The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Reaching across throw-in boundry line (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4264-reaching-across-throw-boundry-line.html)

APHP Fri Mar 01, 2002 01:59pm

Several months back, I made a futile attempt to convince several board members that once the throw-in is released
by the A1, B1 may reach across the throw-in boundary line and hit/touch the ball. As I mentioned before, this queston has been on the South Carolina Basketball Officals Test for a number of year. For those who are still not convinced , suggest you read March Issue REFEREE, Page 16 & 17. There are (2) pages devoted just to this topic.

Dan_ref Fri Mar 01, 2002 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by APHP
Several months back, I made a futile attempt to convince several board members that once the throw-in is released
by the A1, B1 may reach across the throw-in boundary line and hit/touch the ball. As I mentioned before, this queston has been on the South Carolina Basketball Officals Test for a number of year. For those who are still not convinced , suggest you read March Issue REFEREE, Page 16 & 17. There are (2) pages devoted just to this topic.

No argument here, if we're talking NFHS. Under NCAA the
defender can't reach across until the ball cosses the plane
of the sideline or endline.

tharbert Sat Mar 02, 2002 02:52am

Park this idea in the garage!

RecRef Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by APHP
For those who are still not convinced , suggest you read March Issue REFEREE, Page 16 & 17. There are (2) pages devoted just to this topic.
Sorry but -

Do you believe everything you read in books or on the InterNet? Until the “NFHS itself” comes up with a definitive case book example of this situation there will controversy.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by APHP
Several months back, I made a futile attempt to convince several board members that once the throw-in is released
by the A1, B1 may reach across the throw-in boundary line and hit/touch the ball. As I mentioned before, this queston has been on the South Carolina Basketball Officals Test for a number of year. For those who are still not convinced , suggest you read March Issue REFEREE, Page 16 & 17. There are (2) pages devoted just to this topic.

I believe you APHP. I've said it for years.

BigJoe Sat Mar 02, 2002 01:04pm

Here is a related situation on this topic. What is your call if we have a made basket and player A1 is passing behind the endline to player A2 for a downcourt pass. When player B1 tries to intercept the pass and 1) the ball remains out of bounds or 2) the ball is saved inbounds to B2? Let me know what the calls are and rule references.

bob jenkins Sat Mar 02, 2002 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
Here is a related situation on this topic. What is your call if we have a made basket and player A1 is passing behind the endline to player A2 for a downcourt pass. When player B1 tries to intercept the pass and 1) the ball remains out of bounds or 2) the ball is saved inbounds to B2? Let me know what the calls are and rule references.
These are both T's on B. B may not touch the ball until it's been released on a THROW IN pass. The pass in these situations was not a throw in pass.

BigJoe Sat Mar 02, 2002 08:16pm

In MHO this rule should be changed to the NCAA version where any reaching accross the boundry results in a T when touching the ball. This is another one of those inconsistencies in the rules. I don't understand how it can be allowed to touch the ball once the ball is released for a throw in but when the thrower is holding the ball the defense isn't even allowed to break the plane. Also, rule 8-6 Art. 3 and 10-3 Art.12 sort of contradict one another. In the latter rule nothing is mentioned about whether the thrower has the ball or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1