The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,151
Send a message via AIM to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via MSN to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via Yahoo to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I guess that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. didn't send in the 1891-92 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations. I'm sure that he will eventually get up to his attic to retrieve them. Why doesn't he just keep his stuff in his drawing room, or in his parlor?

Great job Nevadaref, and justacoach.


ROFLMAO!!

MTD, Sr.


P.S. First, NevadaRef needs to get a hobby.

P.P.S. I think that NevadaRef deserves three cheers for getting these interpretations out on the Forum. Thank you NevadaRef.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Toledo, Ohio
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,028
Thanks to everyone for the kind words. It was my desire to make a significant contribution to the forum for the betterment of all members, and it seemed to me that this resource would prove helpful to many officials.

I would ask that if anyone has any questions about particular interpretations that he/she start a new thread and address it there.

Let's really try to only post the NFHS documents from prior years in this thread. That way we can keep this thread as orderly and compact as possible.
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I agree...Administrators, is there a way to "pin" this thread to the top of basketball forum and leave if there forever? (I'll delete this post btw when we get a response.) I know other forums pin particular topics (like rules of the forum). Thanks

-Josh
Done.
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
2001-2002 Interps - Part 1

(an OCR'd version from a hard copy -- so no guarantees there aren't OCR errors).

SITUATION 1.: After the made basket, Al has the ball for a throw-in along the end line. 61 fouls A2 at: (a) the division line; (b) the free-throw line closest to the throw-in; (c) along the sideline by A’s bench; or (d) along the end line near Al. RULING: In (a) and (c) the ball is put in play at the out-of-bounds spot closest to where the foul occurred, which is along the sideline. A throw-in along the sideline is always a spot throw-in. In (b) and (d) the closest spot to the foul is the end line where the original throw-in was taking place. In both situations the thrower will retain the privilege of running the end line for the throw-in. (7-5-
7)

SITUATION 2: Team A scores a field goal. 61 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)

SITUATION 3: While Al’s three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls 61 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field-goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for Al. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (5-7-7 Exp (2); 7-5-7)

SITUATION 4: Team A scores a field goal. Bi picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 and B2 foul each other simultaneously. RULING: This is a double foul (fouls are recorded, but no free throws attempted), which results in an alternating possession throw-in. Even if Team B retains possession, its right to run the end line is negated by 62’s foul. Therefore, the throw-in is
—from-a-designated spot out of bounds nearest the foul. (6-3-3f)

SITUATION 5: Both the home and visiting teams appear on the court wearing similar gold jerseys. RULING: The officials inform the home team that they must change to a different color jersey. The home team should wear light and visiting team dark jerseys. (3-4-6

SITUATION 6: The school-sponsored cheerleaders wish to use megaphones as part of their cheerleading routines from the sidelines. RULING: The new rule prohibiting artificial noisemakers would not apply to the cheerleaders in this situation. The megaphones would only be legal for the cheerleader’s use, provided they were being used appropriately. (1-18)

SITUATION 7: A player, for religious reasons, may not wear shorts. Would he/she be able to wear tights under the basketball uniform shorts or warm-ups instead of shorts? RULING:
NFHS basketball uniform rules do not require that the uniform pants be “shorts.” However, undergarments or tights may not be worn which extend below the pants. Wearing tights below the uniform shorts would be illegal. However, the player could wear long pants as the uniform “bottom” and be in compliance with NFHS rules. (3-4; 3-5-5)

SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A4 that he/she must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. A4 responds that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A4 and A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5)

SITUATION 9: At the end of their pre-game warm-up, players Al, A4, A5, A9 each dunk the ball and subsequently leave the floor and go to their dressing room. RULING: A technical foul is assessed each player. The game starts with eight (8) free throws (2 for each of the technical fouls) and the ball is awarded to B at the division line opposite the table. Four team fouls toward the bonus are assessed to A. The head coach of A is assessed an indirect technical foul for each offense (4) and is subsequently ejected from the contest. Any coach assuming the responsibilities of the head coach for the game would not have the use of the coaching box. (10-3-5; 10-5 Pen)

SITUATION 10: During a dead ball, Team A sends multiple substitutes (#33, #34 and #35) to report to enter the game. The substitutes will be replacing #22, #23 and #24, but, by rule, they do not indicate whom they will be replacing. A delay occurs in putting the ball back into play. During the delay or dead-ball period, replaced Team A player #23 re-enters the game without sitting out the required amount of time. The ball is put in play before the official scorer can recognize that #23 did not remain out of the game the required period of time. RULING: Once the ball became live after the illegal substitution, #23 becomes a legal player. (3-3-3)

Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:01pm. Reason: Added spacing to make easier to read
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
2001-2002 Interps Part 2.

SITUATION 11: Each team and the official scorer have been notified that Team A has called a 30-second timeout. Team A decides to sit down on its bench. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The official should first inform the coach that his/her team is to remain standing during a 30-second timeout. If the coach refuses to adhere to the officials’ request, an unsporting technical shall be assessed. (5-12-5)

SITUATION 12: Team A has used all allotted time-outs. The scorer notifies the referee, who properly advises the Team A coach at the beginning of Team A’s last called time-out. During play later in the game, A4 attempts to call time-out when he/she is being pressured by B2 and 83. U2 ignores the request by A4. RULING: U2 should honor the request of A4, even when this would be a time-out in excess of the number allotted. Game officials do not have discretionary authority to assist players in avoiding rules violations. (2-7-6; 5-12-2)

SITUATION 13: With three-tenths of a second or less left in the first half, Team B has been charged with only four team fouls. Al is at the free-throw line for one free throw. Al’s shot hits the rim and bounds off. A2 legally taps the ball toward the basket and is fouled by 83. The ball had left A2’s hand and the foul occurred before the period-ending horn sounded. The tap is unsuccessful. RULING: 83’s foul is considered in the “act of tapping” and will result in two free throws for A2. The lane will be cleared and the period ends after A2’s free throw attempts. (4-40-1; 4-40-5,6,7)

SITUATION 14: Al, while dribbling near the sideline is close to his/her teams bench area when his/her coach reaches over and grasps Al’s arm to bring the player closer to the sideline to give instructions. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation. A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player, on or outside the boundary. (7-1-1)

SITUATION 15: Al is awarded two free throws. The officials fail to notice that A2 has lined up in one of the lower marked lane spaces that should be occupied by Team B. The officials discover it immediately after the first free throw is successful. RULING: The officials should call a double violation and cancel the first free throw. COMMENT: The officials could have prevented this double violation by observing player positions before putting the ball at the disposal of the shooter. Since they did not catch the violation before the free throw, the penalty for the violation must be enforced. (8-1-3; 9-1-2; 9-1 Pen (3))

SITUATION 16: Al, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the mid-court line, has the ball strike the mid-court line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, Al touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. Al may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 17: Al is slowly dribbling the ball up the court. Bl is lightly “tagging” Al, but is not impeding Al’s forward motion. The official warns Bl to “keep hands off.” RULING: This is a foul. There is no warning. (10-6-1)

SITUATION 18: Al is driving towards his/her basket with Bl following. Al goes up for a lay-up. Bl goes up as well and commits basketball interference. After the basket interference, but before either player returns to the floor, Bi also fouls airborne shooter Al. RULING: The basket interference causes the ball to become dead immediately. Team A is awarded two points for Bl’s basket interference, Team B shall have a throw in from • anywhere along the end line. Bl’s foul is ignored unless deemed unsporting or flagrant. (9-11; 6-7-9)

Poster's Note: The above interp (Situation 18) was revised on the FED website a few days after it was posted to recognize that a foul on an airborne shooter is not ignored just because the ball is dead

SITUATION 19: With four minutes remaining in the game and the score 82-36 with Team A leading, B5 commits his/her fifth personal foul. With four other members of Team B already being disqualified for their fifth foul, Team B has no available substitutes. The referee confers with both coaches and subsequently permits previously disqualified player B3 to return to the contest. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The referee, with or without approval of coaches, does not have the authority to set aside a rule, even if the intent is to be compassionate or fair. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3)

SITUATION 20: Team A is leading 61-60. Bi fouls Al in the act of shooting as time expires. As the officials approach the scorer’s table, the Team A coach rushes the floor and begins screaming obscenities at the officials. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to the Team A coach. The foul at the expiration of time is no longer ignored. The technical foul on the Team A coach created a false double foul situation, which may affect the outcome of the game. The penalties will be administered in the order in which they occurred. With the lane cleared, Al will shoot two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. If both are successful, the game is over. If one or both are missed, an eligible player from Team B will shoot the two technical foul free throws. The free throws will determine the outcome of the game or an extra period will be played. COMMENT: Jurisdiction of the officials is terminated when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. While the preferred action would be for all officials to immediately leave the playing area, such an observable action by the coach should be penalized as unsporting. (5-6-4; 10-4-ic; 4-19-8; 5-6-3 Exp)

Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:03pm. Reason: made easier to read
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
2000-01 Interps --Part 1 of 3

2000-01 N FHS Basketball Rules I nterretations ;1

Printing Errors and Corrections:

Rules Book: Page 38; 4-42-1; change 20-second time-out to 30 seconds. Case Book: Page 6; 2.4.5B; delete the last sentence of the play situation.

SITUATION 1: Al is straddling the division line after catching and possessing a pass from A2. Al then fumbles the ball, so that the ball lands in A’s frontcourt. Al then regains possession of the ball (still straddling the division line). RULING: Al, with Team A in control, caused the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and was the first player to touch the ball again in the backcourt. Therefore, a backcourt violation shall be called. (9-9 Note)

SITUATION 2: Same situation as above, except Al begins a dribble immediately upon fumbling the ball and retreats to his/her backcourt to avoid a defender.
RULING: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues. COMMENT: The provision of, “both feet and the ball being in the frontcourt” to determine frontcourt status, is gn!y. relevant during a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt. (4-4-6)

SITUATION 3: Defensive player, Bl leaves the court to guard in-bounding Al. He/she intentionally steps out of bounds in order to be issued a warning, so that the coach may read the offensive play and communicate the proper defensive set.
RULING: The official may issue a plane violation warning, or a technical foul for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. If the official believes the action was a tactic to gain an advantage, a technical foul should be called. (9-2-11; 10-3-4)

SITUATION 4: Prior to the game the head coach of Team A does not come into the playing area until the team introductions are completed. This is the first opportunity for the game officials to communicate with the coach. It is now game time. How should the referee handle this situation? RULING: The referee shall delay the start of the game and quickly have the head coach verify that his/her player’s uniforms and equipment are legal and will be worn properly, and that all participants are expected to exhibit good sportsmanship throughout the contest. The situation should be reported to the state activities association. COMMENT: It is unfortunate that a coach does not fulfill his/her pre-game duties, but this should not deter the referee from performing his/her duties in a professional manner. (2-4-5)

SITUATION 5: Al steals the ball from B2 and is on a breakaway. B3 is attempting to catch Al but is trailing the play. As Al attempts a lay up, B3 tries to block the shot and fails. During B3’s attempt to block the shot, his/her hand slaps the backboard. RULING: Even though the contact with the backboard was very obvious, it was not an intentional act and would not be ruled illegal. COMMENT: No doubt the coach and spectators of Team A will protest that a technical foul should have been called on B3. The covering official must base his/her decision on the intent of the play. (10-3-6)

SITUATION 6: Three starters of Team A are wearing a 3-inch square
manufacturer’s logo on their game socks. The two others are wearing plain white crew socks. RULING: The socks are legal. Socks are not a required part of the uniform, and are not subject to the manufacturer’s-logo restrictions. (3-6)

SITUATION 7: A6 and A7 report to the table as substitutes to enter the game. B5 commits his/her fifth personal foul. A4 goes to the free-throw line to shoot two free throws. B6 replaces B5 before A4 shoots the first free throw. A6 and A7 are also beckoned to come into the game. RULING: The official was correct in beckoning A6 and A7 to come with B6. When a player is required by rule to be replaced prior to administering the free throw(s), then all other substitutes who have legally reported may also enter the game. (3-3-ic)

SITUATION 8; A “Ram” logo is painted in the center-restraining circle. The home school has a shadow borderline that is 1/4-inch wide that is within the 2-inch width as the dividing line. RULING: A solid or shadow bordered 2-inch wide line is permissible. A shadow line is a line that designates the required 2-inch width by use of border or outline lines at least 1/4-inch wide, which shall lie within the 2-inch width. (1-3-2 Note)

SITUATION 9: Team A is playing with five players, but has no substitutes available when one of the players has an asthma attack. The coach is beckoned onto the floor. Must the player leave the game? May Team A continue with four players? May the player return after recovering from the asthma attack? RULING: A team may continue with fewer than five when there are no substitutes available. The injured/ill player leaving the game may return if/when he or she is able. (3-1-i)

Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:04pm. Reason: easier to read
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
2000-01 Interps -- Part 2 of 3

SITUATION 10: Al jumps from inbounds and gains control of the ball in the air. While in the air, the player tosses/drops the ball inbounds and momentum then carries them out of bounds. Al then returns to the court and is the first to touch the ball inbounds. RULING: The ball never touched out of bounds and the player returned in-bounds and re-established him/herself before touching the ball. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues. (7-1-i; 7-1-2)

SITUATION 11: Al has the ball in A’s backcourt, against a press; as the action goes on, A2 breaks to his/her basket and Al throws a full-court pass to A2. As the ball reaches A2 it goes off the backboard and enters the basket for a goal. RULING:
The official must determine if the throw was an attempt at a basket or a pass. If it is deemed a pass, then by definition it is not a try and therefore can only be awarded two points. (4-40-2, 3; 5-2-1)

SITUATION 12: On the second and final free throw, Al’s attempt becomes lodged on the flange. RULING: Since the ball was live, it shall be put into play by the alternating-possession procedure. (6-3-3d)

SITUATION 13: Al is at the free-throw line to shoot a free throw. The lead official bounces the ball to Al, and Bl, who is in one of the free-throw lane spaces, a) reaches out and intercepts the bounce pass without breaking the vertical plane of the free-throw lane with either foot and then requests a time-out; or b) breaks the vertical plane of the free-throw lane and intercepts the bounce pass and then requests a time-out. RULING: This is NOT a warning for delay situation, as outlined by Rule 4-46. In both situations, a technical foul shall be called for Bl delaying the game by preventing the ball from being put in play. (10-3-7a)

SITUATION 14: After a made basket by Team 8, Al has the run of the end line for a throw-in. Al’s throw-in is intentionally kicked by Bl. Is Team A awarded a designated spot throw-in or may it again run the end line for the throw-in? RULING:
There is no provision to allow Team A to run the end line. After any violation, the ball shall be put in play from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. No exception to this rule is noted. (7-5-2)

SITUATION 15: Immediately following a goal in the first quarter by Al, A3 slaps the ball away so that Team B is unable to make a quick throw-in. In the second quarter, A2 reaches through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. RULING: The official shall sound his/her whistle and go to the table to have the scorer record a team warning for the specific delay after it has occurred. The specific warning is then reported to the head coach of Team A. Any subsequent delay for interfering with the ball following a basket or throw-in plane violation by Team A shall result in a technical foul charged to Team A. COMMENT: The three warning situations listed in Rule 4-46 are treated separately. (4-46; 9-2-11; lO-1-5c,d)

SITUATION 16: The home team had its floor re-painted in the off-season with its school mascot painted in the middle of the floor. The mascot is painted over the division line, so that the line is obstructed and not clearly visible. RULING: There is no penalty accessed to the home team. Every effort shall be made by home management to place a line (temporary or permanent) on the floor. If a temporary line is placed on the floor, precautions should be taken with the substance used to minimize the risk of injury to players and officials. Every effort should be made to play the game. The official should notify the state association of the situation. COMMENT: If you are aware of a facility in which this could occur, contact your state high school association to determine how the situation should be handled in your state. (1-3-2)

SITUATION 17: Dribbler Al is being closely guarded by B2 in A’s frontcourt. A3 sets a screen on B2 to allow dribbler Al a pathway to the basket. However, Team B switches defenders after the screen and B4 is now closely guarding dribbler Al. When B4 took over guarding dribbler Al, he/she properly established a legal guarding position and maintained the 6-foot guarding distance. RULING: The closely guarded count on Al shall be maintained even though there were two different defenders involved. (4-23;9-1O-1)

SITUATION 18: Al and Bl begin to fight during a dead-ball period. Two bench players from Team A, A6 and A7, leave the bench area and enter the court to be near the action. Bench player B6 also leaves the bench area onto the floor and begins fighting with bench player A6. RULING: Al, A6, A7, Bl and B6 are all disqualified and each is charged with a flagrant technical foul. The head coach from Team A is charged with two indirect technical fouls (one for A7 leaving the bench and one for A6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). The head coach from Team B is charged with one indirect technical foul (for B6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). Team B is awarded two free throws followed by the ball for a division line throw-in, because the number of participants does not correspond. (10-3-10; lO-4-lh; 10-4-4 Pen)

Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:06pm. Reason: easier to read
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
2000-01 Interps -- Part 3 of 3 (Supplemental Interps)

2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)

SITUATION 1: Al is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, Al fumbles the ball (while stifi in the air) and drops it. Al then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the bail must be released for a try or pass. (4ó43-3a; 94)

SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by Al, in Team Aís frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in Aís frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)

SITUATION 3: Al is in the act of shooting and is fouled by Bi. The contact by Bl throws Al off balance and in an effort to make a play Al passes off to teammate A2 instead of proceeding through with an off- balance shot. The official rules that the pass-off by Al is not a factor as it was not the original intent and only the result of the contact by Bi. RULING: Al is awarded two free throws for the foul conunitted by Bi. COMMENT: Provided the official deems that Al was in the act of shooting when fouled (the player had begun the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball for a try), the subsequent pass-off is ignored. (4-40-3; 4-40-1; Summary of Penalties #5)

SITUATION 4: Al is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2ís fifth foul. The trail official reports the fifth foul to Team Bís coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits Al to attempt the first free throw. The trail official realizes the error and huddles with the lead official. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team Bís head coach shall be notified of B2ís disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, Al shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an officialís error and not a correctable error situation according to Rule 2-10. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3; 10-5-id)

SITUATION 5: Al is fouled in the act of shooting and is awarded two free throws. Al is injured on the play and Team Aís coach has been beckoned on the floor to attend to Al. Although by rule Al should leave the game until the next legal opportunity to substitute, the officials make an error and permit Al to complete the free throws before leaving. The opposing coach objects and insists that Alís substitute should have shot the free throws, and a correctable error has occurred. RULING: The officials made an error by permitting Al to remain in the game. This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw, even though Al is required to leave the game by rule. (3-3-5; 3-3-3)

SITUATION 6: Al is fouled and Team A is in the bonus. Before Al attempts the one-and-one, Al is whistled for a technical foul for taunting. Al goes to the free-throw line to attempt the one-and-one with no players lined up. Al makes the first free throw, then the horn sounds and the scorer indicates that Alís technical foul was the fifth foul on Al. RULING: The result of Alís first free throw shall stand and Alís replacement shall attempt the remaining free throw (if the first was successful), before Team B shoots its technical foul free throws. COMMENT: This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw. Al was not officially disqualified until the coach was notified. (3-3-3; 4-14-2; 2-8-3; 2-10-lc)

SITUATION 7: Al is attempting the second throw of a one-and-one when simultaneously B3 fouls A3, and A2 fouls B2 while the free throw is in flight. Both teams are in the bonus and B has the possession arrow. RULING: A2 and B3 are charged with personal fouls. Team B puts the ball in play with a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. COMNENT: This is incorrectly interpreted in the 2000-02 NFHS Basketball Handbook (p.8íl). (6-3-3g)

SITUATION 8: Al has started a try for a goal (is in the act of shooting), but the ball is not yet in flight when the official blows the whistle for B2 fouling A2. Alís try is successful. RULING: Alís goal shall count because the foul was committed by the defense after the try had begun. COMMENT: The foul by the defense need not be on the player in the act of shooting for continuous motion principles to apply. (6- 7 Exp 3)

Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:07pm. Reason: easier to read
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
Revised 1997 Interpa

Printing Error: Rules book, Page 26, 4-11-1 should read “Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance...”
1997-98 and 1998-99 Officials’ Manual, Page 45 — Diagram had an official’s position omit- ted as to position during a “full” time-out. During a “full” time-out, the official will be on the center court line in the half opposite the table, as indicated in past manuals.

SITUATION #1: Al attempts a field goal and is fouled in the act of shooting by Bi. While the ball is on the rim, B2 bats the ball off the rim. RULING:B2 has interfered with the ball while it is on or within the basket, therefore, the goal shall count and’Al will be awarded one free throw. (4-6-1; 4-22-ib; 9-11-1)

SITUATION #2: After a field goal by Al, B2 dribbles the ball out of bounds along the base- line before passing the ball to a teammate. Is this legal?
RULING: Yes. Basketball Rules Fundamental No. 5 states: Neither the dribble nor traveling ruleoperates during thejump ball, throw-in or free throw.

SITUATION #3: Team A’s shirts have a four- inch diagonal multicolored design within the side insert. In addition, a 1-inch wide vertical trim extends on each side of the design.
RULING: The shirts are not legal as all trim and design/decorations must be included within the 4-inch insert. (3-4-lb)

SITUATION #4: Thrower Al inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. Al immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds, throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team.
RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). (9-2-5) COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether r not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

SITUATION #5: Al is fouled in the act of shooting by Bl. While the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, A2 touches the ball.
RULING: The basket interference by A2 causes the ball to become dead and no goal can be scored. However, Al is awarded two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting an unsuccessful try. Players must occupy lane spaces as required and play continues as per rule when the last free throw is made or missed. (6-7-9; 9-11-1)

SITUATION #6: Al is at the free-throw line for an attempt but does not yet have the ball. Bl and B2 are occupying the first lane spaces as required. Lane Spaces 2 and 3 on each side of the lane are vacant. B3 and B4 occupy the fourth lane spaces on each side of the lane. However, A2 and A3 then request to occupy Lane Space 4 on each side of the lane. Should the administering official grant the request even though Spaces 2 and 3 are unoccupied and the request was made after Team B took the fourth lane spaces?
RULING: The request is honored as Team A is entitled to each other’s alternate position along each lane line. The request must be made before the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. (8-l-3b)

SITUATION #7: Al receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he or she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. Al then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, Al drops the ball to the floor and dribbles.
RULING: Al has traveled as one foot must be considered to be a pivot and must be on the floor when the ballis released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling. (4-42-3c)

SITUATION #8: Al is out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in. The administering official has designated the spot and put the ball at Al’s disposal. In order to avoid some of the defensive pressure near the throw-in spot, Al takes several steps directly backward but keeps one foot on or over the designated area prior to releasing the ball on a throw-in pass.
RULING: Legal throw-in. It is permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide designated area without violating and he or she may move laterally if at least one foot is kept on or over the designated area. The thrower may also jump vertically and pass from the designated throw-in spot. (7-6-2)

SITUATION #9: Al fouls Bl just after the ball leaves the referee’s hand(s) on the jump to start the first extra period of play. Both teams are in the bonus. How is the alternating-possession arrow established?
RULING: When the bonus is in effect, the possession arrow is set toward the opponent’s basketwhen the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower. In this case when the ball is at the disposal of Al, the arrow is set pointing toward B’s basket. An overtime period is the only time the bonus would be in effect and a free throw(s) would result from a common foul. (4-3-3a)

SITUATION #10: During the jump to start the game, Al taps the ball out of bounds. Before the ball is at Bl’s disposal for a throw-in, B2 is charged with a technical foul.
RULING: Team A will attempt two free throws followed by a division-line throw-in opposite the table. When the ball is at the disposal of the thrower of Team A, the alternating-possession arrow will be set pointing toward Team B’s basket. (4-3-3c Note)

SITUATION #11: Al and Bl begin fighting and play is stopped. Substitute A6 leaves the bench area and enters the court at the same time, but B6 actually participates in the fight.
RULING: Al, Bl, A6 and B6 are all disqualified. No free throws result from the double flagrant foul by Al and Bl or from the simultaneous technical fouls by A6 and B6. Each head coach is charged with one indirect technical foul. Play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (10-6 Pen. ld)

SITUATION #12: The clock indicates one minute, 10 seconds left in the fourth quarter, when Team A makes a throw-in following a charged time-out. Team A then commits a 10- second backcourt violation, but the clock shows only eight seconds of the remaining playing time elapsed. The timekeeper indicates the clock was started when the throw-in pass was touched on the court.
RULING: Violation. Team B’s ball out of bounds for a throw-in at the nearest spot. The referee is authorized to make a correction in timekeeping “only when he or she has definite information relative to the time involved” and if the referee is certain there has been an obvious mistake. In the situation described, the referÍe would not be able to determine whether a mistake in starting the clock has been made. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the referee’s accuracy in counting seconds. (2-14-1)

SITUATION #13: Al and Bi are involved in a double technical-foul situation. The foul occurs in Team A’s frontcourt and with the possession arrow pointed towards A’s basket.
RULING: No free throws are awarded for the double technical foul. An alternating-possession throw-in by Team A wifi put the ball in play at the division line. (4-19-7b Note)

SITUATION #14: Al has the ball for a throw- in at the designated spot: (a) A2 is out of bounds during the throw-in by Al, or (b) A2 takes the ball from Al and makes the throw-in. RULING: A throw-in violation by A2 in both (a) and (b). (9-2-9; 9-2-12)

SITUATION #15: A2, while dribbling the ball, indicates to the official he wishes to call a 20- second time-out. As the official approaches the coach of Team A to verify the time-out, the coach indicates he wishes to have a regular time-out.
RULING: As long as the official has not report- ed the time-out to the official scorer, the change can be made as long as the team has one or more regular time-outs remaining. (5-11-2 Note)

Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:12pm. Reason: easier to read/spelling
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
Revised 1996 Interps

Printing Error: Rules Book, page 29. 4-19-7a Note
— Throw-in from spot nearest foul.

SITUATION #1: Thrower Al inbounds the ball to A2. A2 immediately throws the ball back to Al. When Al touches the pass, he or she has: (a) both feet touching inbounds; or (b) one foot touching inbounds and one out-of-bounds; or (c) one foot touching inbounds and the other not touching the floor. .
RULING: The ball remains live in (a) and (c), but Al has caused the ball to be out-of-bounds in.(b). (4-4-4; 4-34-1,2)

SITUATION #2: Al and Bl begin fighting and play is stopped. Substitute A6 leaves the bench area and enters the court to observe. B6 also enters the court at the same time, butB6 actually participates. in the fight. . .
RULING: Al, Bl, A6 and B6 are all disqualified. No free throws result from the double flagrant foul by Al and Bl, or from the simultaneous technical fouls by A6 and B6. Each head coach is charged with one indirect technical foul. Play resumes with an alternating possession throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (6-3-3f,g; 10-6 pen id)

SITUATION #3: While Al’s try is in flight, A2 and B2 legally obtain potential rebounding positions. B2’s position has his d her back to 2 and is, directly between A2 and the basket. . As the unsuccessful try rebounds from the ring: (a) B2 moves backward and pushes/displaces A2 from his or her legal position;. or (b) A2 beats” B2, getting his or her head and shoulders past the front of B2’s torso. B2 then moves laterally and pushes/displaces A2.
RULING: A foul on B2 in both (a) and (b),. (4-7-1; 4-27; 4-35-1)

SITUATION’ #4: Thrower Al inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. Al immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw in position. The contact with the court was during, a situation: (a) with; Or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team.
RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). (9-2-5)
COMMENT: Whether or not there was .defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court. was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

SITUATION #5: During the dad ball period’ immediately following a goal by Al, Bl is charged’ with an’ unsportsmanlike technical foul for using profanity toward Al. A few seconds later, A2 ‘is charged with an unsportsmanlike technical foul for taunting Bl. Are free throws awarded or are the fouls considered to have occurred simultaneously with ‘offsetting, penalties? “‘ ‘ ‘ ,
RULING: The fouls ‘did not occur simultaneously and free throws are awarded in the order in which the fouls occurred. Team A ‘will attempt their two free throw followed by Team B’s two attempts.. Following the second attempt by Team B, they will have a throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (4-19-8; 8-7)

SITUATION #6: Al is out-of-bounds for a throw- in. Bl reaches through the boundary plane and knock’s the ball out of Al’s hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane
infraction. ‘
RULING: Bl is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and announced to the head coach.
(4-45-1; 9-3-12)

SITUATION #7: Defensive player Bl jumps from his or her frontcourt and while in the air secures control of the ball. Bl’s momentum is such that he or she lands with the first foot clearly in B’s frontcourt. Bl’s other foot then comes down in B’s backcourt after the first foot was’ down in the frontcourt.
RULING: Legal. The exception allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in ‘frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 2)

SITUATION #8: Al is at the free throw linť for an attempt but does not yet have the ball. Bl and B2 are, occupying the first lane spaces as required. Lane spaces 2 and 3 on each side of the lane are vacant..B3 and B4 occupy the fourth lane spaces on each side of the lane. However, Al and A3 then request to occupy lane space.4 on each side of the lane. Should, the administering official’ grant the request even though spaces 2 and 3 are unoccupied and the request was’ made after Team B took the fourth lane spaces?
RULING: The request is honored as Team A is entitled to each other alternate position along each lane line.’The request must be made before the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower (8_lL3b)

SITUATION #9: Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, A1s throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make. a 10-second Call because he or she lost the count.
RULING: The game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official’s accuracy in counting seconds. (2-14).

SITUATION #10: Team B leads by 3 points with 4 seconds, remaining in the fourth quarter. Team A Is td throw-in from a spot out-of-bounds on the end line; Players begin jockeying for positions just after the official has handed the ball to Al. Bl, while trying to deny a pass from Al to A2: (a) grab A2’s arm; or (b) pushes A2 from behind; or (c) runs into a legal screen set by A3.
RULING: In (a) and (b) it is an intentional personal foul designed to keep the clock from starting or to neutralize an opponent’s obvious advantageous position. In (c) running into a screen is a different situation and must be judged on whether Bl made any attempt to minimize the contact once he or she realized the screen was set. (4-19-2,3)

SITUATION #11: Al is at the free throw line for two attempts. Before the first attempt is released, Bl steps into the lane. The administering official’ inadvertently sounds the whistle and Al ‘does not release the ball.
RULING: Play will be resumed by re-administering the first free throw with the official indicating the violation by B1 using the prescribed signal. (9-II0)

SITUATION #12 Al is at the free throw line for two attempts. Bl steps into the lane’ prematurely and the administering official properly signals the violation. Al’s attempt is unsuccessful. Bl is then charged with a technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct. Team A requests a time-out which is granted. How does play resume following the time-out?
RULING: The lane is cleared for Al’s substitute first attempt and for the second attempt. Any Team A player or entering substitute(s) may then attempt the two‘free throws resulting from the technical foul by B1. Following the last free throw, Team A will have a throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (8-1-2)

SITUATION #13: Al is dribbling when he or she is charged with ‘an intentional foul for elbowing BI. Since Al was in control, will Bl be awarded free throws if Team A is in the bonus situation?
RULING: Whether or not Team A is in the bonus is of no consequence in this situation., An intentional foul is always penalized by awarding the offended player two free throws and the ball for a throw-in. (10-6 Pen 4)’

SITUATION #14: Al is fouled and both teams are in the bonus. Erroneously Al is not awarded a free throw(s). Team A is given a throw-in and Al inbounds the ball to A2 who is fouled by Bl. When the official reports the foul at the table, the error of not awarding Al’s free throw(s) is discovered; How is this situation administered?
RULING: The additional activity which occurred prior to the recognition of the error cannot be canceled. The ‘lane: is cleared or Al’s bonus attempt(s) followed by penalizing for Bl’s foul with players occupying lane positions. Play continues as per ‘rule following A2’s attempt(s). (2-10-5, 6)

SITUATION #15: Three of the Team A starters “appear on, the court wearing gloves. The referee rules that gloves may not be worn.
RULING: The referee is correct. Historically the interpretation has been that gloves are not necessary to play the game and will not be allowed. (3-5)

SITUATION #16: Since it is a violation for thrower Al to throw the ball directly into the basket from out-of-bounds, what happens, if Bi touches the throw in pass while the ball is in the cylinder above A’s basket?
RULING: Bl is charged with basket interference and a 2-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at, the disposal of a player of Team B, for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (9-2-7; 9414)

SITUATION #17: Al is preparing to attempt the first of two free throws. Bi, who’ is occupying a marked ‘lane space, fakes as if to enter, the lane, prematurely. Al releases the ball but it does not strike the ring or enter the basket.
RULING: The violation for faking applies only to players along the lane and only if an opponent enters the lane early because’ of the fake. However, in this .situation, the administering official may judge that the fake disconcerted Al. If disconcertion is called, the violation by, Al is disregarded and a substitute throw is awarded. If disconcertion is not, ruled, Al’s violation cancels the first attempt and the second attempt is awarded. (9-l-3,4,Pen. 3)

Last edited by APG; Wed Oct 17, 2012 at 10:20pm. Reason: easier to read/spelling/formatting
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 02:34pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Thanks, Bob.

A little heads up, a few OCR errors I found. 61, 62, 83 or along those lines = B1, B2, etc.

Al = A1
Bi = B1

I am in the process of making these corrections as I have all the interps saved to my computer and I'm placing them in a binder. If you'd like me to post the cleaned up version when I am complete, I will. Thanks again, Bob, for digging up this information!

Last edited by tjones1; Tue Nov 18, 2008 at 02:44pm. Reason: More errors added
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 15,216
Please Give Us A Heads Up ...

I'm sure that I speak for most Forum members when I say that we really appreciate all the hard work that a few of you have put in on this project. I hope that the moderators give us some warning before they delete this "sticky" thread. I plan to save these annual interpretations to a flash drive when the project is complete.

I'm still waiting for Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. to get his papyrus scrolls, with the 1891-92 Interpretations, down from his attic. He can scan them, and post them in this thread.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 12:46pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
I have cleaned up the interps that Bob posted. If you'd like a copy, let me know.


Edit: Ok, I have posted the cleaned up verisons of Bob's research. If you find an error, please let me know and I will correct it.

Thanks again to Bob for finding the information!

Last edited by tjones1; Tue Dec 16, 2008 at 09:46pm.
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
I have cleaned up the interps that Bob posted. If you'd like a copy, let me know.
Why not just post them here, and then I'll delete my previous posts.
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 01:46pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

Revised 1996 Interps

Printing Error:
Rules Book: page 29. 4-19-7a Note — Throw-in from spot nearest foul.

SITUATION #1: Thrower A1 inbounds the ball to A2. A2 immediately throws the ball back to A1. When A1 touches the pass, he or she has: (a) both feet touching inbounds; or (b) one foot touching inbounds and one out-of-bounds; or (c) one foot touching inbounds and the other not touching the floor. RULING: The ball remains live in (a) and (c), but A1 has caused the ball to be out-of-bounds in (b). (4-4-4; 4-34-1,2)

SITUATION #2: A1 and B1 begin fighting and play is stopped. Substitute A6 leaves the bench area and enters the court to observe. B6 also enters the court at the same time, but B6 actually participates in the fight. RULING: A1, B1, A6 and B6 are all disqualified. No free throws result from the double flagrant foul by A1 and B1, or from the simultaneous technical fouls by A6 and B6. Each head coach is charged with one indirect technical foul. Play resumes with an alternating possession throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (6-3-3f,g; 10-6 Pen 1d)

SITUATION #3: While A1’s try is in flight, A2 and B2 legally obtain potential rebounding positions. B2’s position has his/her back to A2 and is, directly between A2 and the basket. As the unsuccessful try rebounds from the ring: (a) B2 moves backward and pushes/displaces A2 from his or her legal position; or (b) A2 “beats” B2, getting his or her head and shoulders past the front of B2’s torso. B2 then moves laterally and pushes/displaces A2. RULING: A foul on B2 in both (a) and (b). (4-7-1; 4-27; 4-35-1)

SITUATION #4: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). (9-2-5) COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

SITUATION #5: During the dead ball period immediately following a goal by A1, B1 is charged with an unsportsmanlike technical foul for using profanity toward A1. A few seconds later, A2 is charged with an unsportsmanlike technical foul for taunting B1. Are free throws awarded or are the fouls considered to have occurred simultaneously with offsetting, penalties? RULING: The fouls did not occur simultaneously and free throws are awarded in the order in which the fouls occurred. Team A will attempt their two free throw followed by Team B’s two attempts. Following the second attempt by Team B, they will have a throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (4-19-8; 8-7)

SITUATION #6: A1 is out-of-bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction. RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and announced to the head coach. (4-45-1; 9-3-12)

SITUATION #7: Defensive player B1 jumps from his or her frontcourt and while in the air secures control of the ball. B1’s momentum is such that he or she lands with the first foot clearly in B’s frontcourt. B1’s other foot then comes down in B’s backcourt after the first foot was down in the frontcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 2)

SITUATION #8: A1 is at the free throw line for an attempt but does not yet have the ball. B1 and B2 are occupying the first lane spaces as required. Lane spaces 2 and 3 on each side of the lane are vacant. B3 and B4 occupy the fourth lane spaces on each side of the lane. However, A1 and A3 then request to occupy lane space 4 on each side of the lane. Should the administering official grant the request even though spaces 2 and 3 are unoccupied and the request was made after Team B took the fourth lane spaces? RULING: The request is honored as Team A is entitled to each other alternate position along each lane line. The request must be made before the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower (8-4-3b)

SITUATION #9: Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, A1’s throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second call because he or she “lost the count.” RULING: The game is over. The clock my not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official’s accuracy in counting seconds. (2-14)

SITUATION #10: Team B leads by 3 points with 4 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Team A has a throw-in from a spot out-of-bounds on the end line; Players begin jockeying for positions just after the official has handed the ball to A1. B1, while trying to deny a pass from A1 to A2: (a) grab A2’s arm; or (b) pushes A2 from behind; or (c) runs into a legal screen set by A3. RULING: In (a) and (b), it is an intentional personal foul designed to keep the clock from starting or to neutralize an opponent’s obvious advantageous position. In (c) running into a screen is a different situation and must be judged on whether B1 made any attempt to minimize the contact once he or she realized the screen was set. (4-19-2,3)

SITUATION #11: A1 is at the free throw line for two attempts. Before the first attempt is released, B1 steps into the lane. The administering official inadvertently sounds the whistle and A1 does not release the ball. RULING: Play will be resumed by re-administering the first free throw with the official indicating the violation by B1 using the prescribed signal. (9-1-10)

SITUATION #12: A1 is at the free throw line for two attempts. B1 steps into the lane prematurely and the administering official properly signals the violation. A1’s attempt is unsuccessful. B1 is then charged with a technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct. Team A requests a time-out which is granted. How does play resume following the time-out? RULING: The lane is cleared for A1’s substitute first attempt and for the second attempt. Any Team A player or entering substitute(s) may then attempt the two free throws resulting from the technical foul by B1. Following the last free throw, Team A will have a throw-in from the division line opposite the table. (8-1-2)

SITUATION #13: A1 is dribbling when he or she is charged with an intentional foul for elbowing B1. Since A1 was in control will B1 be awarded free throws if Team A is in the bonus situation? RULING: Whether or not Team A is in the bonus is of no consequence in this situation. An intentional foul is always penalized by awarding the offended player two free throws and the ball for a throw-in. (10-6 Pen 4)

SITUATION #14: A1 is fouled and both teams are in the bonus. Erroneously A1 is not awarded a free throw(s). Team A is given a throw-in and A1 inbounds the ball to A2 who is fouled by B1. When the official reports the foul at the table, the error of not awarding Al’s free throw(s) is discovered. How is this situation administered? RULING: The additional activity which occurred prior to the recognition of the error cannot be canceled. The lane is cleared for A1’s bonus attempt(s) followed by penalizing for B2’s foul with players occupying lane positions. Play continues as per rule following A2’s attempt(s). (2-10-5, 6)

SITUATION #15: Three of the Team A starters appear on the court wearing gloves. The referee rules that gloves may not be worn. RULING: The referee is correct. Historically the interpretation has been that gloves are not necessary to play the game and will not be allowed. (3-5)

SITUATION #16: Since it is a violation for thrower A1 to throw the ball directly into the basket from out-of-bounds, what happens, if B1 touches the throw in pass while the ball is in the, cylinder above A’s basket? RULING: B1 is charged with basket interference and a 2-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at the disposal of a player of Team B for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (9-2-7; 9-4-14)

SITUATION #17: A1 is preparing to attempt the first of two free throws. B1, who is occupying a marked lane space, fakes as if to enter the lane prematurely. A1 releases the ball but it does not strike the ring or enter the basket. RULING: The violation for faking applies only to players along the lane and only if an opponent enters the lane early because of the fake. However, in this situation, the administering official may judge that the fake disconcerted A1. If disconcertion is called, the violation by, A1 is disregarded and a substitute throw is awarded. If disconcertion is not ruled, A1’s violation cancels the first attempt and the second attempt is awarded. (9-1-3,4, Pen 3)

Last edited by tjones1; Tue Dec 16, 2008 at 09:30pm.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Past and Present Rules Interps (Updated to 2017) Robert E. Harrison Baseball 12 Sun Mar 26, 2017 09:41am
2016-17 NFHS Interpretations Freddy Basketball 14 Thu Oct 20, 2016 07:54pm
2017 NFHS Softball Rule Changes Stat-Man Softball 7 Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:51pm
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out Welpe Baseball 9 Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am
Added another audio pre-game to the archive. ca_rumperee Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2008 07:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1