The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   B-ball Question? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4501-b-ball-question.html)

Hoosier Daddy Wed Mar 27, 2002 11:04pm

Saw this happen about 3 weeks ago at the state tourney. A1 steals the ball and fastbreaks down the court for an uncontested goal. He lays the ball up (off the front of the basket). After he lets go of the ball he decides to "snap" the rim. What's the ruling? The ref called something but I want to see what you guys come up with.

Bart Tyson Wed Mar 27, 2002 11:12pm

If he did not grab the rim then it is BI. If he grab the rim then no basket and T.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Mar 27, 2002 11:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hoosier Daddy
Saw this happen about 3 weeks ago at the state tourney. A1 steals the ball and fastbreaks down the court for an uncontested goal. He lays the ball up (off the front of the basket). After he lets go of the ball he decides to "snap" the rim. What's the ruling? The ref called something but I want to see what you guys come up with.

Play 1: The ball is touching the basket ring. RULING: Offesnive basket interference and technical foul for grabbing the rim.

Play 2: The ball is not touching the basket ring, but some part of the ball is touching the ring's cylinder above the rim. RULING: Technical foul for grabbing the rim.

Slider Thu Mar 28, 2002 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Play 2: The ball is not touching the basket ring, but some part of the ball is touching the ring's cylinder above the rim. RULING: Technical foul for grabbing the rim. [/B]
Why not a T even if the ball isn't in the cylinder?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 28, 2002 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Slider
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Play 2: The ball is not touching the basket ring, but some part of the ball is touching the ring's cylinder above the rim. RULING: Technical foul for grabbing the rim.
Why not a T even if the ball isn't in the cylinder? [/B]

That would be Play 3, and yes, that would be a technical foul, but not basket interference.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1