The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   whats the ruling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/44384-whats-ruling.html)

Jburt Wed May 14, 2008 01:09pm

whats the ruling?
 
NEW ORLEANS - Spurs coach Gregg Popovich said Tuesday he would contact
NBA vice-president of basketball operations Stu Jackson about what he
believed was an incorrect interpretation of the rules by referee Joey
Crawford near the end of the first quarter of Tuesday's game.

Both teams were called for delaying the game by Crawford while the
Hornets' Melvin Ely was at the free-throw line with 10.5 seconds left in
the period. Hornets players Bonzi Wells and David West went back and
forth across the lane trying to decide where to line up, and the Spurs
adjusted each time. When Crawford called a delay of game on both teams,
Popovich protested

His protest continued between the quarters, and he was given a technical
foul by Crawford, who appeared to poke his finger in Popovich's chest
during the argument.

"I believe the official was incorrect. We've gone through this before a
couple of years ago in our Sacramento series, and it happened to be with
Bonzi (Wells). The team that's shooting the free throw has to make the
first choice about where they're gong to be placed. So the delay of game
should be on that team, not on both."

so what do you do when both teams are moving like this?

Ch1town Wed May 14, 2008 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jburt
so what do you do when both teams are moving like this?

Both teams were called for delaying the game by Crawford

JRutledge Wed May 14, 2008 01:21pm

What was the delay for?

Also this was an NBA game and most here do not work under those rules. It is possible there are some rules that are not in other levels of basketball. I am not sure based on what you have referenced what the problem was. It is possible that the T had little or nothing to do with the situation you have highlighted. And it is not unusual that coaches complain about things without having a full understanding of the rule or interpretation the officials know about.

Peace

jdmara Wed May 14, 2008 01:27pm

I believe the delay call was made because both teams were playing "cat and mouse" about their positions on the free throw lane. I've always gone with the mechanic that the two spots closes to the endline decide (offense), then the next closes two, etc...

Once a player on the endline moves, I don't let them move back. I don't know where I picked up this mechanic but I've always used it to avoid the "cat and mouse" situation.

-Josh

bob jenkins Wed May 14, 2008 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jburt
so what do you do when both teams are moving like this?

I make the defense (lowest spaces) choose first. The offense (middle spaces) chooses next; the defense (top spaces) chooses last.

That said, there's no support for (or against) this in the FED or NCAA books.

JRutledge Wed May 14, 2008 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara
I believe the delay call was made because both teams were playing "cat and mouse" about their positions on the free throw lane. I've always gone with the mechanic that the two spots closes to the endline decide (offense), then the next closes two, etc...

Once a player on the endline moves, I don't let them move back. I don't know where I picked up this mechanic but I've always used it to avoid the "cat and mouse" situation.

-Josh

Why would you not let them move? If they want to move let them move.

Again there must be an NBA rule or circumstance that is at play here we know little about.

Peace

Mark Padgett Wed May 14, 2008 01:58pm

Here's the entire NBA delay of game rule from their website: (their section on free throws does not address delays)

Section II--Delay-of-Game
a. A delay-of-game shall be called for:
(1) Preventing the ball from being promptly put into play.
(2) Interfering with the ball after a successful field goal.
(3) Failing to immediately pass the ball to the nearest official when a personal foul or violation is assessed.
(4) Touching the ball before the throw-in has been released.
(5) A defender crossing the boundary line prior to the ball being released on a throw-in.
(6) A team preventing play from commencing at any time.
(7) Any player, coach or trainer interfering with a ball which has crossed the boundary line (Rule 8--Section II--f).
PENALTY: The first offense is a warning. A technical foul shall be assessed with each successive offense and charged to the team. An announcement will be made by the public address announcer. The 24-second clock shall remain the same or reset to 14, whichever is greater, if the violation is assessed against the defensive team. The offensive team shall be awarded a new 8 seconds to advance the ball if it is in the backcourt. If repeated acts become a travesty, the head coach shall be notified that he is being held responsible.
EXCEPTION (5): In the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or any over-time period, a technical foul will be assessed if the defender crosses or breaks the plane of the boundary line prior to the ball being released on a throw-in.

BillyMac Wed May 14, 2008 06:03pm

2-3-1
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I make the defense (lowest spaces) choose first. The offense (middle spaces) chooses next; the defense (top spaces) chooses last. That said, there's no support for (or against) this in the FED or NCAA books.

I do the same thing. Here's our rule support:

NFHS 2-3-1 The referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules.

Back In The Saddle Wed May 14, 2008 06:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Why would you not let them move? If they want to move let them move.

Again there must be an NBA rule or circumstance that is at play here we know little about.

Peace

Normally you would let them move. But this situation becomes a problem if the referee doesn't stop it. A1 moves, then B1 moves to match him, no problem. A1 moves again, to get away from B1, and B1 moves to match, we're starting to sense a pattern here. Now A1 moves yet again, and B1 follows. Then A1 moves yet yet again, and B1 follows.

When do you say enough is enough? ;)

Adam Wed May 14, 2008 10:01pm

Seems to me to easily fit section 1 of the delay of game portion.

Oddly enough, this could be a double T in a Fed game for the same reason. Rule 10-3-6a. No free throws, go to POI for resuming play, but each player now has 1 T and 1 more foul towards disqualification. There's no provision for a warning under the Fed.

Back In The Saddle Thu May 15, 2008 12:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Seems to me to easily fit section 1 of the delay of game portion.

Oddly enough, this could be a double T in a Fed game for the same reason. Rule 10-3-6a. No free throws, go to POI for resuming play, but each player now has 1 T and 1 more foul towards disqualification. There's no provision for a warning under the Fed.

But there's always the unwritten provision for a well placed, "Alright guys, knock it off!" ;)

Adam Thu May 15, 2008 07:07am

Agreed, and it's probably best to issue this informal warning before dropping th double hammer; most of the time.

Camron Rust Fri May 16, 2008 12:14am

"OK guys, the ball is going to the shooter in 3 seconds, anyone not in a spot at that time will be commiting a lane violation...3....2....1....bounce". :D

Jay R Sat May 17, 2008 07:59am

Poppovich's criticism hasn't hurt Crawford. He's done two games since then.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1