The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 23, 2002, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I think that there are tow keys to this play.

1) A1 did not carry the ball onto the court, i.e., step on to the court with the ball.

2) A1 had not yet released the ball on a pass.

Therefore, I think (and I may be wrong), that under all three (NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA) codes, A1 has not committed a throw-in violation. Hopefully Duane will add his expertise per FIBA rules to this play.
I have to disagree with you, Mark. The ball touched the floor inbounds. I don't know, and don't care, about the interpretation but it's a violation in NF play. This is no different than handing the ball to a teammate inbounds. Wouldn't it be a violation for a FT shooter to do this? I don't see any difference.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1