The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out of Bounds handoff (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4899-out-bounds-handoff.html)

force39 Fri May 10, 2002 01:54am

On an inbounds play after I administer the throw-in to A1 can A2 come oob and take the ball from A1 and throw it in?

Jurassic Referee Fri May 10, 2002 03:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by force39
On an inbounds play after I administer the throw-in to A1 can A2 come oob and take the ball from A1 and throw it in?
It is a violation on A2 under R-9-2-12.If you administer the throw-in,it has to be a designated-spot throw-in.

mick Fri May 10, 2002 07:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by force39
On an inbounds play after I administer the throw-in to A1 can A2 come oob and take the ball from A1 and throw it in?
It is a violation on A2 under R-9-2-12.<u> If you administer the throw-in,it has to be a designated-spot throw-in.</u>

JR,
You may want to re-think or rewrite that statement.
mick

Stan Fri May 10, 2002 07:50am

I agree that it is a violation, what's the violation and signal?

Hoosier Fri May 10, 2002 07:53am

It depends, is it a spot throw-in? If so, then no. Whoever takes the ball once it is placed at the thrower's disposal must throw it in. If it is not a spot throw in, which you will probably be administering on a time-out after a made basket, then, since they still have the baseline to run they can also pass it to someone OOB or hand it off.

When I saw the subject of the post, it also reminded me that the person throwing in cannot hand it off to a team mate inbounds either because the rule states that the ball must be thrown directly into the court.

There is not signal, just blow the whistle and state there is a violation. Just like if the thrower moves beyond his/her allocated three feet, you don't have a travel violation out of bounds, its just a violation and the ball is awarded to the other team.

[Edited by Hoosier on May 10th, 2002 at 07:55 AM]

mick Fri May 10, 2002 07:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
I agree that it is a violation, what's the violation and signal?

Two finger point at the spot of violation.
Wave the line/plane.
Four finger point direction for other team.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri May 10, 2002 08:07am

It is a violation 0NLY if the throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. If there is a time out immediately after a team scores the ensuing throw-in is administered by the covering officical but is not a designated throw-in. After the ball is handed or bounced to A1 by the official, A2 could step out-of-bounds and A1 could then hand the ball to A2 and that would be legal.

Jurassic Referee Fri May 10, 2002 08:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by force39
On an inbounds play after I administer the throw-in to A1 can A2 come oob and take the ball from A1 and throw it in?
It is a violation on A2 under R-9-2-12.<u> If you administer the throw-in,it has to be a designated-spot throw-in.</u>

JR,
You may want to re-think or rewrite that statement.
mick

I re-thunk it.Whoops!MTD Sr and Hoosier have better explanations.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1