![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In this case, the made goal by A1 entitles Team B to an endline throw-in, so according 4-36-2b that is our POI. The closest Case Book reference for the POI comes from a play with a double foul, but since 10-6 Penalty Summary 1c tells us that the penalty for that is the same, other than which players are charged with the fouls, this still provides proper guidance. 4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in Team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball; (b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official calls a double personal foul on A5 and B5. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-3b) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Interestingly, though, if it was a false double foul, then FTs are shot (see 4.19.9A -- so if A1 and B1 foul each other, the shot counts and B gets a throw-in (or we go to AP if the shot wasn't successful). If B1 fouls A1 and A1 fouls B2, then the shot doesn't count and we shoot FTs and then B gets a throw-in.) I'm sure that's a distinction that not many coaches (or officials) will understand. |
|
|||
|
So, the fact that there is the double foul negates the infraction by B1 on the shooter? I would have thought that A1 would get 1 shot and then B gets teh end line throw in. Very interesting.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
|
What happens if there were no fouls? That's what (almost always) happens if there is a double foul or a simultaneous foul.
|
|
|||
|
Ok, Right I miss read the OP. For some reason I was thinking there was a double foul called on the players boxing each other out. There by it would have left us with 3 infractions to report. Then I believe we are left with the free throw and B gets a throw in on end line.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I believe that the double foul and the personal foul by B1 still get classified as simultaneous fouls and thus no FTs would be awarded. Resume at the POI -- endline throw-in for Team B. But it would be nice to have a case play from the NFHS on this. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The above situation would not meet this definition. What we have here is a double foul and another foul, which, I would think must be dealt with separately, as suggested by SmokeEater.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What will be even harder to explain to the coach is why A1 is being charged with a foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| simultaneous foul and choice | Robert Goodman | Football | 5 | Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:08am |
| Simultaneous Foul at end of Qtr. | nukewhistle | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:24am |
| Simultaneous Foul? | bigdogrunnin | Basketball | 4 | Fri Nov 17, 2006 03:04pm |
| Simultaneous Foul | rainmaker | Basketball | 11 | Thu Jul 01, 2004 02:21am |
| offensive foul - count the bucket ??? | GA ref | Basketball | 18 | Thu Jun 17, 2004 02:28am |