The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   POI for Ch1town (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49195-poi-ch1town.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:27pm

POI for Ch1town
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Appreciate that kind sir! Gotta get my verbage up to par.
Double fouls go to POI, when no team control POI is the AP arrow, correct?

Seemed like this was different enough to get its own thread, rather than continuing in that one.

The rule to read is 4-36. There are actually lots of times when there is no team control, but we would not go to the arrow.

For example, A1 is holding the ball for a throw-in and B2 and A2 foul each other. Double foul, no team control. But the POI is the throw-in that we just, well, interrupted.

A1 releases a try. A2 and B2 foul each other. Ball enters basket. Double foul, no team control. But because the goal was successful, we know who would have the ball if there had been no double foul. So the POI is a throw-in for Team B anywhere along the endline.

Read up on 4-36 and you'll get it. Hope that helps.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:34pm

So, A1 releases a try. A2 and B2 foul each other. Ball does not enters basket. Arrow?

In the sitch Snaq laid out we go POI which was incorrect to Team B but we can correct it & give to Team A because throw-in has not ended?

Like I said in the previous thread... appreciate it!

Back In The Saddle Wed Oct 01, 2008 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540578)
So, A1 releases a try. A2 and B2 foul each other. Ball does not enters basket. Arrow?

In the sitch Snaq laid out we go POI which was incorrect to Team B but we can correct it & give to Team A because throw-in has not ended?

Like I said in the previous thread... appreciate it!

That is correct. On a missed try, no team is in control (scratch sub-section a), there was no free throw or throw-in during the activity nor is either team entitled to one (scratch sub-section b), so we're left with sub-section c, the AP.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 02, 2008 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540578)
In the sitch Snaq laid out we go POI which was incorrect to Team B but we can correct it & give to Team A because throw-in has not ended?

Has anybody answer this for you yet? I can't remember the scenario now. . . :confused:

sseltser Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:18am

A related question:

A1 releases the ball on a throwin. Before it is controlled by either team, A2 and B2 foul each other. What happens now? Does it matter if the ball has been touched in bounds?

Ch1town Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser (Post 540718)
A related question:

A1 releases the ball on a throwin. Before it is controlled by either team, A2 and B2 foul each other. What happens now? Does it matter if the ball has been touched in bounds?

I'm thinking the throw-in hasn't ended yet. Double fouls always go to POI which was the Team A throw-in.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser (Post 540718)
Does it matter if the ball has been touched in bounds?

Yes it does. It also matters if it's NCAA or NFHS.

Back In The Saddle Thu Oct 02, 2008 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540722)
Yes it does. It also matters if it's NCAA or NFHS.

So...

In NFHS, if the throw-in is touched legally, it has ended. If it's not controlled then POI is ... the arrow, since no team is entitled to a throw-in.

In NCAA, the throwing team is in control. So as long as the defense hasn't gained control, it goes back to the throwing team.

Is that about right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1