enter the game. A6 is wearing an undershirt that contains a visible logo “Nike Pro Combat” with dimensions that do not meet those of 2ľ square inches and not exceed 2ľ inches in any dimension. RULING: The official should instruct the coach and the player that he/she will not be able to wear the undershirt because the “Nike Pro Combat” logo exceeds the allowable size dimensions. The player will need to leave the bench and go to the locker room to remove the undershirt. (3-5-6)

SITUATION 2: B2 is in a marked lane space after free thrower A1 releases a final free-throw attempt. B2 enters the free-throw semicircle before the ball strikes the ring, contacting A1, whose free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. The official rules a foul on B4 and awards A1 bonus free throws as B4’s foul is the eighth team foul. RULING: The official was correct to rule a foul on B4 — illegal contact occurred. However, the official was incorrect to only award bonus free throws. B4 committed a delayed free-throw violation and A1 should have been given a substitute free throw with the lane cleared prior to the administration of
the bonus free throws. Play resumes with the result of A1’s bonus free throws. NFHS/Referee Basketball Preseason Guide 2016. (9-1 PENALTIES 2b)

SITUATION 3: The spirit group/cheerleaders move onto the playing court during a time-out. RULING: The referee shall remove the spirit group/cheerleaders from the court and inform the group’s captain of the reason for removal. (1-20)

SITUATION 4: A spirit group member(s) or a photographer has set-up within the free-throw lane lines extended area. RULING: The lead official shall request the group member(s) or photographer to move from
the restricted area. (1-20)

SITUATION 5: The media person or spirit group member(s) is located toward the sideline completely outside of the free-throw lane line extended area. RULING: The location of the spirit group member(s) and/or
media person is legal. (1-20)

NOTE for SITUATIONS 3, 4, 5: Should the spirit group, photographer, etc., not be cooperative, the referee shall request the athletic administrator or game site manager to address the situation.

SITUATION 6: Team’s school colors are blue and gold and the predominant color of the team’s jerseys is white. Prior to the game, an official observes that several team members are wearing beige pre-wrap around the entire head and blue wristbands. RULING: The headband and wristbands do not meet the color requirements. The official should notify the coach that the headbands and wristbands must be removed because they do not meet the color requirements. NOTE: Pre-wrap when worn around the head is considered to be a headband and must meet the color requirements. Pre-wrap when worn around the hair, such as a ponytail, is a hair-control device. (3-5-4)

SITUATION 7: A1 has been disqualified from the game for committing his/her fifth foul or a flagrant foul. The coach of Team A is notified and then the official instructs the timer to begin the replacement period. The player is then notified of the disqualification. The coach of Team A rises from the bench and (a) talks until the sounding of the warning horn with the remaining four players who have gathered near the boundary; (b) immediately sends A6 to the table to report in. The coach then gathers the players at the sideline for a conference; or (c) sends A6 towards the table but the time indicates the 15 seconds have expired before A6 gets there. RULING: Legal in (a), as long as a substitute reports before the 15 seconds lapsed. In (b), play will resume as soon as A6 has reported to the scorer. In (c), a technical foul is charged directly to the head coach. It is not an administrative technical. (2-12-5; 10-6-2)

SITUATION 8: A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awarded the one-and-one penalty. The error is discovered: (a) after A1’s first free throw is successful; (b) after both free throws are successful; (c) after B1 has the ball for a throw-in following the second successful free throw; (d) after B2 has control of the throw-in pass from B1 following the second successful free throw; (e) after B1 has
secured the rebound following A1’s unsuccessful second free throw. RULING: In (a) and (b), the successful free throw(s) is canceled. Team A is awarded a throw-in at the spot out-ofbounds nearest to where B1 originally fouled. In (c), the successful free throws are canceled. Since the throw-in that was underway is the result of the successful free throws, it is also canceled. The point of interruption is the foul by B1. Team A is awarded a throw-in at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where B1 originally fouled. In (d) and (e), the successful free throws are canceled. Play resumes with a throw-in awarded to Team B since Team B had the ball inbounds when the game was interrupted for the correction. (2-10; 4-36)

SITUATION 9: Player A1 has the ball at his/her disposal for a single free throw when A2 steps into the lane and then pushes B1. RULING: The ball became dead when A2 violated the lane and the official rules a violation on A2 and disallows the free throw attempt by A1. The push by A2 may be considered incidental and the ball awarded to Team B for a throw-in at the nearest spot. (9-1 PENALTIES 1)

SITUATION 10: A technical foul is issued at the start of the game on Team A and the game begins with free throws. Team B brings in substitute B6 to shoot the free throw. RULING: Legal substitute. The ball becomes live to start the game when placed at the disposal of B6. B6 and B5 are subject to proper substitution rules. B5 may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been
properly started. (3-2-2a, 3-3-4)

SITUATION 11: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. After A1 releases the ball, B1 commits a kicking violation. RULING: A1’s throw-in has ended because of B1’s kicking violation. A new throw-in is awarded to Team A at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. NOTE: Because the defensive team committed a violation during the alternating-possession throwin, the alternating-possession arrow is not switched.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 09:41am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,436
2017-18 Interpretations

SITUATION 1: School A has placed its 28-foot coaching box parallel to the basketball floor so that it is 10 feet from the division line. RULING: This is an incorrect placement of the coaching box. The 28-foot coaching box should be measured from the end line of the basketball court toward the division line. The end of the coaching box near the scoring table must allow for a minimum of 14 feet of clear space toward the division line. NOTE: Regardless of the length of the coaching box mandated by the state, a minimum 14-foot area beginning at the division line and moving toward the end line should not include any portion of the coaching box regardless of the size and the alternate placement. (1-13-2)

SITUATION 2: The state association has allowed Team A to adjust the placement of its coaching box because of the design of the bleachers and the stairs leading into the bleachers. To gain the full 28 feet for the coaching box, the box has been extended beyond the end line of the playing court. RULING: Illegal placement of the coaching box. The placement of the box can be altered but it cannot extend beyond the end line of the court nor can it encroach into the 14-foot area near the division line. (1-13-2)

SITUATION 3: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the teamís frontcourt. A1ís throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. A2 jumps from the teamís frontcourt, catches the ball
in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. When A2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when A2 lands in the backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 4: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the teamís backcourt (Team Bís frontcourt). A1ís throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1ís deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 5: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the teamís backcourt (Team Bís frontcourt). A1ís throw-in is intercepted by B1. B1 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: No violation, legal play. It doesnít matter if one foot lands before the other provided it is a ďnormal landing.Ē Since there was no deflection, the throw-in had not ended. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the teamís frontcourt (Team Bís backcourt). A1ís throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt
court and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team Bís frontcourt and then steps in Team Bís backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 7: A1, in the teamís frontcourt, passes towards A2, also in the teamís frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team Aís backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team Aís frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team Aís backcourt, but never having touched in Team Aís backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team Aís backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1, 4-4-3, 9-9-1)

SITUATION 8: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 9: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the frontcourt. (4-35-2, 9-7)

SITUATION 10: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1ís pass to A2, who is also in Team Aís backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2, 9-8)

SITUATION 11: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1ís pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free-throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team Aís backcourt
untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team Aís backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player control and team control had not yet been established in Team Aís frontcourt before the ball went into Team Aís backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2, 9-9)

SITUATION 12: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1ís pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2ís hand and goes into Team Aís backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team Aís backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player control and team control had not yet been established in Team Aís frontcourt before the ball went into Team Aís backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2, 9-9)

SITUATION 13: The head coach of Team A is upset that the foul count against his team is 7 to 2. He voices his opinion in an unsporting manner to the contest official. RULING: The official should stop play if it is not a break situation with a potential scoring opportunity and give the coach an official warning by notifying the scorekeeper and then letting the coach know that he has been warned. The scorekeeper should make note of the warning in the scorebook. This situation does not have to be given a warning; the coach could be issued a technical immediately. (4-48)

SITUATION 14: During a live ball, the assistant coach is off the bench and out of the coaching box giving instructions to a player on the court. RULING: The official should rule a technical on the assistant coach for being off the bench and out of the coaching box. (4-48)

SITUATION 15: During the second quarter, the head coach is off the bench expressing his disapproval of several calls made. As the team brings the ball down the floor into the frontcourt, the trail official stops play to issue a warning. RULING: The official is correct in issuing a warning to the coach for the complaints. The scorekeeper is notified, as well as the coach, of the warning. Another warning cannot be given. (4-48)

SITUATION 16: During the warm-up period, the referee notices on the back of Team Bís jersey the letters (a) PHHS and (b) P+E+T. RULING: Legal in (a) as the letters on the jersey represent the official name of the school; illegal in (b) as the letters do not represent the name of the school, which makes the jersey illegal. The head coach shall be charged with a direct technical foul and the game will begin with the opponents shooting two free throws and receiving the ball for a division line throw-in. The head coach will lose coaching-box privileges. (3-4-4, 10-6-4)

SITUATION 17: Team A is wearing a jersey with the school name above the number on the front and the player name in the shoulder area across the back. RULING: Legal. It is permissible to place the names in these locations. (3-4-4)
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2018, 01:41pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,436
2018-19

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2018-19
October 10, 2018

Publisherís Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Dr. Karissa L. Niehoff, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2018

SITUATION 1: A1 is dribbling the ball in frontcourt near the division line when B1 taps the ball away. The ball rolls into the backcourt where A2 is standing. A2 picks up the ball while in backcourt and starts a dribble. RULING: Legal play. The ball rolling on the floor when it crosses the division line has backcourt status; therefore, either the offense or the defense can recover the ball. (9-9-1 EXCEPTION)

SITUATION 2: A1 is straddling the division line when the ball is deflected by B1 into the backcourt. A1 is able to reach out and take possession of the ball while still straddling the division line. RULING: Legal. A1 is in the backcourt and maintains that status when she takes possession of the deflected ball. Because A1 is in the backcourt, the official must start a 10-second count and maintain the count as long as the player is in the backcourt and in possession of the ball. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 3: A1 throws a ball from the sideline, near the division line. A2 catches the ball while straddling the division line, fumbles the ball into the frontcourt and recovers the ball with one foot still in the backcourt. RULING: Violation by A2. While in player and team control in backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt. (4-21, 9-9-2)

SITUATION 4: Players scramble for the ball with A1 touching the ball and the boundary line. RULING: A1 has created a violation by touching the boundary line and the ball at the same time, causing the ball to be out-of-bounds. Team B shall be given the ball at the spot nearest to the violation. (7-1- 1, 7-1-2, 7-2-2, 9-3-1)

SITUATION 5: The ball is thrown from Team Aís own end line on a throw-in towards the division line. Offensive player A1 deflects the ball into the backcourt. RULING: The ball may be recovered in backcourt by the offensive team without creating a violation. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 6: A1 has tucked the bottom of his/her shorts into the tights being worn. RULING: Illegal. The referee shall not allow the player to enter the game or direct the player to leave the game until the shorts are removed from inside the tights. After making the correction, the player may re-enter the game at the appropriate time for a substitution. The uniform should be worn as the manufacturer intended it to be. (3-5-5)

SITUATION 7: Substitute A6 reports to enter the game to replace A1. A5, already in the game, is wearing a beige compression sleeve on her/his arm and leg. A6 is wearing a black headband and wristbands. RULING: A6 is not allowed to enter because the rule requires all teammates to wear the same allowable color sleeves, headbands and wristbands. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the color restrictions are corrected. (3-5-3)

SITUATION 8: A loose ball is on the floor and A1 dives onto the floor and secures the ball while on her/his stomach. A1 then (a) rolls over, sits up and passes the ball; (b) while on her/his stomach passes the ball to a teammate. RULING: Illegal in (a) to roll over from the stomach; (b) legal action for the ball to be passed from that position. (4-44-5b)

SITUATION 9: During warm-ups, the officials notice that some players have rolled the waistband on their shorts. What actions should be taken by the officials, if any, at this time? RULING: During the warm-up period, the referee should notify the coach of the infractions and ask that they be corrected immediately. If the corrections are not made and players attempt to enter the game with rolled waistbands, those players should not be allowed to enter the game prior to correcting the issue. If player(s) in the game have rolled waistband(s), they shall be directed to leave the game and may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute. No penalty is involved. The game should not be held-up to allow for the correction. (3-3-5, 3-5-5)

SITUATION 10: The ball supplied by the home team does not meet the description of a ball with a deeply-pebbled, granulated surface and does not have the NFHS Authenticating Mark applied. RULING: The referee shall make the decision on whether the ball meets the specifications to be used for the contest. The referee may select a ball that meets the specifications, even if it is one from the visiting team. (1- 12-1c)
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2018,19 NFHS Rules Interpretations Freddy Basketball 18 Tue Oct 23, 2018 01:25pm
Past POE Archive Freddy Basketball 8 Tue Jan 03, 2017 07:53pm
Added another audio pre-game to the archive. ca_rumperee Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2008 07:35pm
NFHS Interpretations MOFFICIAL Basketball 5 Wed Feb 13, 2002 10:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1