The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   top of backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4271-top-backboard.html)

gduck Fri Mar 01, 2002 06:39pm

Hi everyone - I am just starting out this year as a ref for a church ball league. No one and everyone knows the rules, if you know what I mean. I have really enjoyed reading your entries during the past couple of months - helps me answer a lot of questions for myself and for some of the fine players in the league.

Quick question - if the ball hits the top of the backboard and falls forward (in front of the backboard), is the ball out of bounds?

Thanks

IUgrad92 Fri Mar 01, 2002 07:17pm

All 'sides' of the backboard are in play. However, if it hits any support cables, brackets, etc. then it becomes a dead ball immediately, no matter which side the ball fall afterwards. If the ball hits the top of the backboarad then falls back on the rim side, then play on. If it falls over the backside then it's a dead ball.

Mark Padgett Fri Mar 01, 2002 07:36pm

If this is a church league, you may be playing in some gyms with the older fan-shaped backboards. The rules for the ball going over the "top" of the backboard toward the wall (not hitting the top and coming back toward the rim) are different than for a rectangular backboard. With the rectangle, a ball that does what I described is OOB, but with a fan-shaped it is not. The theory is that you cannot distinguish what the "top" of a fan-shaped board really is, so the entire edging is considered the "side".

I'm sorry if you are even more confused now. I didn't mean to befuddle the issue.

BktBallRef Fri Mar 01, 2002 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IUgrad92
All 'sides' of the backboard are in play.
Actually, the "backside" is OOB. I'm not being facetious, as it's come up before. The top, botton, each side parallel to the sidelines, and the front are all inbounds.