![]() |
What do you think of this ruling?
A1 is fouled by B5 and is erroneously awarded bonus free throws. A1 makes both free throws. Team B then takes the ball inbounds, and on its offensive end, A4 commits Team A's seventh team foul by fouling B2. The officials realize they have erroneously awarded free throws to A1 (a) before the ball is at the disposal of B2 for the front end of the bonus, or (b) after the ball is at the disposal of B2 for the front end of the bonus.
Ruling: In (a), the error is still correctable as it was discovered before the first live ball after time had come off the clock. The foul on A4 and the free throws by A1 should be nullified, and the ball should be put in play at the spot nearest B5's foul. In (b), the ball having been put at the disposal of B2 constitutes the second live ball after time had come off the clock. The error of granting A1 free throws cannot be corrected. A1's free throws count, and play continues with B2 attempting the first free throw. |
Uhhhhg... not a big fan of it, but if that's what they want.
|
Quote:
|
First, Correct The Error ...
2-10-4: If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.
Cancel the unmerited free throws by A1. A4's foul still counts. B2 gets to shoot the free throws. Line players up to rebound B2's free throw. If A4's common foul had been a rebounding foul during A1's unmerited free throw, that foul would have been canceled. |
What case is NevadaRef's play from?
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
This document is an "official publication of the NFHS" and is "published by referee enterprises, inc. in cooperation with the NFHS." The quoted words appear on the front cover of the pamphlet. The play appears in an article on page 11 entitled "Is it Live or Dead? Does it Matter?" No author is credited, so that person is spared the embarrassment. :o I think that it is pretty sad that an incorrect ruling can be given in such a document. Don't they have anyone check this stuff before distributing it across the country? :( Unfortunately, I believe that this drop in quality is a direct consequence of the NFHS partnering with and turning over publication of a good deal of its material to the same people who produce Referee Magazine, which is also known to contain numerous mistakes of this kind. :( |
Quote:
4-20-2 |
The rules committee itself (or what appears to be the rules committee) has certainly made some "interesting" rulings in the last couple of years. Perhaps it has as much to do with the current makeup of the committee? But where is Ms. Struckhoff in all this? I would expect her to be the balance to the force among all those coach and administrator types. :(
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It's Called Proofreading, It's Not A New Concept ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
I suggest that you choose your words better in the future. These are your words, not mine or Billy's:
Quote:
|
A careful reading would have understood that "in order to be "during the free throw", the [rebounding] foul would have to occur between...", since that was the explicit situation that I was responding to. :p
(I can keep this up for days. :D And it doesn't even count as hijacking!) |
You Get Up In The Morning, And Learn Something New Every Day ...
Quote:
Wow. I never thought about that before. You're literally taking the definition of a free throw (The free throw starts when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. The free throw ends when the try is successful, when it is certain the try will not be successful, when the try touches the floor or any player, or when the ball becomes dead) and using it to determine what "activity" should be canceled. I can't argue with your logic, but I will question the intent and purpose of the correctable error. A foul by a rebounder should not have happened if the unmerited free throw had never occurred. That's why, for the past twenty-seven years, I would have canceled the common foul by the rebounder, that is, until your post today. I'm with you 95% on this. Are you sure? Do you have any other citations, especially any casebook plays, that would confirm what your saying here? |
I don't know scrappy, "rebounding" fouls sometimes occur before the try is in flight. B2 sees A1 is about to shoot and begins boxing out on A2. Or A2 pushes B2 in anticipation of a rebound.
The difference would be whether A2's foul is a team control foul or not. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Combine hand jiving with dramatic, ready-for-action poses, and it can mean only one thing. ;) |
Quote:
You forgot to add: "Ball ball ball ball ball ball ball ball!" But that would have made it obvious. ;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19am. |