The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Becoming an official (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49024-becoming-official.html)

Slazenger3 Fri Sep 19, 2008 01:06pm

Becoming an official

Hey,

I am a college student from kansas and I am wanting to officiate some junior high or JV basketball games this coming season. I also have 2 friends that would like to do the same. I know that I should call locale athletic directors but my question is that is it normal to have officiating partners? When I call the athletic director is it ok ask if I could be scheduled with my other 2 officiating friends?

Thanks!

doubleringer Fri Sep 19, 2008 01:22pm

It depends on where you are. Have you contacted the state and gotten licensed? After that check to see if there are any official associations in your area. You may want to find some veteran officials to work in your area that will be willing to take you under their wing and help you learn. Working with friends is always fun, but if you are all brand new, who will let you know what you're doing right and what you need to do to improve? Just a thought.

Since you are a college student, you may want to check with whomever is in charge of the intramural leagues at your college. They are ususally plugged into the local officiating community.

Mark Padgett Fri Sep 19, 2008 01:25pm

Since it is easy to infer from your post that you have not officiated previously, you're getting kind of a late start for this upcoming season, but don't let that stop you from inquiring. I think you'll find it's doubtful you will be scheduled at first with other totally inexperienced officials, but as you get more experience, that might change.

I wish you and your friends the best in your endeavor.

JRutledge Fri Sep 19, 2008 01:32pm

He would be right on time for this coming season in my state.