The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slapping the Backboard: POE (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/48907-slapping-backboard-poe.html)

Spence Mon Sep 15, 2008 08:35pm

Slapping the Backboard: POE
 
I read on the NFHS website that a point of emphasis this year is slapping the backboard but it didn't say what the emphasis was. I'm not an official and I don't have the 08/09 rulebook yet.

Is there something new?

jdmara Mon Sep 15, 2008 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence
I read on the NFHS website that a point of emphasis this year is slapping the backboard but it didn't say what the emphasis was. I'm not an official and I don't have the 08/09 rulebook yet.

Is there something new?

Directly from the NFHS website (http://www.nfhs.org/core/contentmana...mments_POE.pdf)

SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).

-Josh

BktBallRef Mon Sep 15, 2008 09:07pm

What a revelation!! Other than telling us that the number of incidents is increasing, all they did was quote the rule and case books. WHy even bother?

Spence Mon Sep 15, 2008 09:13pm

When there is a POE is it simply to re-emphasize the existing rule or is there sometimes a wording change?

Adam Mon Sep 15, 2008 09:34pm

A POE is issued to simply re-emphasize a rule the committee feels isn't being enforced enough.

BillyMac Mon Sep 15, 2008 09:38pm

Who You Gonna Call ? Mythbusters ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence
I read on the NFHS website that a point of emphasis this year is slapping the backboard but it didn't say what the emphasis was.

Good time to destroy another myth:

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

Back In The Saddle Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
A POE is issued to simply re-emphasize a rule the committee feels isn't being enforced enough.

They've done little more than waste their breath. What exactly is it that the committee wants? Are we not calling enough of these? Are we calling too many? Are we misapplying the rule in some way? What is their point?

'Cuz I find exactly NO guidance in this POE to help me improve my understanding or calling of this pernicious and pervasive offense.

Back In The Saddle Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence
When there is a POE is it simply to re-emphasize the existing rule or is there sometimes a wording change?

A POE is meant to emphasize an existing rule. They will sometimes elaborate on the intent of the rule. They will sometimes enumerate specific instances they want to see called more consistently. They will sometimes use different words. But the intent is always to emphasize the existing rule.

The committee never, ever, under any circumstances changes a rule in a POE. Except when occasionally they do ;)

wanja Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:33pm

It's a useful point of emphasis because so many coaches and officials get it wrong. I spoke to a d1 official who took the position (until referred to the rule book) that under NFHS rules, a defensive player slapping the backboard on the side opposite from a shot is basket interference. A high school coach insisted that slapping the backboard must always be a technical foul. His point of reference was a state playoff game ruling and discussion. I wish these were isolated cases, but in my discussions with fellow officials and coaches they are not.

Nevadaref Mon Sep 15, 2008 11:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara
Directly from the NFHS website (http://www.nfhs.org/core/contentmana...mments_POE.pdf)

SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).

-Josh

I have a copy of the new rules book and that is the exact wording given in the POE on page 69.
Additionally, the text of the actual rule (10-3-4b) has not changed for this coming season.

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 16, 2008 07:49am

I've seen the NFHS powerpoint on the new rules and POEs. And one of the slides shows a player hitting the backboard on the opposite side from where the shot was taken. When there is obviously no play on the ball, I guess they feel that we aren't calling it enough.

jritchie Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:45am

If the ball is in or above the cylinder when the backboard is slapped and it causes it to shake out, couldn't that be called basket interference?
"Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6)."

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
If the ball is in or above the cylinder when the backboard is slapped and it causes it to shake out, couldn't that be called basket interference?

In a word, no.

The answer is in the very definition you quoted:

Quote:

"Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6)."
The only way to have BI is to touch the ball or the basket in certain situations. The backboard is neither the ball nor the basket. Therefore, it's never BI.

jdmara Tue Sep 16, 2008 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
In a word, no.

The answer is in the very definition you quoted:


The only way to have BI is to touch the ball or the basket in certain situations. The backboard is neither the ball nor the basket. Therefore, it's never BI.

Agreed, impossible to have BI when someone slaps the backboard

-Josh

Raymond Tue Sep 16, 2008 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
If the ball is in or above the cylinder when the backboard is slapped and it causes it to shake out, couldn't that be called basket interference?
"Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6)."

You can't ignore this wording:

The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations.

Adam Tue Sep 16, 2008 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja
A high school coach insisted that slapping the backboard must always be a technical foul. His point of reference was a state playoff game ruling and discussion. I wish these were isolated cases, but in my discussions with fellow officials and coaches they are not.

I had this same thing in a varsity hs game. Coach insisted on, even signaled for, a technical foul when his player scored on a fast break and the defense tried to block the layup and ended up slapping the backboard. Purely legitimate attempt to block the shot; same side of the backboard and everything.

Short discussion, he took his timeout (he did signal for one, after all), and we played on.

vbzebra Tue Sep 16, 2008 09:39am

Since I have always been told "the only stupid question is the one that doesn't get asked" :D , here is my "question"......

Not even sure if it matters, but on a "slapping the backboard" play that warrants a "T", who's call is it (2 man crew)? Does it matter?

I would think (notice, I didn't say assume, b/c we all know what happens when we do THAT!) that its the trail's call, since he is supposed to be watching the shot, and the lead is watching stuff underneath the hoop, right? But i guess if genius launches himself up and does a "look at my slapping ability" on the backboard that warrants a T, would it matter who calls it?

I'm probably overthinking this, but I was just curious.......:D

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 16, 2008 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by vbzebra
its the trail's call, since he is supposed to be watching the shot, and the lead is watching stuff underneath the hoop, right? But i guess if genius launches himself up and does a "look at my slapping ability" on the backboard that warrants a T, would it matter who calls it?

I would agree with this completely. Primarily the T, but it doesn't matter all that much if the L grabs an obvious one.

Smitty Tue Sep 16, 2008 09:53am

I agree with everyone who is scratching their head as to why that's a POE the way it's written. Perhaps they wanted to just emphasize that it's not basket interference?

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:07am

I guess I may be oversimplifying it, but if it's a POE, it's because we're not doing a good job of calling it. So call it!

jdmara Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:11am

I believe the POE is being made to draw to the attention of younger officials what is illegal and what is not warranted by the rules. I've seen discussions at camps and calls during those camps in which official's call basketball interference or nothing at all. I think it's a good POE to have every so often because it is a widely misunderstood rule for coaches and players.

Just my $.02

-Josh

Ch1town Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:30am

If the FEDs want to clear up any misconceptions coaches/players may have about GT/BI/T for slpping the backboard, do they really think a POE in the rulebook (of all places) is the best way to go about it?
Ha :D

I think not, POEs are for officials & a few knowledgeable coaches/players.

JRutledge Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja
It's a useful point of emphasis because so many coaches and officials get it wrong. I spoke to a d1 official who took the position (until referred to the rule book) that under NFHS rules, a defensive player slapping the backboard on the side opposite from a shot is basket interference. A high school coach insisted that slapping the backboard must always be a technical foul. His point of reference was a state playoff game ruling and discussion. I wish these were isolated cases, but in my discussions with fellow officials and coaches they are not.

I do not think I have ever seen anyone screw this rule up at the high school level during a regular game. I can see why it is a POE because coaches yell for this to be a violation often. Then again this is not a very common occurrence either because a lot of players are not playing that high on the rim.

Peace

jritchie Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:30am

Warranted T or not?????
Just before the Toss to start the game, Player A gets back on defense by the basket, I guess to show he can touch the backboard, he is only 5"9", he jumps up with both hands and slaps the backboard, i guess to let everyone know he is hyped and ready to play! I have witnessed him do this several times,not as an official though, and have talked to him about it a couple of times, but yet no one has T'd him for it! Should something like this be T'd and then start the game with free throws, etc???? Just thought I would throw in a good example of "drawing attention to oneself".

vbzebra Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Warranted T or not?????
Just before the Toss to start the game, Player A gets back on defense by the basket, I guess to show he can touch the backboard, he is only 5"9", he jumps up with both hands and slaps the backboard, i guess to let everyone know he is hyped and ready to play! I have witnessed him do this several times,not as an official though, and have talked to him about it a couple of times, but yet no one has T'd him for it! Should something like this be T'd and then start the game with free throws, etc???? Just thought I would throw in a good example of "drawing attention to oneself".

I would say yes, "T" him up.

eyezen Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
<snip>I do not think I have ever seen anyone screw this rule up at the high school level during a regular game. I can see why it is a POE because coaches yell for this to be a violation often.</snip>

Peace

I haven't been at this long enough to know the hows or whys the ways the FED works but to further what JRut said above maybe it's not a POE for officials, but rather coaches instead. I don't know how other states approach this, but coaches and officials attend the same state rules meetings in Missouri.

grunewar Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen
I don't know how other states approach this, but coaches and officials attend the same state rules meetings in Missouri.

As they do here in VA too.

JRutledge Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen
I haven't been at this long enough to know the hows or whys the ways the FED works but to further what JRut said above maybe it's not a POE for officials, but rather coaches instead. I don't know how other states approach this, but coaches and officials attend the same state rules meetings in Missouri.

Now it looks like most of the meetings will be online so this might not be as significant.

Coaches only attend if they were representing their school. It was not a requirement in my state that all coaches must attend like the officials. Usually the schools would send the lower level coach and the head varsity coach would not know the actual new rules or POEs when they were called or enforced early in the season.

Peace

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Just before the Toss to start the game, Player A gets back on defense by the basket, I guess to show he can touch the backboard, he is only 5"9", he jumps up with both hands and slaps the backboard, i guess to let everyone know he is hyped and ready to play!

I guess I'd have to see it. If it's just part of a pre-game ritual to jump and touch the backboard, then I'd probably let it go. If it's really a good "whack" to draw attention, then I might consider the T.

jdmara Tue Sep 16, 2008 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
If the FEDs want to clear up any misconceptions coaches/players may have about GT/BI/T for slpping the backboard, do they really think a POE in the rulebook (of all places) is the best way to go about it?
Ha :D

I think not, POEs are for officials & a few knowledgeable coaches/players.

Players eventually become officials. My point is that if it's specifically addressed with officials there is less chance of misconceptions of the rules.

-Josh

BktBallRef Tue Sep 16, 2008 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
Good time to destroy another myth:

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

Wow! Great copy and paste. Do you work for the NFHS, writing POEs? :cool:

BktBallRef Tue Sep 16, 2008 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I've seen the NFHS powerpoint on the new rules and POEs. And one of the slides shows a player hitting the backboard on the opposite side from where the shot was taken. When there is obviously no play on the ball, I guess they feel that we aren't calling it enough.

Called it twice in one game last December. I guess the NF guys don't get down home too often.

BillyMac Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:01pm

Pregame ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I guess I'd have to see it. If it's just part of a pre-game ritual to jump and touch the backboard, then I'd probably let it go. If it's really a good "whack" to draw attention, then I might consider the T.

10-3-5 Player Technical Foul:
b.) While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the rim to vibrate.

I hope that you wouldn't consider it a technical foul under 10-3-5, because I doubt that the try or tap was in flight pregame. Maybe you could charge him with a technical foul for some other rule involving unsporting conduct, but I can't think of one right now.

LDUB Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
Maybe you could charge him with a technical foul for some other rule involving unsporting conduct, but I can't think of one right now.

Gosh, if only there were a discussion about about slapping the backboard and if it is a technical foul, then we would know the answer. Maybe the NF will even make it a POE so it will be clear in everyone's minds...:rolleyes:

BillyMac Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:10pm

Who You Gonna Call ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Do you work for the NFHS ?

No, I'm just your friendly neighborhood basketball rule mythbuster.

http://re3.yt-thm-a01.yimg.com/image/25/m4/2819711891

BillyMac Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:16pm

There Are A Lot Of T's In Rule 10 ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB
Gosh, if only there were a discussion about about slapping the backboard and if it is a technical foul, then we would know the answer. Maybe the NF will even make it a POE so it will be clear in everyone's minds.

10-3-5 (slapping the backboard) wouldn't cover a pregame slap, while the referee is holding the ball preparing to toss. 10-3-5 only involves a slap during a tap, or try. 10-3-5 wouldn't even cover a slap during the game, if it wasn't during a tap, or try.

Maybe some other rule would kick in during these two instances, but not 10-3-5.

LDUB Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
10-3-6 (slapping the backboard) wouldn't cover a pregame slap, while the referee is holding the ball preparing to toss. 10-3-6 only involves a slap during a tap, or try. 10-3-6 wouldn't even cover a slap during the game, if it wasn't during a tap, or try.

Maybe some other rule would kick in during these two instances, but not 10-3-6.

I thought that the POE wants slapping the backboard to be ruled a technical foul as it does not mention anything about tries. It would be nice if this was clarified.

BillyMac Tue Sep 16, 2008 08:41pm

Rule, Case Book Interpretation, Point Of Emphasis ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB
I thought that the POE wants slapping the backboard to be ruled a technical foul as it does not mention anything about tries. It would be nice if this was clarified.

I'm not certain, but I think that the actual written rule, and possibly a casebook play interpretation, may "trump" a Point of Emphasis?

RULE 10 FOULS
SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
ART.5...
b.) While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the rim to vibrate.

10.3.5 Situation: A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket.
Ruling: In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket.
Comment: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-7.

2008-09 POINTS OF EMPHASIS
4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).

There may be another unsporting rule that you can use to penalize a player slapping the backboard if there is no tap, or try, but I don't know of any such rule at this time. You are right. The Point of Emphasis does not mention a tap, or try, other than citing a rule, 10-3-5, that does.

Jurassic Referee Wed Sep 17, 2008 06:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac

There may be another unsporting rule that you can use to penalize a player slapping the backboard if there is no tap, or try, but I don't know of any such rule at this time.

Use rule 10-3-7 if you think the act is unsporting. Otherwise, ignore it.

BktBallRef Wed Sep 17, 2008 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 537399)
Players eventually become officials.

That has nothing to do with why POEs are written.

BktBallRef Wed Sep 17, 2008 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 537492)
10-3-5 (slapping the backboard) wouldn't cover a pregame slap, while the referee is holding the ball preparing to toss. 10-3-5 only involves a slap during a tap, or try. 10-3-5 wouldn't even cover a slap during the game, if it wasn't during a tap, or try.

Maybe some other rule would kick in during these two instances, but not 10-3-5.

You should read what you copy and paste.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 537492)
A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-7.


BillyMac Wed Sep 17, 2008 09:47am

Welcome To The Mythbusters ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 537564)
You should read what you copy and paste.

Nice catch BktBallRef. That omission existed for three and one-half years until you picked it up.

MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES

3) The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

Thanks for being the latest contributer to the list of the Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules. You are now, officially, a Basketball Rule Mythbuster. I'll send you your identification card and decoder ring as soon as possible.

http://re3.yt-thm-a01.yimg.com/image/25/m4/2819711891

Thanks to the following Official Forum Basketball web site members for their contributions in developing this list: bossref, Hartsy, Jurassic Referee, Camron Rust, Mark Padgett, Nevadaref, Mark Dexter, Dan ref, mdray, Jimgolf, elecref, Assignmentmaker, IREFU2, David M, JeffW, Back In The Saddle, rainmaker, texaspaul, and BktBallRef.

IREFU2 Wed Sep 17, 2008 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 537193)
A POE is meant to emphasize an existing rule. They will sometimes elaborate on the intent of the rule. They will sometimes enumerate specific instances they want to see called more consistently. They will sometimes use different words. But the intent is always to emphasize the existing rule.

The committee never, ever, under any circumstances changes a rule in a POE. Except when occasionally they do ;)

It really doesnt matter if its not enforced!!!!!!

Tio Wed Sep 17, 2008 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 537169)
Good time to destroy another myth:

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

I agree that many officials falsely believe they can enforce goaltending on this play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1