The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 23, 2008, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref
A HS official (who just got into JC ball) asked me to watch his HS game and critique his performance.

During the game they had an "illegal screen" call and used the player control signal; they were in the bonus but did not shoot free throws. They realized their mistake too late for the correctable error.

I have seen these situations happen many times at college camps where I'm asked to observe. Some officials have that "switch" that they can turn on and off with HS rules and mechanics. Those who don't have that "switch" attend camps at their own dismay. When a situations like this happen, they looked confused and in shell-shock. An assignor will see this and will usually not hire them into a conference.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Mistake? You don't shoot FT's for team control fouls.

Good luck at finding a "switch" some day.
I read his original quote about 5 times before I realized he was making 2 separate comments, separated by a semicolon. The way he wrote it made it seem like it was one whole play, but I think he really was describing 2 distinct plays and just wrote it poorly. There was a team control foul with an incorrect mechanic and there was also a situation where a team was in the bonus but they forgot to give them free throws. But they were not the same play.

I am not agreeing or disagreeing with anything anyone said - just trying to clear up a very confusing post.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 23, 2008, 10:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
I read his original quote about 5 times before I realized he was making 2 separate comments, separated by a semicolon. The way he wrote it made it seem like it was one whole play, but I think he really was describing 2 distinct plays and just wrote it poorly. There was a team control foul with an incorrect mechanic and there was also a situation where a team was in the bonus but they forgot to give them free throws. But they were not the same play.

I am not agreeing or disagreeing with anything anyone said - just trying to clear up a very confusing post.
Smitty, they were the same play. See post #27 by dahoopref. He very obviously did not know the penalty for a team control foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 23, 2008, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
You're right. That's what I get for trying to lead the blind...

Sorry for making an already confusing situation even more confusing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about unwritten rule #2341-b mu4scott Basketball 19 Tue Jul 22, 2008 09:54am
Rules Question stevesmith Lacrosse 8 Sat Mar 27, 2004 07:38am
"Tag Up" rules question jhughe90 Softball 3 Fri Mar 26, 2004 04:33pm
Question about NBA Rules ref18 Basketball 8 Sun Mar 14, 2004 07:01am
Rules question #3...please help.... trippingants4134 Basketball 11 Tue Feb 26, 2002 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1