The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2002, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
B can get the TO if called before at A's disposal. On an administered throw-in, the concept is quite clear. When A gets ball from ref, ball is at disposal, count starts, B can't get a TO, etc.

I think that most refs look at the time where A is just getting the ball but cannot throw it in yet as a gray area, where they are inclined to grant a coach a timeout. Similarly, refs usually start the count when the player steps out with the ball and face the court, rather than when they first touch it. It is a matter of 1-2 seconds, but in my experience this is how refs handle throw-ins after a made basket. And if you haven't started your count (or normally would not have started your count), then you are treating B the same as you are treating A by granting the TO. Just my opinion, but backed up by many observations

I would also add that counts are not generally started until a player is ready to throw in unless the player seems to take excessive time. This observation is confined to the normal made basket, retrieve ball, step out, turn, and throw.

[Edited by Hawks Coach on May 15th, 2002 at 12:39 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1