The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   USA v China (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/47077-usa-v-china.html)

Scrapper1 Sun Aug 10, 2008 09:08am

USA v China
 
Starts in 5 minutes. Anybody gonna watch? Anybody setting up a chat room?

JugglingReferee Sun Aug 10, 2008 09:49am

I'm watching but I have to leave for a social engagement just after 11, so I'll miss some of it.

Was 29 - 29 just a minute ago.

ChrisSportsFan Sun Aug 10, 2008 09:54am

It's turned into a one sided dunk-a-thon.

grunewar Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:02am

Hahaha!
 
3.7 sec left in the first half. USA inbounds the ball looking for the last shot. Ball gets to Kobe w/ 1.3 secs left. TWEEEET! Travel violation. No Dorothy, we're not in Kansas anymore! ;)

irp Sun Aug 10, 2008 11:31am

USA by 30+

Shaky start but easy overall.

JS 20 Sun Aug 10, 2008 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar
3.7 sec left in the first half. USA inbounds the ball looking for the last shot. Ball gets to Kobe w/ 1.3 secs left. TWEEEET! Travel violation. No Dorothy, we're not in Kansas anymore! ;)

I rewound that and watched it in slo-mo and he actually didn't travel. On top of that, I can't believe the lead came out and called that one!!

Mark Padgett Sun Aug 10, 2008 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS 20
I rewound that and watched it in slo-mo and he actually didn't travel.

Actually, it was a "make-up call" for his entire career. :rolleyes:

btaylor64 Sun Aug 10, 2008 06:50pm

I was gonna say that I bet kobe didn't travel as soon as I read grunewar's post but read further and saw where someone replayed it and he didn't travel. Travels are something you don't want to miss by blowing the whistle and being wrong. I know in my early days and even some now I do that and I get so mad with myself.

Mark Padgett Sun Aug 10, 2008 07:09pm

There was also one play in which the ball was heading OOB in the air at the end line and was last touched by a USA player but before it hit anything OOB, a Chinese player who was standing OOB touched it. The official gave the ball to China for the throw-in. Is this some different FEEBLE rule? Just wondering.

grunewar Sun Aug 10, 2008 07:19pm

Internationally, what is the rule and hand/arm signal for "lane violation" on free throws? There were several instances where players were well into the paint wrestling for position before the player was even ready to shoot. Just curious. Anyone else see it?

Scrapper1 Sun Aug 10, 2008 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS 20
I can't believe the lead came out and called that one!!

That's what got me, too. Kobe was at or even just above the free throw line on the opposite elbow from where the Lead was. So he called it across the lane and above the free throw line. Wow. Why was he even looking there?

Camron Rust Sun Aug 10, 2008 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
There was also one play in which the ball was heading OOB in the air at the end line and was last touched by a USA player but before it hit anything OOB, a Chinese player who was standing OOB touched it. The official gave the ball to China for the throw-in. Is this some different FEEBLE rule? Just wondering.

I too was wondering about that call. It followed a blocked shot and I assumed that the ball must have deflected off the basket supports as it came down.

Mark Padgett Sun Aug 10, 2008 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I too was wondering about that call. It followed a blocked shot and I assumed that the ball must have deflected off the basket supports as it came down.

You could be correct, Camron, but if that was the case, it would have been nice if the official would have indicated that by pointing or something. The expressions on the faces of the US players indicated they were really surprised by the call.

eg-italy Mon Aug 11, 2008 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
There was also one play in which the ball was heading OOB in the air at the end line and was last touched by a USA player but before it hit anything OOB, a Chinese player who was standing OOB touched it. The official gave the ball to China for the throw-in. Is this some different FEEBLE rule? Just wondering.

I didn't see the game, but if the play was as you described, it was just a wrong call.

Ciao

wanja Mon Aug 11, 2008 05:21pm

The game re-exposed the US team's outside game weakness. Other teams will adjust, slow it down and pack it in. If team USA does not work the ball better and hit some threes, there will be trouble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1