The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Play from last night (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4827-play-last-night.html)

ripian Fri May 03, 2002 09:53am

I was in the stands waiting to work my game and saw this play.

This was in a U15 boys game. Black just scored on Red. Black player takes the ball out and inbounds a long (and pretty good) pass 3/4 length of the court to his team mate who scores an uncontested layup on his own basket. The next thing was the ball goes out of bounds for the Black team throw in under there basket but because all the players are confused now no one throws the ball in and black gets called for a 5 second violation.

Fortunatly I had a chance to talk to the crew before my game and they came to this conclusion...

They should of stopped the black team throw in that they were not entitled to in the first place and restarted with the red throw in.

mick Fri May 03, 2002 09:59am

Ah, yes. I remember not being able to blow my whistle, while I was choking....

Brian Watson Fri May 03, 2002 10:37am

Doh!

JAdams Fri May 03, 2002 10:37am

No violation on Black
 
Would think that you can't possibly cite Black for violating the five second throw-in time. I wasn't their ball to create the violation.

Marty Rogers Fri May 03, 2002 10:56am

It WAS Black's ball for the throw-in.
They had just scored for the Red team,
so it's Black's ball on the endline.

Since the refs didn't catch the improper
throw-in right away, they did the right
thing by letting things happen. After all,
Black was dumb enough to score for the
Red team, so they got what they deserved.

If this was AAU, I can just imagine all the
SCREAMING coaches and parents.

Hawks Coach Fri May 03, 2002 11:26am

With it all happening so quickly, at what point have you lost the opportunity to blow this play dead for the illegal throw in? By the time the player catches the 3/4 court pass, at the moment Black scores for Red, after they scored, etc.?

I would see a delay of game warning to Black and an inbound to Red on this play, and play from the point of Black scoring the initial basket in their opponent's basket (since you are Canadian, I am assuming FIBA terminology in this case applies - see other thread :) ).

BktBallRef Fri May 03, 2002 11:37am

NF has a casebook play that covers the sitch. I don't know about FIBA.

Mark Padgett Fri May 03, 2002 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ripian
I was in the stands waiting to work my game and saw this play.

This was in a U15 boys game. Black just scored on Red. Black player takes the ball out and inbounds a long (and pretty good) pass 3/4 length of the court to his team mate who scores an uncontested layup on his own basket. The next thing was the ball goes out of bounds for the Black team throw in under there basket but because all the players are confused now no one throws the ball in and black gets called for a 5 second violation.

Fortunatly I had a chance to talk to the crew before my game and they came to this conclusion...

They should of stopped the black team throw in that they were not entitled to in the first place and restarted with the red throw in.

Can you tell us what rules you use? Since you said that after black scored, they went to the other end of the court and scored into their own basket, the inference would be FEEBLE (sorry, can't bring myself to stop that). In NF, teams score into their own basket and defend their opponents basket.

Under NF rules, there are different things that could have been done, even with the refs screwing up. Black could have received a delay warning for preventing red from being able to promptly put the ball in play following the original score, for one.

What was the red coach doing during all of this. If it was a typical game here, he would have been screaming the whole time. Or, perhaps, taking a nap. ;)

Hawks Coach Fri May 03, 2002 01:16pm

Red coach probably wanted a three seconds call on Black prior to Black scoring for Red, because the Black player had been in the lane the entire time the ball was at the other end of the court.

Hoosier Fri May 03, 2002 01:36pm

Or he wanted an "over and back" because they threw it into their backcourt on an inbound play.

Mark Padgett Fri May 03, 2002 01:52pm

I've got a "reach". :p

Hoosier Fri May 03, 2002 02:03pm

It's just a good thing there wasn't an intentional foul on the shooter making a successful three point shot at the wrong basket.

Hawks Coach Fri May 03, 2002 02:20pm

I remain amazed, really, that two 15 year olds could manage to combine their efforts so effectively to make this mistake. One person scoring in wrong basket, seen it, especially right after halftime, although it should be rare enough at this age. One person inbounding while another breaks down court for the open lay-up, after their own team scored at the other end of the court, that's something I haven't seen beyond 3rd grade rec (and they would miss the layup anyway!).

Bart Tyson Fri May 03, 2002 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ripian
I was in the stands waiting to work my game and saw this play.

This was in a U15 boys game. Black just scored on Red. Black player takes the ball out and inbounds a long (and pretty good) pass 3/4 length of the court to his team mate who scores an uncontested layup on his own basket. The next thing was the ball goes out of bounds for the Black team throw in under there basket but because all the players are confused now no one throws the ball in and black gets called for a 5 second violation.


OK, I read this different than the rest of you."Black just scored on Red.". So black scored in their own basket. Now, "Black player takes the ball out and inbounds a long (and pretty good) pass 3/4 length of the court to his team mate who scores an uncontested layup on his own basket.". This again says Black's "OWN BASKET". So the teammate drives back to his own basket and score again, i.e. 3/4 length back to his own basket. Now, if we continue to play then Red should have the throwin. "The next thing was the ball goes out of bounds for the Black team throw in under there basket but because all the players are confused now no one throws the ball in and black gets called for a 5 second violation.". Again, rapian, is saying the ball is at Black's end of the court. So, the teammate had to come back 3/4 length to score. So, JAdams is correct on not being able "cite" black for a 5sec. throwin violation.


Hawks Coach Fri May 03, 2002 02:58pm

Bart
Please note that ripian is from Canada, own basket in FIBA is the one you defend (rather than the one into which you should be scoring!). changes the interp of this sitch a bit I think, in that Black socred in Red's basket first (as it should in FIBA) then into its own (for REd).

devdog69 Fri May 03, 2002 03:01pm

C'mon Bart, :')

I saw that too, I was pretty sure from reading it though that he meant "in the wrong basket" not "in their own basket".

Hawks Coach Fri May 03, 2002 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
I saw that too, I was pretty sure from reading it though that he meant "in the wrong basket" not "in their own basket".
Being from a country that uses a different set of rules and references regarding baskets, I believe ripian meant exactly what he said and we read it from an NF/NCAA rules perspective.

Jurassic Referee Fri May 03, 2002 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Bart
Please note that ripian is from Canada, own basket in FIBA is the one you defend (rather than the one into which you should be scoring!). changes the interp of this sitch a bit I think, in that Black socred in Red's basket first (as it should in FIBA) then into its own (for REd).

Canada uses NCAA rules,except for Ontario,which uses NFHS.Universities use modified NCAA rules.

Bart Tyson Fri May 03, 2002 03:09pm

I guess it does change things a bit. They should stick to Hockey. I had to read it 10 times to decipher what he was saying.

Hawks Coach Fri May 03, 2002 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Bart
Please note that ripian is from Canada, own basket in FIBA is the one you defend (rather than the one into which you should be scoring!). changes the interp of this sitch a bit I think, in that Black socred in Red's basket first (as it should in FIBA) then into its own (for REd).

Canada uses NCAA rules,except for Ontario,which uses NFHS.Universities use modified NCAA rules.

Thanks - I thought everyone was FIBA but us (or should I say US!). BTW - what are modified NCAA rules?

Bart Tyson Fri May 03, 2002 03:13pm

now that i read what Jurassic said, I am still confuessed. Mark, I think we need more info to decipher what happened.

Bart Tyson Fri May 03, 2002 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
C'mon Bart, :')

I saw that too, I was pretty sure from reading it though that he meant "in the wrong basket" not "in their own basket".

devdog69, i'm not convinced, after he says own basket, he again says the ball is oob under blacks basket. You may be correct, but i still think we need more info.

Jurassic Referee Fri May 03, 2002 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
[/B]
Thanks - I thought everyone was FIBA but us (or should I say US!). BTW - what are modified NCAA rules? [/B][/QUOTE]I believe Canada,except for Ontario,changed to NCAA rules from FIBA rules just this past year.Ontario has always used Fed rules.I'm not sure exactly what modifications the universities use,but I think that they are minor.They basically use NCAA mens rules.I don't have a clue what women's university ball uses.

Jurassic Referee Fri May 03, 2002 05:09pm

The play,as I read it,goes like this:
-A1 scores a legal basket
-A then gets the ball before B can get it,takes it OOB under the A basket,and throws a long pass into A's backcourt.
-an A player catches the pass and scores in B's basket
-the ball then just lays there,and the officials call a 5-second throw-in violation on A.
Using NCAA rules,can the officials correct anything?Can they bring the ball back for a B throw-in,and cancel the basket A made for B and the subsequent violation by A.Does A get a T if they do,for delay of game?Is Pebbles really the illegitimate daughter of Wilma and Barney?

Inquiring minds need to know all of the answers to the above!!

Don't ask me.I'm only doing nostalgia until next season opens!

Nyuk,Nyuk,Nyuk!

I'm going for a nap now!

Mark Padgett Fri May 03, 2002 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Is Pebbles really the illegitimate daughter of Wilma and Barney?
Believe it or not, there is a prominent guy in my town who named his son BamBam. I kid you not.

The boy is now about 15 and plays HS football. Every time he makes a tackle, the crowd yells, "Pebbles". Er, I mean, "BamBam".

Must be time for my nap, too. :p

ripian Sun May 05, 2002 10:29pm

Rules we use...
 
Yes, some provinces in Canada use FIBA rules but in Alberta we use a modified NCAA Men's rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1