![]() |
I've seen both rulings on this, but cannot find "The Officail Rule".
A team presses in the backcourt forcing the offense to use 8 seconds of their 10 second limit. The ball is then TIPPED out of bounds by the defense, still in the backcourt. Note they do not gain possession. Does the offense have 2 seconds or a fresh 10 seconds to cross the mid stripe? Like I've said, I have seen both rulings. But logically, it seems counterproductive to reset the clock and penalize the defense for doing a good job. Note: After reviewing other responses I need to differentiate between the SHOT clock (30 seconds) and the TEN SECOND count. Under the 30 second rules, there may be a variance between the two "counts". Any thoughts? Bruce [This message has been edited by jrms44 (edited February 23, 2000).] |
Casebook, 9.8C covers that one. But, pretty standard situation: The count always starts over if the ball goes out-of-bounds or if the team calls a time-out.
|
Again, we assume you mean under NF rules. In the NBA, they would have 2 seconds left.
|
1) 10 second would restart.
2) The 30 sec. shot clock does not reset in your situation since there was no change in possession. |
By definition Team A lost control of the ball when it was blown dead for being out of bounds since there is no team control during a dead ball. And since there is no team control during a throw in A did not establish team control until they inbounded the ball to an A player. Therefore they would get a new 10-second count when they re-establish team control after the throw in.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55am. |