Jurassic Referee |
Mon Jul 21, 2008 05:26am |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
They're just attempting to get everyone to recognize that this is sufficient to qualify as a foul because it was not clear for some people or was being passed on too often. It doesn't mean it has to be called any more than any other type of textbook foul. Common sense, advantage/disadvantage, and intelligent use of the rules is still necessary.
|
That is complete and utter nonsense. The NFHS and NCAA rulesmakers are attempting to get everyone to recognize through very clear and explicit language contained in NFHS POE's and in an APPENDIX in the NCAA rulebook that there is no advantage/disadvantage involved anywhere in this particular play. Both rulesets use the exact same, unequivocal language:
<i><b>"WHEN A DEFENSIVE PLAYER PUTS TWO HANDS ON AN OPPONENT, IT IS A FOUL."</b></i>
Nowhere can it be found in anything ever issued by the FED or NCAA is language saying that a defender putting two hands on an opponent <b>MAY</b> be a foul, as you are contending.
Common sense says that you should follow the explicit direction of the rulesmakers. You simply call it when it occurs. We are told exactly how to call the play and anyone intelligently using the rules will do so. What is truly sad is that some officials will still continue to ignore very plainly written POE's and other directives and make up their very own rules.
|