![]() |
Slapping the Backboard.
What is the rule? If a defensive player tries to block an errant shot that has no chance to go in and in the process, the defensive play follows thru and slaps the backboard. The slap is evident, but it doesn't cause the backboard to move or shake and had no effect on the shot. Is this a technical foul, basket interference, or just continue to play? |
I'm sure someone will quote the rulebook here, but a key component in this situation is whether the player made a legitimate attempt to block the shot. If he did, pass on it, even if the backboard shook a bit.
|
We hashed this out several weeks ago. See the thread on 10.3.6
|
There is not violation http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/smile.gif
|
good answer Matt. http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/smile.gif
|
|
Had it last night. Did not affect the play. Was an obvious attempt at shot block, ring did not shake, NO CALL.
------------------ foxyref |
Question -
for our new member Matthew especially - If it is a slap and not an attempt to block shot.....do you count the shot, give technical or both? |
Because you have 4 more posts than Matt, you can call him "new"?
Technical, which kills the play. No basket, even if it goes in. You can have basket interference, or a tech, but not both. |
pizzano, I don't think you can have basket interference for slapping backboard.
|
Pizano
4 more posts and 41 years. I was just trying to be friendly and show some attention to Matthew who is 12 and knows more than a lot of the refs I've called with. Matthew -- you are going to be one heck of a ref someday. |
Basket interference if the ball has a chance to go in i.e., in the cylinder, on the rim, etc.
|
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pizanno on 02-14-2000 02:48 PM
Technical, which kills the play. No basket, even if it goes in. You can have basket interference, or a tech, but not both.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> Let's not lead our new young friend astray, now. Slapping the backboard, intentionally or inadvertently, has no affect on whether the shot counts or not. If it goes in, it counts. If it misses, it is NOT basket interference. A technical foul does not cause a legitimate shot to be dead. It is assessed separately on its own merits. So, if he slaps the board not as part of a block attempt, you count the bucket if it goes in AND assess a "T." |
Thanks Todd, I agree with you on the basket and technical. Not so sure on interference. Its just I've seen a shot on the rim about to go in and a player has slapped the backboard so hard that it doesn't. I think it is reasonable to say a player has interfered. What do others think?
|
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by jackgil on 02-15-2000 08:11 AM
Thanks Todd, I agree with you on the basket and technical. Not so sure on interference. Its just I've seen a shot on the rim about to go in and a player has slapped the backboard so hard that it doesn't. I think it is reasonable to say a player has interfered. What do others think?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> I think that striking the backboard doesn't meet the definition of BI in 4-6, and isn't listed as a violation in the rules or case book sections dealing with this. So, it's not (under the rules) BI. Now, *should* it be? Maybe -- but I'm not sure I want to be the one to judge whether the ball would or would not have gone in without the slap. Heck, maybe the ball was about to fall out and the slap caused it to go in? |
Bob
Thanks. I knew it wasnt a violation in the rules...I was trying to get some feedback as to whether it should be... |
They took the words right out of my mouth http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/smile.gif
|
didn't mean to offend...I should have use an emoticon http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/wink.gif Just realized that Matt is 12; a mature and literate 12 at that!
Also, should have clarified that Basket Interference has nothing to do with Slapping the backboard. Todd is right. T does not kill the flight of the ball. It would kill it if the player is in the act of shooting, but has not released the ball yet. |
Pizanno -
No problem. BTW, I discovered this site purely by accident, but it sure has been a great source for any questions/doubts I've had on the most misunderstood rules of the game. I'm looking forward to learning from you and the other refs and sharing some of my knowledge and experiences. |
Thank you for that nice compliment, sir. You are very mature to - grand to see that http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/smile.gif
|
Matt-
Forgive me for being suspicious, but why aren't you in school? |
I think there is more to this call (slapping the backboard "T") then just knowing the rule. If the ball goes in, and some guy slaps the backboard, why give him a "T". The bucket went in, so no coach (except some guy who lives by the rule book) would ever complain about this. It seems to me that unless you need to assess that "T" to remain in control of the game, you can let it go.
Now if the ball doesn't go in, and in your judgement, the player was not attempting to block the shot, then it should be called. The one thing that worries me about this rule is the amount of judgement involved. If you were to call a "T" on team A for slapping the backboard, and a quarter later, Team B slaps, ball falls out, and you judge that it was in the attempt to block a shot that the backboard was hit - be prepared to take hell from the coach of Team A... |
- be prepared to take hell from the coach of Team A...
Happens all the time. As long as you know you've made the right call, then any grief from coaches who may not know the rules is an occupational hazard. Whether the ball goes in or not should not affect your call on this one. You know that some kids will go up and slap the board just to show off. Even if the ball goes in, you SHOULD call it. If the touch is, in your judgement, incidental, then pass accordingly, whether the ball goes in or not. |
|
darn...just dated myself... http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/frown.gif
i guess all schools have computers now! Can't wait to see you on the court, Matt. You're more mature than half the guys in my association...and you called me Sir! |
It surely ought to be a rare call, but I don't know if advising folks to never call it is wise. When in doubt as to whether or not the player was making a legitimate try at blocking the shot . . . no call. But there is that rare occasion when you just know the player had no shot at the ball, hits the backboard with the flat of his hand, and everyone hears it and knows it. It's tough sometimes to process everything quickly and react promptly, but if it's that evident . . . make the call.
|
Good advice Todd
Deciding in advance what you are going to do is bad. Here is another example: Blow-out game, neither team is going to the playoffs, and the teams are joking with each other as we approach 3 minutes left in the game (they are setting us up for failure). Player A (losing team) is dribbling at the top of the key and does some fancy dribbling through his legs and behinds his back, when Player B steals ball and drives to the basket. Player B fouls from behind with only minimal contact. I call 'intentional' to send a message to the teams that we are not going to finish the game with people upset at each other. Team B coach comes up after game and 'thanks' me for calling the 'intentional'. I tell him that in other situations it would just be a common foul and he says he understands. |
Matthew -
I noticed from your profile you live in NC. Where? If you are interested in refing I can get some information from our organization. I'm in Greensboro, but it covers several counties. They do 3 man in NC at varsity level so you would want to learn rotation/mechanics for 3 man. NY where I moved from was 2 man, so I've had to learn the new system. |
I've never called a "T" for slaping backboard and dought if I ever will call it. best advice-don't call a T. Yes, i'm sure we can think of a situation that would warrent a T. I don't think it will happen.
|
I guess I will throw my 2 cents worth in. My Philosophy is if the ball doesn't go in and the defensive player SLAPS or VIBRATES the backboard without attempting to play the ball You could call a "T" no problem. I know it shouldn't have any bearing on whether the shot goes in or not but if the ball goes in I would never call a "T". So hold off on the whistle and take a peak to see if the ball goes in, if it does go in play on, if it doesn't call a "T".
|
Thanks again, for the comment, sir http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/smile.gif
I'm about 2 hours west of Asheville http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/smile.gif ------------------ |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07pm. |